Customer Reviews for

White Witch, Black Curse (Hollows Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 795 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(563)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

GOOD SERIES

This book isn't bad like some of the reviewers are saying it is. I think it moves the series along pretty well. This is not a stand alone book but definitely part of the Hollows Series. This book is like a middle book of a series and it is filler. You find out finally w...
This book isn't bad like some of the reviewers are saying it is. I think it moves the series along pretty well. This is not a stand alone book but definitely part of the Hollows Series. This book is like a middle book of a series and it is filler. You find out finally what happened to Kirsten so that Rachel can move forward. Yes, there are a couple new characters added to the mix like there are in most of Ms. Harrison's books. I liked the character of Pierce and Rachel's connection to him. I understand why we haven't heard of him before since she's usually too busy to really talk about what has happened in the past. I enjoyed Al's parts. I find him always interesting and funny. I think he brings more depth to the series. I'm glad one character is going away or at least leaving for a little while. He drove me crazy in the past books. I love that Rachel and Ivy are coming to an understanding and getting to know more about each other. I enjoy their interaction. Basically I liked the book and would recommend it to anyone that is following the series.

posted by Darsey_spudnick on September 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs serious editing

The first 2/3 of the book needed serious editing - the plot and conversations seems to meander and drag. Very little seemed to be happening. This was frustrating, because it could have been greatly improved with more work (and cutting) by the author. I think it would...
The first 2/3 of the book needed serious editing - the plot and conversations seems to meander and drag. Very little seemed to be happening. This was frustrating, because it could have been greatly improved with more work (and cutting) by the author. I think it would have been fine if she had had more critical editing and engaged in more rewriting. Do writers reach a certain level of success where editors and others who provide critique are too easy on them? I hate to see a good series start to flounder.
The last 1/3 was far better - there is a great scene with Rachel, Al and others in an elevator - but the resolutions to the story lines were rather unsatisfying. Some new developments at the end of the book look interesting, and I like the series enough that I will read the next installment with hope that it is better than this one.

posted by grind-to-a-halt on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 797 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD SERIES

    This book isn't bad like some of the reviewers are saying it is. I think it moves the series along pretty well. This is not a stand alone book but definitely part of the Hollows Series. This book is like a middle book of a series and it is filler. You find out finally what happened to Kirsten so that Rachel can move forward. Yes, there are a couple new characters added to the mix like there are in most of Ms. Harrison's books. I liked the character of Pierce and Rachel's connection to him. I understand why we haven't heard of him before since she's usually too busy to really talk about what has happened in the past. I enjoyed Al's parts. I find him always interesting and funny. I think he brings more depth to the series. I'm glad one character is going away or at least leaving for a little while. He drove me crazy in the past books. I love that Rachel and Ivy are coming to an understanding and getting to know more about each other. I enjoy their interaction. Basically I liked the book and would recommend it to anyone that is following the series.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the read

    I didn't know what to think about this series when i first started it. I am use to reading mainly vampire books and this was a switch up where the main character is a witch. There are vampires in the series but they aren't as much of an issue as they are in actual vampire books, anyways after reading the first few books i started to really get into the story. The characters are really well developed, there's humor and action. I found the 7th book to be almost one of my favorites except for how the whole catching Kisten's killer played out it was a great book. I read the first chapter of the 8th book Black Magic Sanction and i'm super excited to read the rest of it. I would definitely recommend this series to my friends.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Generic fan who got hooked by the opening Clint Eastwood titles

    It's presumptuous of me to be writing a review for a book not even out yet, but the author and series itself is enough material for me to praise. I'm one of those readers who bumped over here after leaving the recently depressing Laurell K. Hamilton party and found a new salvation with Kim Harrison. My first glance of Dead Witch Walking was seeing it on the recent releases shelf in one of the chain stores. I picked it up, just as I had with others on the shelf, nonchalantly browsed the summary and didn't find myself setting the paperback down. As it went, I paid, left the store, and it wasn't until I read through the first couple of pages that I found myself interested and congratulating myself on a lucky find. I relinquished my grip on the first book that night, and set my hand upon the second book and third book the following day.<BR/><BR/>I've reread each individual book numerous times, over to the point that I'll probably have to go out and buy a fresh copy of each because spines are held together by tape. That aside, I personally enjoy how everything is developing; I'm ecstatic that the situation with Al is deepening, disappointed that Ivy situation was stalled, marveling at character development, strangely proud of Jenks resourcefulness and sympathetic towards his predicament, and awed by the plot-twisting revelations. <BR/><BR/>The pacing has always been smooth, the action enrapturing, and the mushy-scenes not as annoying as you'd expect. With a writer like Harrison a reader experiences so many emotions and finds a plethora of details within just one chapter that you can't help reading the entire novel in one sitting. I know the next book will be better than the next, that WWBC will worthy of pre-ordering the hardback copy in advance and that it'll deliver up to my expectations. I'm horrible with expressing how great this series is, but I'm sure you'll get sucked in just like every other fan of this universe has. And having the opening titles being named after the familiar Clint Eastwood movies as a hook didn't hurt.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love Rachel!!

    This books was not disappointing! I love these books. And this book was awesome. I really liked everything about it. The only thing I was kinda sad on was that Trent didn't show up a lot. I love Trent and I kinda want him and Rachel to become a thing. There is such a tension between the two. And I love it! Another thing that makes me sad is that this series only comes out once a year! So I tried to read this book slow...it didn't work. lol

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best one yet

    This is the best Rachel Morgan book to date. It has everything in it from thrills to chills and a little bit of romance. I would highly recommend this series to anyone who likes paranormal books. Kim Harrison is a highly inventive writer. The book was almost impossible to put down

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best one of the series

    I LOVED this series - and could hardly WAIT for this book to come out - I bought it the very first day. It took me over (2) weeks to finish it - every other book in the series took me 2 to 3 days at the MOST... I just could not get into it.. There did not seem to be much of a plot - the characters seemed so depressed and morose... Rachel who is usually so strong and in your face was just so down and out. It was so hard for me to stay with it.. I was really disappointed. It felt like it was just meandering aimlessly - hard to stay focused.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Needs serious editing

    The first 2/3 of the book needed serious editing - the plot and conversations seems to meander and drag. Very little seemed to be happening. This was frustrating, because it could have been greatly improved with more work (and cutting) by the author. I think it would have been fine if she had had more critical editing and engaged in more rewriting. Do writers reach a certain level of success where editors and others who provide critique are too easy on them? I hate to see a good series start to flounder.
    The last 1/3 was far better - there is a great scene with Rachel, Al and others in an elevator - but the resolutions to the story lines were rather unsatisfying. Some new developments at the end of the book look interesting, and I like the series enough that I will read the next installment with hope that it is better than this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Harrison always delivers

    This review is in response to the reviewer who wrote how disappointed she was in how Rachel is portrayed in the new release. I was far from disappointed and actually found it very believable. An entirely new era has begun with Rachel, all bets are off on her character development. We had been taken down a certain road and could see who Rachel was becoming, but now Rachel is engulfed in flames which will reform her. Who she was becoming is burnt ashes. We don't know now and that essence of not knowing renews excitement.

    Anyone who has suffered the loss of a close loved one is changed forever, especially if that loss was due to the life being stolen through brutal murder. Add the fact Rachel was present at the murder of her beloved, and fought so hard to save him but failed, the murder so brutal that she chose to ingest a "forget" drug, that is a clue to her state of mind. That state of mind must be dealt with in future installments or nobody would be able to suspend disbelief. All flops are due to an author or screen writer failing to instill enough reality to enable the suspension of disbelief. This is especially true for science fiction or fantasy stories. I would find it unbelievable that anyone who experienced what Rachel has from the onset of the story and culminating with the brutal murder of her beloved not having emotional trauma and scars she must cope with. Initial grief has a life of its own which knocks survivors off kilter. Of course it will take time for Rachel to recover enough of herself to get back to her ass kicking and confident self. Rachel may actually be reacting to survivors guilt and walks into dangerous situations because she feels guilty she survived while he didn't. Her guilt from her inability to save him is an emotional wound; intellectually understanding the impossibility of doing so matters not a whit. Of course a writer can write anything she pleases, but for me it must be believable, allow me to suspend disbelief in order to be a truly great story. Going in to confront the banshee totally unprepared, while unlike the Rachel we have come to know and love is an excellent example. It seemed as though she subconsciously or even consciously, wanted to die. Of course she knows a child banshee under 5 kills everyone it encounters other than its mother! Rachel is grieving but not stupid. Nothing in these novels has ever demonstrated stupidity. Perhaps naivete, a bit of ignorance of things she has yet learned, but certainly not stupidity!

    I am sure future releases will depict Rachel slowly recovering herself. However, readers must be aware that with the death of her sweetheart the old Rachel is gone for good. I am looking forward to see who the new Rachel will become. Will she be softer, more in tune with her heart but still able to kick butt, or will she close off her heart and become colder and more likely to use demon magic for other than good? The possibilities are endless and we may see a little of this and that while Rachel learns how to be alive again, while she struggle with her growing powers and the grief and guilt that consumes her. This author has the writing ability, the writing gift, to successfully take us along for the ride while she reforms Rachel from the ashes of grief and loss, while keeping us engaged with action, magic and spectacular characters. I am excited to see where it goes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    my fav so far..

    This is my fav Rachel Morgan bk so far. Even over Every Which Way But Dead. I loved the whole story line. Im glad to finally know who killed Kist. And I'm enjoying the story that is unfolding about Pierce. I can not wait to read the next bk in this series. I love Trent.. Awesome characters in all of these books. I would recommend this series to anyone who loves the other worldly adventures.. love love love the story lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    It is a rollercoaster ride of thrills,chills and magic that will grab you and immerse you in a world you may never want to leave. But not to be read or listened to first.

    Once I familiarized myself with the characters I was addicted. It is the seventh of a series and I had read none of the previous books so I lacked the basic understanding of the characters and their relationships. It came together eventually but I really wish I had read the entire series and intend to.
    This is of course an audiobook and the production and choice of the reader were excellent.
    It is an amazingly believable world that could easily pop up tomorrow inside our own. Kim Harrison has the gift of making these bizarre characters become part of your own life until you no longer recognize them as fictional and fantastic. It is a rollercoaster ride of thrills,chills and magic that will grab you and immerse you in a world you may never want to leave. I can't wait to finish the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Catchy title but you might have to read her previous books to know what it's about & it's worth it!

    I've read most of Kim Harrisons books and this one is very well written and keeps you interested from the very first page.If you like to read about a world with werewolves,vampires,witches,pixies,demons etc,that live all at the same time alongside day to day "regular people" this is the book for you, it has it all.It's definitely an escapism book but it's not too "out there" where you don't believe it. What's good about the book is that you don't have to have read her previous books to keep your interest since the book gives enough background story to follow along, in fact it just motivates you to read her prior books to really enjoy this one and I'm looking forward to her next book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The life of Rachel Morgan continues...

    I've loved the series since I picked up the first book. Urban Fantasy is very popular right now, but Harrison writes with originality and has characters you can't help but love. This latest in her series was a page turner, answered some questions, and moved Rachel's character along. I can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the best in the series. The plot seems to get lost.

    While I am a great admirer of Rachel Morgan and company, this book is not the best of the series. Also, every once in a while I would sort of forget about the plot and where we were. So, while it was great to be among old friends again, this was not Kim's greatest writing effort.

    I do hope that she continues to write more though. Only, better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Her Best but Still Good

    I tend to agree with the criticism that the first part of the book dragged (this is noted only because her other books move quickly and purposefully) but I still love these characters and the series. Questions are answered and of course enough is not revealed so that I'll be awaiting the next book. If you are looking for a great series with off beat characters and humor, this is the one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Somewhat Disappointed But Satisfied

    Being a series fan, I had to know the ongoing story of Rachel, Ivy and Jenks , but this contribution is somewhat disjointed with a mildly unfocused plot and less action scenes than desireable. It simply didn't seem to have the focus or pace I've come to expect and appreciate in the Rachel Morgan books. Nonetheless, I recommend this book to any Rachel Morgan fan as her character does progress and the unfinished mystery of Kisten's murder is finally resolved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Always enjoyable!

    I've been hooked on this series for years so it's no surprise to me that I thoroughly enjoyed the latest book. The story thread around Kisten's death and the final resolution to that were heart-breaking. I'm relieved to finally have an end to that tragedy both for my own curiosity since I loved the character of Kisten but also so Rachel and Ivy can move on. Getting insight into Rachel and Al's relationship was also intriguing. It's funny to think bad to where they started and now to see them almost harmonious in this book is a great development. Jenks is always fantastic but his worries for Matalina are incredibly touching and sad. Rachel seems to be becoming a truly unique entity in Harrison's world of Interlanders so it's hard to figure out where her story will go. She doesn't fit into any category any longer - not a witch, not a demon. I like the open-endedness of that.

    My only concern is that Rachel just keeps getting beaten down. I won't start listing all of the negative things that have happened in the last few books since the list is too long. My fear is that if all these negative things keep happening it will seem less and less realistic that she'll be able to keep smiling and keep her drive and determination intact. I don't want the odds against her to keep mounting so high that it will seem false when she inevitably overcomes them. My hope is that the end of this book signals a brighter time for Rachel.

    This series is resonates because it has such great characters that you want to follow and keep up with. You want to hear Jenks' latest insults and see if Ivy can deal with the bloodlust. Will Ceri's baby be healthy? Will Trent ever get the stick out of his @$*? Will Rachel FINALLY find peace and love. These are the reasons I stick around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can I just say...

    WOW! It was so good. It is nice having a book series that builds and grows. Seven books in and I still want more. Story plots are tied up, new ones begin and done with such ease it feels natural. I laughed with Rachel and I cried with her. Excellent continuation into the world of the Hollow's!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FROM DETERMINED AND FOCUSED TO WHINEY AND CLUELESS

    When someone would ask me, "What is your favorite Urban Fantasy author"? Without a moments hesitation, I would tell them "Kim Harrison". When asked for a reason, I would always explain that she was one of two authors whos books got better with each new offering. (Patricia Briggs' Mercy Thompson series being the other.) Well, I can no longer say that about Harrison. What I liked about the series was the fact that no matter how hard Rachel, the main character of the series, was knocked on her butt, she got back up and ran to the kitchen, and spelled up a solution or at least an idea where to start gettin' her own back. If she knew the nature of the danger, she never walked in empty handed. Not in this book. When she knows her opponent is a banshee, an "apex predator", does she prepare to face this very daunting foe? No, she walks into a confrontation with the banshee without any prep, not even her standard armament, a splat gun filled with "sleepy time" potion. She chases the banshee and her child, when she catches up with the pair, she asks the mother to hand her the child even though she knows that a banshee under the age of five will kill anyone but it's mother. Big surprise, she wakes up, having almost died, in the hospital. You would think this cures her inaction. It does not. It only gives her one more thing to whine about. She adds her shredded aura to complaints and worries about...Kristen's killer, her mother, her brother, Ivy, Matalina, what Jenk's will do after Matalina dies, Marshall and a dozen other things. What is disappointing, she never does much about them.<BR/> All of her past books, I finished quickly. I would start the book and a few hours later, I would be at the end, be stiff and sore from sitting in the same position the entire time. This time it took me three days to get thru the book and the pain was not physical. Once again, Rachel's love life takes up alot of room in the book. No actual sex, just the drama. Harrison seems to have given up on the relationship Rachel should have, one with Ivy. She does give us a very brief look at a healthy lesbian relationship. A cynical person would say that Harrison is playing CYA.<BR/> No matter how disapointed this book left me, I will not give up on Harrison. She has given me too much enjoyment to give up on her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    Amazing, enchanting series

    I bought book #5 without reading the first 4 because it was the only one published in hardcover format. (I have a library room at home and am very strict on myself not purchasing paperbacks). I liked the sample chapters available on B & N website for the first 4 and thought I would jump into the series and go from there. After reading book #5 I was devastated her others were paperback releases only. I probably would have broken my personal rule of "no paperbacks" on account of this series being so enticing and addicting. Then months later my sister for my b-day gave me a hardcover Dead Witch Walking (#1)!! I almost attacked her. When I found re-release dates for hardcovers I pre-ordered every one from B & N. This series is a complete winner. I would urge everyone to pick up these books. I am extremely happy to have stumbled across these. I can't wait for the release of White Witch, Black Curse. Get yourself these books!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Amity Compound

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 797 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40