Customer Reviews for

The Whitefire Crossing

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

You just dont get it!

Books need to seem to be LIFE LIKE. Great description, (eyesight) salty language, (we all like salt) and great plot!

posted by 16636542 on November 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

67 out of 173 people found this review helpful.

Offensive language!

Sounds like a good story, but stopped reading and deleted due to offensive language. When will authors ever learn that offensive language ruins an otherwise good book?

posted by br549GA on November 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Worth reading

    Enjoyable fantasy novel. Will look for more by this author.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    Not sure what all the uproar is about the language. It fit the c

    Not sure what all the uproar is about the language. It fit the characters in the book and helped the story. I liked the premise of the "tainted" and Dev's loss of magic. It was interesting to see a story from a different type of character. I enjoyed the book enough that I want to read more so I bought the second in the series. I wish I could give half stars, I awarded it a 4 but it really deserves a 3.5.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Do you believe in magic?

    This is set in a mythical time with Mages and Tainter's (little magic) and of course the non-believers. How friendship can be developed between good and evil. I don't want to give it away, but I sure hope this writer is currently on the sequel. She left a few things hanging.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Solid

    A great story combining a love of mountainclimbing with sorcery. While it wont be joining my top ten this one is worth the read. I would love to see more, maybe involving the founding of Ninavel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    One of the better Free Fridays books!

    We'll get this out of the way... Yes, it does have it's share of current contemporary language. Society is changing and language is changing with it!

    The novel itself was pretty good, I gave it four starts becuase I enjoyed reading it, but it didn't cause me to pull an "all-nighter" reading it. Those books get a five!

    The concepts, magical constructs and plot were good but not exceptional.

    The best summary that I can provide you is that it was a great selection for free fridays, but I haven't gone on to purchase any of her other books yet. But if I get through my existing backlog I will consider it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    A good read

    A good read. The word f**k used a bit too much. I'd like to think that most people have more than one epitath to yell out in anger. It loses any punch after a while. The descriptions of rock climbing are lovingly done. I expected the main characters to fall in love. The love intrest of Dev with Cara felt a bit forced, as if added in later. A ruthless editor could help the author to make the story shine.
    For the whiners about what is given in Free Fridays, grow up. The point is to get readers to read something out of thier comfort zone. I find myself reading books that I would never normally read. Enjoy the gift. Hint there is a free app called Book Buddy that keeps a fairly good list of free books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Magic and Intrigue

    enjoyed and would have like the next free friday book to have been the sequel :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Exceptionally Good

    Its a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Gtcb cbt t

    Dyght h

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Entertaining

    I enjoyed the story and will be looking for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Surprisingly good

    Since this was a Free Friday book I expected it to be on par with the other free book offerings-not too well written and in need of a lot of editing. I was pleasantly surprised at how well written, well developed, and interesting it actually was. There have been several reviewers who have stated that there is excessive foul language; I found it to be well used for the most part but could have been left out in several places without hurting the story at all. I thought the characters were well thought out and believable and very human. I plan on reading the next in the series at some point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Good read

    I am not usually a fan of fantasy, but the author made you believe the places were real. It was hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Magical Adventure - This book revolves around two major charac

    A Magical Adventure - This book revolves around two major characters, Dev an Kiran. They both live in a magical world. Dev was tainted which means he outgrows his magic and Kiran is a Blood Mage which is the most powerful magic. Dev becomes a guide who crosses the White Fire Mountains and Kiran wanted to escape evil magic and Dev becomes his guide to cross over to a land where magic is not permitted. It is a story of an unlikely friendship and is well written. Looking forward to reading, The Tainted City which is the next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    I picked this one up as part of a Nook free Friday and I must sa

    I picked this one up as part of a Nook free Friday and I must say I am VERY glad I did! The book is a very good read, held my attention, and followed a good flow. I will throw a parental advisory on this one as there is a fair amount of cursing so if that's a deal breaker for you, don't buy the book. Personally it doesn't offend me and quite honestly builds a lot more depth into the characters that speak that way. There is also a sequel to this book titled "The Tainted City" that I have also purchased and will review separately (and positively).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Very good. I may have to buy the sequel

    I got this book on Free Fridays for the Nook. I like adventure and fantasy is ok with me too. The fantasy was strictly in that there is lots of magic and mages, otherwise, it's an adventure story. I liked the characters (when I was supposed to. Hated those I was meant to) They were well built and you learned about them a little at a time which kept you interested. It did end rather abruptly, which I'm sure was meant to get you to buy the next book, which I may just have to do. (And I almost never do that, I have plenty to read with the freebies) I think anyone above 4th or 5th grade, who enjoys adventure/fantasy,would enjoy this book, however the "f" word is in there A LOT, and unnecessarily, in my opinion,and there is a bit of sex, which is not described at all, it just tells you it happened, so you might not want to give it to a youngster. I would have given it 5 stars, but it was just under the point where it was good enough to keep me awake to keep reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    IF you enjoy fantasy with a touch of

    possible then this is worth reading. The characters are compelling and the story intriguing. Easy read, but great story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    READ IT!

    This book is definitely worth the time. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    K jacobs

    Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    A good read!

    Enjoyed it a lot, has interesting twists, and the ending is not what I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    good

    It was different, I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4