Customer Reviews for

White Wind Blew: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This book, set in the 1920s is about a TB hospital, its patients

This book, set in the 1920s is about a TB hospital, its patients and doctors. The writing is wonderful, replete with images of life of those recovering. Most amazing is the orchestra that's composed of the patients. I couldn't put the book down.

posted by MBKConsulting on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Depressing.............................................. Not bad

Depressing..............................................
Not badly written.   But books about sanatoriums.   Prisons.   Mental hospitals etc...  just don't do it for me.   I know there is supposed to be an uplifting message in there but I don't like picking through the ...
Depressing..............................................
Not badly written.   But books about sanatoriums.   Prisons.   Mental hospitals etc...  just don't do it for me.   I know there is supposed to be an uplifting message in there but I don't like picking through the suffering to find it.

posted by kronan1 on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    This book, set in the 1920s is about a TB hospital, its patients

    This book, set in the 1920s is about a TB hospital, its patients and doctors. The writing is wonderful, replete with images of life of those recovering. Most amazing is the orchestra that's composed of the patients.
    I couldn't put the book down.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Great story!

    Written very well and interesting. A serious subject, great charactors. Enjoyed it and learned alot. Glad I read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I was moved to tears

    We so seldom get to know what people are capable of. This story is inspiring in showing us the amazing accomplishments and compassion of ordinary people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Thank you

    Thank you Free Fridays. Sometimes you offer us a gem like this one. Great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Yes, I would recommend.

    I enjoyed this book - it was different. Being a nurse the story line kept me interested. Thanks B&N for offering it for a free Friday read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Well Done, enjoyable read!

    James Markert's story of the TB plague and the emotions of the personal life of a personal who was caught between two vocations is quite gripping, nicely written, and in no way tries to sugar-coat the bigotries that were so prominent against those who had the afflication, and people of color who were segregated from the majority population. Following through with a very good plotline, all the factors of this era play out in an outstanding manor. Anyone familiar with the history of that era will agree Markert left no emotion untouched. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful example of music evoking hope in the human spirit

    Short-Take: James Markert has written a beautiful story that encapsulates the human spirit. "A White Wind Blew" is a story set in a time when the world had been ravaged by war (WWI) and disease (tuberculosis). With so much darkness in the world, this story reveals that little spark of light, the human spirit, that somehow continues to emerge, lead, and guide those who nurture that light inside.

    Because I am passionate about music and the written word, the best part of this story, for me, is that the author uses music as his kindling to ignite healing, illuminating that tiny spark of hope that resides inside each one of us and allows us to persevere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Compelling

    Compelling story, well written, funny, sad and thought provoking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Interesting characters

    I enjoyed this book more than I expected. It was easy to become involved with the characters. It kept my interest throughout the whole thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Better r Better than expected

    I thought it might be boring & a little long, but I was wrong. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Wonderful.

    Very interesting and creative. Shows you something great can come out of something awful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Very inspiring

    This book was an emotional roller coaster for me. The characters were all so real that I felt like I was leaving my friends when I finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Good Historic fiction

    I like learning about a time I never knew of. My grandfather actually went to one of these facilities and survived. I thought th music aspect fit in beautifully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Awesome read!

    This book was awesome! Set in Louisville in the middle of a tuberculoses epidemic we see the struggles of both dr & patient has they deal with this sickness. The author does a great job of relating a vivd account of what is going on during this era. Through love, loss & healing we see Dr. Wolfgang Pike live his life. Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Very good read

    It took me a little while to get into this book, but the history and culture within it kept my interest, and after a while I got to the point where I didn't want to put it down. It is a refreshing tale with relationships that are rather unexpected. I recommend it, especially for someone searching for something clean and honest and not in the main stream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    MUST READ!!! This book really does have a bit of everthing.

    This book was really interesting. Love, death, illness, murder, war, etc... It had me in tears at times. Beautifully told tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    I really enjoyed it- maybe because of my medical background sinc

    I really enjoyed it- maybe because of my medical background since it is written around a TB hospital.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Recommend this book

    I really liked this book. There are some unexpected twists and turns which got my attention. I recommend this book, and I would read another by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Tuberculoses way back when

    An interesting opportunity to see what life was like in a tuberculoses sanatorium years ago. Enjoyed learning this place really existed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Pretty nice read

    Quick and a story that kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4