BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Whitethorn Woods

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love Maeve Binchy

For some reason, she is one of my favorite writers. Maybe because you just feel like you are in Ireland, and sitting there with the characters having tea, or at the pub for a pint. This is written in a form that uses each chapter as a story, and each story has different...
For some reason, she is one of my favorite writers. Maybe because you just feel like you are in Ireland, and sitting there with the characters having tea, or at the pub for a pint. This is written in a form that uses each chapter as a story, and each story has different people from the village, or connected to it in someway, and all of the stories are interlocked to each other. It is a fun read, and I recommend it if you just want to get away.

posted by just-a-thot on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Whitethorn Woods falls short

This was my second reading selection by author Maeve Binchy. After recently finishing and enjoying her work "Quentins", I picked up Whitethorn Woods. I am sorry to say that Whitethorn Woods didn't live up to the expectations previously set in Quentins. Although Ms. Binc...
This was my second reading selection by author Maeve Binchy. After recently finishing and enjoying her work "Quentins", I picked up Whitethorn Woods. I am sorry to say that Whitethorn Woods didn't live up to the expectations previously set in Quentins. Although Ms. Binchy once again filled the pages with varied, interesting and likable characters in a small Irish village, I felt that it took too long to get to the actual storyline. The theme of the Bypass coming through the Village seemed to be pushed aside through a large portion of the book. Then it seemed rushed at the end piecing it all together.
I do love her presentation of the characters, their background and their surroundings. They are all realistic, individual and varied personalities who you could see yourself meeting on the street. How she eventually ties them into one another is a puzzle falling into place.
Althugh I enjoyed Quentins enough to have recommended it and passed it on to others, I did not feel that way about Whitethorn Woods. It was a good read for a rainy day, or while waiting in a reception area, but not one I'd pass along.
I would make another selection by Ms. Binchy when looking for a quick read with great characters. However, I would recommend Quentins if you want to read one of her works.

posted by Samson1 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    She's Ba-a-ack

    I thought Ms. Binchy's writing was really going downhill. Quentin's and Scarlet Feather were just OK. Nights of Rain and Stars read like she'd just mailed in what she hadn't used in other books. But I really enjoyed this book and the characters in it. Now I'm looking forward to her books again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    ANYTHING BINCHY

    I love anything Binchy because it takes me to a place I've never visited and introduces me to people I've never met. Do I see similarities to my own country and people - absolutely. The world over, everything that's different is mostly the same. What I love most about the Binchy novels is the inclusion of humor. Always present, always entertaining, always welcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    New vs Old Ireland

    Another winner from Maeve Binchy. Through the lives of many and varied characters, the reader comes to know a small town in Ireland struggling with the onslaught of modernization. The characters are well drawn and keep the reader's interest. I especially enjoyed Neddy, kind, salt of the earth and surprising in the end. Ms. Binchy knows the Irish and helps us to know them as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    Some Advice Before Reading

    Another great read by Maeve Binchy. My only fault with Maeve as an author is that she doesn't write nearly fast enough---I'd like to see a new book by her at my neighborhood bookstore every month! She takes her readers on journeys to imaginary places that seem so real they feel like they're there. Her characters are well-drawn with personalities and dilemmas that're easy to relate to, especially in Whitethorn Woods. The author weaves the town's inhabitants in and out of the story in a way that grabs and keeps the reader's attention. So, please, before starting this book, grab a pencil and small spiral notebook, and as you read, write down the names of every character mentioned in each chapter---main character and peripheral characters alike. This book is so cleverly written that you'll want to go back and read every word that was previously written about a character when you get to his/her individual story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    a reviewer

    This story is told from several different point of views, and this makes it so much more interesting. This is one of Binchy's best stories too, so it was a really good reading expereince. I enjoyed it an you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Binchy is Back!

    If you were one of the cast of thousands disappointed by Nights of Rain and Stars, then you will be pleasantly surprised by Whitethorn Woods. This book deals with people's hopes and dreams and the amusing and often appalling lengths they will go to in order to achieve them. The stories are interesting and the characters are quirky and all too human. And, in true Binchy fashion, in the end everyone gets exactly what he/she deserves. All in all, a very satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    didn't want it to end

    I'm a Binchy fan and try to read her books slowly so I don't finish them too soon, but wind up reading more and more-they're just so good I can't put them down, and am sorry when they end. 'Whitethorn Woods' is one of them. I wasn't too interested in the fate of the well and the woods-I was wrapped up in the stories of people who had some connection to the well. I thought the ending was nicely done, wrapping up the fate of the well and the woods. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    well written entertaining look at the secularization of Ireland

    The proposed construction of a highway through Whitethorn Woods has divided the residents of nearby Rossmore, Ireland. While some see the economic miracle that the road will bring to the area others decry the destruction of a popular local shrine St. Ann's Well. Many older female true believers feel the Well provides the miracles of healing and finding spouses. Pressure from both sides of the debate is squarely placed on the curate of St. Augustine's Father Brian Flynn to decide whether the revered Well is a shrine or not. --- Father Flynn has doubts about the Well and knows how a highway will help the area, but fears the desecration of St. Ann would cause spiritual harm to the dwindling few believers. He goes on a pilgrimage to the Well praying to God to help him hear what his most pious congregation members hear because his determination will go a long way towards whether the sacred Well survives the modernization of Ireland. --- Though the above paragraph concentrates on Father Flynn, Maeve Binchy provides a host of characters impacted by whatever occurs to the St. Ann¿s Well. The cast ranges from the cynical secular avaricious to the praying sexagenarian who still believes in miracles though she has not found love at least until now. Through the characters¿ varying reactions, fans obtain a well written entertaining look at the secularization of Ireland. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3