Customer Reviews for

White Is for Magic (Blue Is for Nightmares Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

So much better then the first!

I was not a huge fan of the first book in this series but since I bout this book with it I figured I better give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised. I liked this one so much better. Stacey's friends still drove me a little crazy and I am not such a fan of Drea in p...
I was not a huge fan of the first book in this series but since I bout this book with it I figured I better give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised. I liked this one so much better. Stacey's friends still drove me a little crazy and I am not such a fan of Drea in particular (the author can spin it anyway she wants but if a friend made moves on someone I was dating that would be the end of that friendship but I digress). Jacob was a breath of fresh air and from what I hear he is in the rest of the series. I might actually pick those up at some point. This book has redeemed the series to me. I just hope that in the rest of the books she isn't peeing or puking on herself again..that is getting old and kind of gross to read about.

posted by acsimps on March 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blue?

Why is "Blue is for Nightmares," the first book in the series, the only one that's not available as an ebook?? I don't want to start the series on book #2!..

posted by Razzle513 on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So much better then the first!

    I was not a huge fan of the first book in this series but since I bout this book with it I figured I better give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised. I liked this one so much better. Stacey's friends still drove me a little crazy and I am not such a fan of Drea in particular (the author can spin it anyway she wants but if a friend made moves on someone I was dating that would be the end of that friendship but I digress). Jacob was a breath of fresh air and from what I hear he is in the rest of the series. I might actually pick those up at some point. This book has redeemed the series to me. I just hope that in the rest of the books she isn't peeing or puking on herself again..that is getting old and kind of gross to read about.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Pretty damn good

    Being the second book in the series this book overall was good but in the first book she peed all over the place and now in this book she keeps puking i am kind of leary about what the third book contains but i am excited to read it. I also had a serious problem with drea like if she had feelings for chad all along then she should have expressed itin the beginning instead of making unnessicary stress for stacey even though stacey was wrong for dating her friends ex in the first place. Hello girl code... but i love how the book kept me guessing about everything until the end im buying the third one now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    amazing :D

    When i first checked out this book I was skeptical. I mean, White is for Magic? What kind of name is that? But once I started reading it, I really got into it. Even the first sentence was aluring. A really good read, in my opinion one you won't regret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Good summer fun reading for the tween or teen

    My daughter reads a lot, and so we are always looking for new authors and books that are both age and reading-level appropriate. The first 2 books in this series are great for her (now 10), while the latter 2 will have to wait a year or so due to content.
    She liked the books so well, that when she lost the original copy of this book, she replaced it with her own money. The characters are strong and likeable, but seem to have little adult interaction and few adult role models. My daughter likes that the characters just accept magic as a part of life for some people.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From a Writers point...

    I think this book was alot better then the last. I loved blue is for magic but it took me acouple chapters to really get into it. This book had me right from the start! The only thing is i wish it had more in the ending. I would of loved reading about their last days of school. I dont want to give anything away so i wont say much, but the end of this book with chad pissed me off! However i do like the new guy jacob. I'm a big fan of occult books. Anything about witches, pysics, ghost, with either romance or a thriller in the story line. As you may know good series can b hard to find. The grammer bothered me alittle in the beging but not much at all now. If you like books like i do this is a must read. I cant wait to finish the next book and tell u all, what i think! They just seem to be getting better and better as they go, so i cant wait to pick up silver right now! (The book was so good, i went out and got silver so i didnt mess it up by reading red first!) These are a must read!

    Jennifer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    White is for Magic - Was really good and is it okay to like the sequel better than the original?

    Blue is for nightmares was awesome. Then with this I went straight to reading it and didn't realize how far into the story i gotten. That's what i like about books. We have after events with the whole Drea and Dovovan incident and now Stacey's relationship with Chad has been on the rocks lately including that she's now throwing up. To add more to her worries someone is targeting Stacey and a new student has arrived who has something in common with Stacey....their dreams. The suspense was really good and of course when something turned out to be a dream i can feel my hairs going up and hearing my heart beating. Now that is a suspenseful and scary book that we all love right? Lastly her Mom's got a secret of her own as well. The ending. Holy s- is all I have to say. Really recommend it. Laurie Faria Stolarz you are one awesome writer and thank you for the Blue is for Nightmares series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    (More like 4 1/2 stars.....)

    This book is really good!!! It's a mystery and romance and everything else! :' It will keep you up all night! I have read Blue is for Nightmares, Silver is for Secrets, and Red is for Remembrance 'the other books in this series', and I would say they are all a little bit better then White is for Magic, but still, it is a GREAT book and it's still definitely worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Very Good Read

    Definitely a good read. The book leaves you wanting more and more. Although I was a bit disappointed because the story seemed rushed and I really wished the author would spend more time describing the psychoness of the killer. Other then that I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Part two of a great story

    As the story of Stacey prgresses we learn the more strange things are happening at Hillcrest. But now instead of telling the future her past is coming back to haunt her. While trying to make new freinds, mantain her old ones, and keep her love life alive, and keeping her premonitions clear she is having alot of trouble keeping her life together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    One of THE BEST books!

    This is one book that will be on my list forever!I think its better then the first one.I didn't know what was going to happen until the very end.I would recommend this book to all 11 to 17 year olds.I finished it in 4 days.Awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Another great one

    This one is just about as good as the first one, which is awesome. You should read Blue is for Nightmares first. The next two books after this one (Silver is for Secrets and Red is for Rememberance) are the best ones, so read the first two so you can read them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    White Is For Magic

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!This book is written by one of my favorite authors,Lauri Faria Stolarz. If you like to read suspensful and witch-like books, you should definitely read this one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    OMG

    this one is so cool. everybody gets wat they want and s finds someone lyk her!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    read it

    this book was awsome there were even parts that i laughed out loud. i would definitely recommend this book, i think you'll fall in love with jacob, too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3