Customer Reviews for

Whitechapel Gods

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My First Foray Into "Steam Punk"

    This was my first foray into the "steam punk" genre of SciFi/Fantasy. I found it to be a worthwhile read. The characters were very beleivable given the situation they found themselves in. I found the "gods" Mama Engine and Grandfather Clock to be the most fascinating characters. I've always been interested in characters that are precieved as evil when in my opinion they are simply entities that have no "human morals" so they do what they need to survive. I'm not sure how much of this review anyone may find helpful, but here you go.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Very different, very good.

    This book has me searching for steampunk everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Wonderful introduction to steampunk

    Although I'd been interested in the steampunk genre for a few months before getting this book, this was the first steampunk novel I read, and if I wasn't hooked on the genre before, I certainly was when I finished. The characters are likable, the plot is engaging, the story is extremely original, and there is even the slightest hint of romance- which is as of yet uncommon for steampunk. Not to mention I couldn't help but smile every time I looked at the cover. The only negative I can think of with this book is that the settings are so wild and so original that Peters obviously had trouble describing them, because I found at various points throughout that I couldn't quite envision what was happening. Other that that, this was a FANTASTIC book which I would recommend to anyone interested in the steampunk genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thwarted

    I'm a huge fan of Steampunk, the cover is the best Steampunk cover ever made, the plot had 5 stars in creativity and inventiveness, I was salivating in anticipation when I saw it on the shelve and, and... Nothing. If only there was a story things would have gone better for me. The whole book was plain boring, the characters were flat and nothing really happens, Oliver and his team are always "on a mission" but never really fulfiling anything. It keeps jumping from one character to the other, but nothing is of vital importance to keep the readers attention. The atmosphere was indeed spooky, but I wish the author took more time describing The Stack. My conclusion is that the author is full of brilliant ideas, he only needs to add depth to his characters and develop a story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    COOL COVER

    This book has such a cool cover, but it such a slow book. I struggled through it. It's a Steampunk book (what all the cool kids are reading). There's spies, double agents, triple agents....
    I didn't hate it. Just expected more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Innovative

    Whitechapel in Victorian London is no longer a part of Great Britain and hasn¿t been since 1877 when the wall came up making it a separate entity. It is ruled by two mechanical beings Grandfather Clock and Mama Engine both of whom have no regards for humanity. They are able to turn men, women and children into half human half machines who keep humanity and are backed up by the Boiler Men who were never human to begin with but are nevertheless thinking warlike machines.---------------- When humanity rebelled in the Uprising, the death toll was in the thousands. Humanity post Uprising lives in squalor under the rule of Baron Hume who rules humanity. His underling John Sacred, in love with Mama Engine devises a way to kill Grandfather Clock and gives the schematics of the device to Aaron, a member of the underground. He and his two men are caught but he passes the papers to one of his men who falls, several feet unable to die. He waits for someone to get the papers and put him out of his missing and members of the resistance do but building the device and putting it into Grandfather clock seems impossible then there is the question of destroying Mama Engine.----------- Whitechapel is an inconvenient truth of a neighborhood of twisted building, polluted air that comes from the many factories of Mama Engine¿s great projects. It is a surrealistic scene out of Dante¿s Inferno except for the fact that most of the residents are humans. There are many heroes in this book, willing to die if it means destroying the two mechanical gods. S.M. Peters is an author whose work is so refreshingly original the audience will be on the lookout for future societal satires from him.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1