Customer Reviews for

White Witch, Black Curse (Rachel Morgan Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 794 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(562)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

GOOD SERIES

This book isn't bad like some of the reviewers are saying it is. I think it moves the series along pretty well. This is not a stand alone book but definitely part of the Hollows Series. This book is like a middle book of a series and it is filler. You find out finally w...
This book isn't bad like some of the reviewers are saying it is. I think it moves the series along pretty well. This is not a stand alone book but definitely part of the Hollows Series. This book is like a middle book of a series and it is filler. You find out finally what happened to Kirsten so that Rachel can move forward. Yes, there are a couple new characters added to the mix like there are in most of Ms. Harrison's books. I liked the character of Pierce and Rachel's connection to him. I understand why we haven't heard of him before since she's usually too busy to really talk about what has happened in the past. I enjoyed Al's parts. I find him always interesting and funny. I think he brings more depth to the series. I'm glad one character is going away or at least leaving for a little while. He drove me crazy in the past books. I love that Rachel and Ivy are coming to an understanding and getting to know more about each other. I enjoy their interaction. Basically I liked the book and would recommend it to anyone that is following the series.

posted by Darsey_spudnick on September 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs serious editing

The first 2/3 of the book needed serious editing - the plot and conversations seems to meander and drag. Very little seemed to be happening. This was frustrating, because it could have been greatly improved with more work (and cutting) by the author. I think it would...
The first 2/3 of the book needed serious editing - the plot and conversations seems to meander and drag. Very little seemed to be happening. This was frustrating, because it could have been greatly improved with more work (and cutting) by the author. I think it would have been fine if she had had more critical editing and engaged in more rewriting. Do writers reach a certain level of success where editors and others who provide critique are too easy on them? I hate to see a good series start to flounder.
The last 1/3 was far better - there is a great scene with Rachel, Al and others in an elevator - but the resolutions to the story lines were rather unsatisfying. Some new developments at the end of the book look interesting, and I like the series enough that I will read the next installment with hope that it is better than this one.

posted by grind-to-a-halt on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Needs serious editing

    The first 2/3 of the book needed serious editing - the plot and conversations seems to meander and drag. Very little seemed to be happening. This was frustrating, because it could have been greatly improved with more work (and cutting) by the author. I think it would have been fine if she had had more critical editing and engaged in more rewriting. Do writers reach a certain level of success where editors and others who provide critique are too easy on them? I hate to see a good series start to flounder.
    The last 1/3 was far better - there is a great scene with Rachel, Al and others in an elevator - but the resolutions to the story lines were rather unsatisfying. Some new developments at the end of the book look interesting, and I like the series enough that I will read the next installment with hope that it is better than this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Jab

    For what?!... she clearly doesnt and she doesnt know me THAT well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Emily to any guy

    Go to emily res one to have some fun ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Someone

    What rp is this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Erica

    Skips in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Wolf

    Its GIRATINA!!! LOOK IT UP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    My First Book

    This was my first time reading any of the books in this series and I have to say I am not impressed with Rachel as a witch. I still haven't figured out what exactly it is that she does, other than TRY to cast spells and get her butt kicked. As for the cast of characters around her, they are great; I love Jenks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    a little slow in parts

    I love reading about Rachel but some parts are just a little long and a little drug out. Rachel is also spending to much time caring about what other people think its like just make her the kick butt girl she is and who cares what people think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a welcome mat for the series.

    I have issues with this book but overall it was good. I bought this book in store without realizing that it was seventh in a series (Why can't that be written on the book somewhere?). Unlike Lisa Jackson or Jane Ann Krentz, Kim Harrison doesn't do a great job of character introductions for those of us that were unlucky enough to start in the middle. The main plot is also a continuation from previous installments so I was quite confused for the first few chapters. However, the adventure and emotions of the book were strong and interesting enough for me to continue reading. By the end, I had a better understanding and have purchased Dead Witch Walking (the 1st of the Rachel Morgan Series). I feel a connection with the main character, Rachel Morgan, she was enough to hook me. If you have already read 1-6, I would bet you will enjoy this one buckets more than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not her best work yet, but not too bad either....

    Reading it was good, but unfortunately some characters from previous books did not appear at all or too little, and nothing got resolved, now we have even more questions and speculations. It would nice if Trent appear a little more or had a more active roll with Rachel, I'm getting a little sick of Ivy, seriously she doesn't change at all, boring...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    Good, but...

    Let me get my praise in first: This is a great book if you are looking for a fast paced interesting set of charaters. It was a quick read. It was fun to see the way Harrison interpreted the mythical characters.

    So here's my qualifier: It's been a while since I picked up a Rachel Morgan book, but I picked up White Witch, Black Curse and the two previous books, then proceeded to read all of them in a week. (I have read all of the previous books as well.) With the lapse in time between my reading the books it was a bit difficult to refamiliarize myself with the characters and the story line already in progress. (So I would not recomended this book if you haven't read the previous books.)

    What I didn't care for: I thought the book left too many loose ends. I don't mind loose ends, but a book that does little more than create them leaves me with the sense of impending collapse of the character arc. Harrison's characters are constantly being thrown into new situations before they are able to address problems already facing them, as the problems mount in number and severity it will take an increasingly hokey plot twist to save the characters at the end, if the intent is to have any character survive.
    As far as the character arc, it is difficult for me to see the "long term and deep seated" changes wrought in a character if the story takes place over a short time frame. I don't expect to see a resolution of every problem, but I do expect character growth during the book, which is difficult if the characters don't have "time" to digest the circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    least favorite of the series

    This was not the best Harrison has put out. I loved the determination Rachel showed previously trying to find Kisten's killer, but in this book the whole thing just fizzles. In the end, I was so disappointed with who did it and why it almost wrecked the series for me. Right now I'm just holding out for the possibility that Rachel and Trent will hook up in the next book. Wouldn't that be great? Maybe it is just me. but I think they are perfect together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3