Customer Reviews for

White Witch, Black Curse (Hollows Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 799 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(566)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

GOOD SERIES

This book isn't bad like some of the reviewers are saying it is. I think it moves the series along pretty well. This is not a stand alone book but definitely part of the Hollows Series. This book is like a middle book of a series and it is filler. You find out finally w...
This book isn't bad like some of the reviewers are saying it is. I think it moves the series along pretty well. This is not a stand alone book but definitely part of the Hollows Series. This book is like a middle book of a series and it is filler. You find out finally what happened to Kirsten so that Rachel can move forward. Yes, there are a couple new characters added to the mix like there are in most of Ms. Harrison's books. I liked the character of Pierce and Rachel's connection to him. I understand why we haven't heard of him before since she's usually too busy to really talk about what has happened in the past. I enjoyed Al's parts. I find him always interesting and funny. I think he brings more depth to the series. I'm glad one character is going away or at least leaving for a little while. He drove me crazy in the past books. I love that Rachel and Ivy are coming to an understanding and getting to know more about each other. I enjoy their interaction. Basically I liked the book and would recommend it to anyone that is following the series.

posted by Darsey_spudnick on September 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best one of the series

I LOVED this series - and could hardly WAIT for this book to come out - I bought it the very first day. It took me over (2) weeks to finish it - every other book in the series took me 2 to 3 days at the MOST... I just could not get into it.. There did not seem to be ...
I LOVED this series - and could hardly WAIT for this book to come out - I bought it the very first day. It took me over (2) weeks to finish it - every other book in the series took me 2 to 3 days at the MOST... I just could not get into it.. There did not seem to be much of a plot - the characters seemed so depressed and morose... Rachel who is usually so strong and in your face was just so down and out. It was so hard for me to stay with it.. I was really disappointed. It felt like it was just meandering aimlessly - hard to stay focused.

posted by VoraciousReaderVB on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 566 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love Rachel!!

    This books was not disappointing! I love these books. And this book was awesome. I really liked everything about it. The only thing I was kinda sad on was that Trent didn't show up a lot. I love Trent and I kinda want him and Rachel to become a thing. There is such a tension between the two. And I love it! Another thing that makes me sad is that this series only comes out once a year! So I tried to read this book slow...it didn't work. lol

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best one yet

    This is the best Rachel Morgan book to date. It has everything in it from thrills to chills and a little bit of romance. I would highly recommend this series to anyone who likes paranormal books. Kim Harrison is a highly inventive writer. The book was almost impossible to put down

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Harrison always delivers

    This review is in response to the reviewer who wrote how disappointed she was in how Rachel is portrayed in the new release. I was far from disappointed and actually found it very believable. An entirely new era has begun with Rachel, all bets are off on her character development. We had been taken down a certain road and could see who Rachel was becoming, but now Rachel is engulfed in flames which will reform her. Who she was becoming is burnt ashes. We don't know now and that essence of not knowing renews excitement.

    Anyone who has suffered the loss of a close loved one is changed forever, especially if that loss was due to the life being stolen through brutal murder. Add the fact Rachel was present at the murder of her beloved, and fought so hard to save him but failed, the murder so brutal that she chose to ingest a "forget" drug, that is a clue to her state of mind. That state of mind must be dealt with in future installments or nobody would be able to suspend disbelief. All flops are due to an author or screen writer failing to instill enough reality to enable the suspension of disbelief. This is especially true for science fiction or fantasy stories. I would find it unbelievable that anyone who experienced what Rachel has from the onset of the story and culminating with the brutal murder of her beloved not having emotional trauma and scars she must cope with. Initial grief has a life of its own which knocks survivors off kilter. Of course it will take time for Rachel to recover enough of herself to get back to her ass kicking and confident self. Rachel may actually be reacting to survivors guilt and walks into dangerous situations because she feels guilty she survived while he didn't. Her guilt from her inability to save him is an emotional wound; intellectually understanding the impossibility of doing so matters not a whit. Of course a writer can write anything she pleases, but for me it must be believable, allow me to suspend disbelief in order to be a truly great story. Going in to confront the banshee totally unprepared, while unlike the Rachel we have come to know and love is an excellent example. It seemed as though she subconsciously or even consciously, wanted to die. Of course she knows a child banshee under 5 kills everyone it encounters other than its mother! Rachel is grieving but not stupid. Nothing in these novels has ever demonstrated stupidity. Perhaps naivete, a bit of ignorance of things she has yet learned, but certainly not stupidity!

    I am sure future releases will depict Rachel slowly recovering herself. However, readers must be aware that with the death of her sweetheart the old Rachel is gone for good. I am looking forward to see who the new Rachel will become. Will she be softer, more in tune with her heart but still able to kick butt, or will she close off her heart and become colder and more likely to use demon magic for other than good? The possibilities are endless and we may see a little of this and that while Rachel learns how to be alive again, while she struggle with her growing powers and the grief and guilt that consumes her. This author has the writing ability, the writing gift, to successfully take us along for the ride while she reforms Rachel from the ashes of grief and loss, while keeping us engaged with action, magic and spectacular characters. I am excited to see where it goes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    my fav so far..

    This is my fav Rachel Morgan bk so far. Even over Every Which Way But Dead. I loved the whole story line. Im glad to finally know who killed Kist. And I'm enjoying the story that is unfolding about Pierce. I can not wait to read the next bk in this series. I love Trent.. Awesome characters in all of these books. I would recommend this series to anyone who loves the other worldly adventures.. love love love the story lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    It is a rollercoaster ride of thrills,chills and magic that will grab you and immerse you in a world you may never want to leave. But not to be read or listened to first.

    Once I familiarized myself with the characters I was addicted. It is the seventh of a series and I had read none of the previous books so I lacked the basic understanding of the characters and their relationships. It came together eventually but I really wish I had read the entire series and intend to.
    This is of course an audiobook and the production and choice of the reader were excellent.
    It is an amazingly believable world that could easily pop up tomorrow inside our own. Kim Harrison has the gift of making these bizarre characters become part of your own life until you no longer recognize them as fictional and fantastic. It is a rollercoaster ride of thrills,chills and magic that will grab you and immerse you in a world you may never want to leave. I can't wait to finish the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can I just say...

    WOW! It was so good. It is nice having a book series that builds and grows. Seven books in and I still want more. Story plots are tied up, new ones begin and done with such ease it feels natural. I laughed with Rachel and I cried with her. Excellent continuation into the world of the Hollow's!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    Amazing, enchanting series

    I bought book #5 without reading the first 4 because it was the only one published in hardcover format. (I have a library room at home and am very strict on myself not purchasing paperbacks). I liked the sample chapters available on B & N website for the first 4 and thought I would jump into the series and go from there. After reading book #5 I was devastated her others were paperback releases only. I probably would have broken my personal rule of "no paperbacks" on account of this series being so enticing and addicting. Then months later my sister for my b-day gave me a hardcover Dead Witch Walking (#1)!! I almost attacked her. When I found re-release dates for hardcovers I pre-ordered every one from B & N. This series is a complete winner. I would urge everyone to pick up these books. I am extremely happy to have stumbled across these. I can't wait for the release of White Witch, Black Curse. Get yourself these books!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2015

    Love this series!

    Love the Rachel Morgan series! If you're a fan of paranormal books this series has everything you want. Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Amity Compound

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Highly Recommend this series!

    I love this series! It is a fun read and I can't wait to see what Rachel gets mixed up with next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Araya

    Scarletttt :D I'm so sorry I haven't been here very much. I've had exams and other huge tests and my Mom took this away so I could study. Dx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Scarlet

    Hello ^~^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    totally hooked on Kim Harrison .... Rachel Morgan kick ass series I hate to put it down

    Love Kim Harrison Rachel Morgan and her partners ROCK. once I started the books I cant put them down. Bring on the Hollows and Rachel. fun fast and tough. Makes you wish this world really exists, great place to lose oneself for a hour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Angel

    * walks in* i see thus place is active. If u wondering i am a boy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Bree

    Sup people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Julia

    Hi ppl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Unexpected

    Hashtag idiot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Adara

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    s.ex anyone

    Im a girl whos bi so it can be boy or girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Frank

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 566 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29