Customer Reviews for

Whitney, My Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My all-time favorite

I read this book at least 10 years ago. Recently, I donated most of my books, especially romance novels, but I will never let go of Judith McNaught's books and I re-read this book every so often. Whitney is my favorite character from a romance novel (leaving Jane Austen...
I read this book at least 10 years ago. Recently, I donated most of my books, especially romance novels, but I will never let go of Judith McNaught's books and I re-read this book every so often. Whitney is my favorite character from a romance novel (leaving Jane Austen's material out of this of course). She is strong, funny and stubborn and I think all women see a little of her in themselves. This is the best written of all her books and I have yet to find a historical romance writer of this generation who comes close to McNaught. Wish she'd go back to historical romance!

posted by KCKell on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My god, Whitney!

This book must be read for only entertaining purposes. Outside of this, it has no value. Please understand that first.

I have read hundreds of romance paperbacks between reading novels with sustenance, complex meaning, and even more deeply complex syntax. (After rea...
This book must be read for only entertaining purposes. Outside of this, it has no value. Please understand that first.

I have read hundreds of romance paperbacks between reading novels with sustenance, complex meaning, and even more deeply complex syntax. (After reading Atlas Shrugged, an amazing book, I needed a break.) After reading this one, I realized she follows a blueprint. Every major character is meant to be strong-willed, opinionated, intelligent...and so on. The plot will feature many twists until one thing happens that almost tears the couple apart. (Sound familiar?) And then the male or the female will do anything to get him/her back. (Sound familiar?) After three or more times the "epic romance" blueprint is tiring. I have read almost all of her books and I suggest you start with this one, maybe Once and Always, and then continue on to another romance novelist.

Also, I think it is needed to comment (and respond to other reviews on here) upon the rape scene and other general qualities of Whitney's character. This is a historical romance. It's setting takes place during a time when women had no rights, and blatantly stated, they were owned by their fathers and/or husbands. Whitney, and all the other heroines of McNaught's books, are depicted as having more freedom than they would actually have if they were real people living in in 19th century. This is done to appeal to modern women. As far as the rape scene...well Claymore was her intended and if this were reality, he would have every right to rape Whitney. Don't like it? Tough. That's 19th century life and such customs are still extant in modern day cultures.

posted by Jennifer_a_student on October 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very enjoyable historical romance!

    This is the third JM book I've read, but the first of her historicals. I love that JM tends to write strong, spunky, admirable, and worthy heroes and heroines, but in this novel the hero especially has some infuriating character flaws that make him not so likeable. At times, you just want to slap both the hero and heroine for being so dumb and insensitive! But, of course, it becomes evident that they were made for each other. Nevertheless, the book is emotionally intense, well written with memorable characters, and has some very romantic scenes. It's not my favorite JM book, but definitely a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed Feelings!!!

    The majority of this story is intriguing, intense, and complicated which kept me constantly enthralled. Whitney, a head strong, intelligent female, has fallen head over hills for a young man that can't possibly return her girlish affections. In an attempt to catch his eye, Whitney performs a number of brash stunts which leaves her being shipped off to France to live with her aunt and uncle. In the mean time, she grows into a beautiful young woman who has many admirers; including the roguishly handsome Clayton Westmoreland. Between his attempts to peacefully seduce Whitney into willing marrying him after already requesting her hand in marriage and her attempts to flee his overwhelming presence, they fall in love (of course!). Unfortunately, the story has to end and what a horrible ending it is. I don't know what happened but it just felt like the author needed to finish the story with one last hurrah. Therefore, she created a scene where there really didn't need to be one. I think if I'd had my way, I would have left out that silly bit with the letter and had her kidnapped by one of his mistresses or something. I guess I prefer the hero to the village idiot. If you're looking for a really great story, you should read The Kingdom of Dreams which is the first book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Good read, coudn't put it down!

    I enjoyed the chemistry between Whitney and Clayton and all the other characters, but I felt a little frustrated that Clayton didn't trust Whitney and continued to question her morality. He reacted extremely unrational and treated her really badly. It was ok the first time he did it, but the second time was unncessary and absurd. It felt like the author was trying to add pages to the book. In any case, the book overall was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    Courtney, not a romance reader

    I picked up this book hoping for the best...and was very happily surprised! I do not read romance and usually do not like that genre. But, this book goes beyond that! There were a few 'eye rolling' moments, but overall a good book, a good story with great characters, who did not just fall into bed like so many books. The author really gives the characters time to develop. I liked this book enough to try Kingdom of Dreams!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Good page turner, but...

    I enjoyed reading Whitney, My Love. I was somewhat disturbed, though, by the suprisingly chauvinistic turns it often took and felt the main character faltered a bit from her supposed true nature towards the end which was disappointing. I also thought the new ending (although I have never read the old one) was too drawn out and the part about Stephen totally unnecessary and uninteresting. I also wish modern day authors could leave more to the imagination. The explicitness of this book lowers it a great deal in my estimation (but I am sure will encourage others who read my review to read it.) I know sex sells but don't we love Jane Austens books without all that? (Not that I would dare to compare McNaught to her.) All in all, I found it to be a very enjoyable read and a very interesting, though highly unbelievable, plot (but then who needs reality when your reading a romance novel right?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    Love lives in all of us

    This book is by far one of the best that I've every read. I loved it. While reading it I felt like if I was right there. At times I wanted to be Whitney and experience all the tender touches and kisses Clayton was providing her. I fell in love with Clayton. And Whitney was my kind of woman. She never made it easy for the Duke of Claymore. That's what made this story so great. All the trails that they had to go through in order to discover that they loved each other was great. I recommend this book to anyone who is a hopeless romantic like myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2003

    Breathtaking

    This is truly a classic love story. I couldn't put this book down. A must read and a must have in your personal book collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    Whitney, Whitney

    This is the first judith book i have read to tell the honest truth i found her from surfing sites like this and boy am i glad i did. This was a wonderful book that basically had me laughing until the very end. The cast of secondary characters are superb (Nicki DuVille ;) and i can't wait until i get my hands on stephen's book. I already read Kingdom of Dreams, that was my first. My only problems were Clay's temper, sometimes i wanted to mash his head in, and the tongue lashing Whitney forgot to give him after all the things he kept accusing her of without any proof except that of his silly imagination! but to make a long story short this was a great novel, full of humor, misunderstanding, and stuff to make u come back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2000

    the characters seemed to jump out from the page

    definetly recommended.whitney and clayton's arguments and different personalities colided and made a story worth reading again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2000

    Cat Loves The Duke

    this book was good if you like the old fashion love stories. But i will admit that towards the end, everything will be going alright, and then something happens and messes everything up. And that happens 3 times. But other then that it was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2000

    GREAT BOOK

    This was a great book. This is only the fourth book I have read of hers and I have fallen in love with every single character in every one of the books I have read. Judit McNaught is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    Engrossing

    This was such an engrossing, exciting book-up until the end. This book definately kept me up VERY late at night and I picked it up first thing in the morning. There were parts in this book that were devastatingly touching. This is one of a few romance novels that doesn't glory in the act of sex itself, rather, it touches and rekindles your romantic yearning. Unlike many of the romances today, this is quite a 'classy' and thoroughly romantic book. Rather than anticipating the climactic bedroom 'act' itself, we look forward to the next touch Whitney bestows upon Clayton or the next genuine smile Clayton gives Whitney. Although the book as a whole was very good, it seemed to linger a bit too long. The ending was an utter disappointment, but overall, this book is well worth reading. I look forward to reading Kingdom of Dreams and Until You...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2