BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Whitethorn Woods

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love Maeve Binchy

For some reason, she is one of my favorite writers. Maybe because you just feel like you are in Ireland, and sitting there with the characters having tea, or at the pub for a pint. This is written in a form that uses each chapter as a story, and each story has different...
For some reason, she is one of my favorite writers. Maybe because you just feel like you are in Ireland, and sitting there with the characters having tea, or at the pub for a pint. This is written in a form that uses each chapter as a story, and each story has different people from the village, or connected to it in someway, and all of the stories are interlocked to each other. It is a fun read, and I recommend it if you just want to get away.

posted by just-a-thot on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Whitethorn Woods falls short

This was my second reading selection by author Maeve Binchy. After recently finishing and enjoying her work "Quentins", I picked up Whitethorn Woods. I am sorry to say that Whitethorn Woods didn't live up to the expectations previously set in Quentins. Although Ms. Binc...
This was my second reading selection by author Maeve Binchy. After recently finishing and enjoying her work "Quentins", I picked up Whitethorn Woods. I am sorry to say that Whitethorn Woods didn't live up to the expectations previously set in Quentins. Although Ms. Binchy once again filled the pages with varied, interesting and likable characters in a small Irish village, I felt that it took too long to get to the actual storyline. The theme of the Bypass coming through the Village seemed to be pushed aside through a large portion of the book. Then it seemed rushed at the end piecing it all together.
I do love her presentation of the characters, their background and their surroundings. They are all realistic, individual and varied personalities who you could see yourself meeting on the street. How she eventually ties them into one another is a puzzle falling into place.
Althugh I enjoyed Quentins enough to have recommended it and passed it on to others, I did not feel that way about Whitethorn Woods. It was a good read for a rainy day, or while waiting in a reception area, but not one I'd pass along.
I would make another selection by Ms. Binchy when looking for a quick read with great characters. However, I would recommend Quentins if you want to read one of her works.

posted by Samson1 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Whitethorn Woods falls short

    This was my second reading selection by author Maeve Binchy. After recently finishing and enjoying her work "Quentins", I picked up Whitethorn Woods. I am sorry to say that Whitethorn Woods didn't live up to the expectations previously set in Quentins. Although Ms. Binchy once again filled the pages with varied, interesting and likable characters in a small Irish village, I felt that it took too long to get to the actual storyline. The theme of the Bypass coming through the Village seemed to be pushed aside through a large portion of the book. Then it seemed rushed at the end piecing it all together.
    I do love her presentation of the characters, their background and their surroundings. They are all realistic, individual and varied personalities who you could see yourself meeting on the street. How she eventually ties them into one another is a puzzle falling into place.
    Althugh I enjoyed Quentins enough to have recommended it and passed it on to others, I did not feel that way about Whitethorn Woods. It was a good read for a rainy day, or while waiting in a reception area, but not one I'd pass along.
    I would make another selection by Ms. Binchy when looking for a quick read with great characters. However, I would recommend Quentins if you want to read one of her works.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Disappointed

    I have always enjoyed Binchy - but this book was disjointed, difficult to follow, and not compelling in any sense. It feels like she knows her characters so well, she forgets we don't.. and it was more trouble than it was worth to flip back and forth to remember who she was talking about. It reads more like a collection of short stories - and I just didn't enjoy it at all. I'm incredibly easy to please as a reader, so I was disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I usually love Binchy's books, however, this one read more like a book of short stories. Each chapter is the story of another character, and it was difficult to keep them all straight. While the stories were interesting and the characters memorable, I would have preferred to read an indepth story about just a few characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Love Maeve Binchy

    For some reason, she is one of my favorite writers. Maybe because you just feel like you are in Ireland, and sitting there with the characters having tea, or at the pub for a pint. This is written in a form that uses each chapter as a story, and each story has different people from the village, or connected to it in someway, and all of the stories are interlocked to each other. It is a fun read, and I recommend it if you just want to get away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    I have read every one of Maeve's books and enjoyed each one thor

    I have read every one of Maeve's books and enjoyed each one thoroughly. Whitethorn Woods has been very difficult for me to read all of the way through-still working on it. The books appears to be all of these individual stories that are not connected. Very Unfortunate - I hear Chestnut street is pretty much the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Magicalsoul

    Looked around, crouching. She spotted a sparrow a little ways above. The sparror chirped and parted its wings, ready to escape. She jumped up and hooked the sparrow by a wing, throwing it down with a swipe. In an instant, she stepped on it, looking away as it stopped squaking. She dug her claws into the earth and began burying it, then continued to result eighteen, trying o be silent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No need to put this one on your list.

    Not my favorite but she does develop lots of characters, some more loveable than others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you need relief from darker books, this is a good one

    Stuff like "Soft Apocalypse" is the reason why I also read Maeve Binchy. Her books almost always have a happy ending. Or at least an ending that makes sense, where people get what they deserve. This one is no exception; it's set in Ireland, like all of hers are, and the people are charming and sympathetic characters, the dilemmas will probably be solved by the end of the book, etc. This one is about a town that has a "sacred well" - a lot of places in the British Isles have springs, wells, or other small water sources that are considered by the local people to be special and magical, through the lens of whatever religion they prefer - Christians will call it Saint Somebody's well (in this case, Ann); other people will say that it's sacred to a goddess or spirit from ancient times; and whatever their belief system, they all think that the particular body of water can bring them good things. Like I said - I read this stuff so I don't get too depressed from my end-of-the-world books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Hopefully not the real world

    The characters were mostly two faced and had a hidden agenda for all they thought or did. My book club also thought there were too many characters that added nothing to the plot. The preview about the plot concerning building a road was sort of a background plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    DUMB and PREDICTABLE

    Not the caliber I'm used to from Binchy. I don't know why I kept reading. It was horribly predictable and the stories were just stupid. I seriously wondered if she had a ghost writer. Won't read Binchy again after this-not willing to pay for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    GREAT READING

    I found her books a couple of months ago and have been living at the library or purchasing her books. Every chapter is a story and eventually all the characters connect. Great writing. Just took last one on trip and passed it on after reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    delightful

    insightful, witty, and moving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This was a fun read about characters that were connected in a small town

    I really enjoyed reading about the town itself and the shrine where miracles were supposed to occur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Not worth the time

    I've read quite a few Maeve Binchy books and this one is not worth the time. It's like a book of short stories, I didn't even finish it. At first I thought she was just introducing characters but it went on and on.
    If you like Maeve go ahead and read the other books but pass this one by, you will be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    I liked this story. It was all centered around the well that would be destoryed if the highway came through town. The story intermingled the characters of the town over the years and they were all somehow connected and each had an interest either for or against the well. I don't usually read Maeve Binchy but I will give her a try again after this book. I also just watched the movie Tara Road based on one of her books. I want to read the book now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Lessons To Be Learned

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Maeve Binchy has once again taken my emotions by storm. Her characters,their situations and lessons learned all made for heartfelt delightful reading. Keep up your beautiful writing and thank you Maeve Binchy for your insight,understanding and sweet gentle words. You are magnificent!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Very Boring

    I have read all of Maeve Binchy's books and I was totally disappointed in this book. It was so boring...I kept thinking it would get better but it never did. I finally gave up and went on to another book, another author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    I eagerly waited for Whitethorn Woods and was hugely disappointed. There are 2 short stories making up each chapter and they involve different characters. I couldn't keep it straight and finally gave up. Night of Rain and Stars was a disappointment as well. The rest of Maeve Binchy is excellent. That last two just weren't very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    Not her best work

    This is a difficult to get through. Just when you start to relate to/figure out the character, she ends the chapter and moves on to another character. I love all of Binchy's other works, but I had a hard time getting through this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    One of Binchy's Best

    Finally Maeve Binchy is back in business with Whitethorn Woods. Binchy interweaves her characters around a central story line, namely that of the future of Whitethorn Woods. The plot takes a back seat though to the characters and their interesting lives. I didn't want this book to end. My only complaint is that it wasn't long enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3