Customer Reviews for

Who Asked You?

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Two days. That's all it took for me to finish this book. I won't

Two days. That's all it took for me to finish this book. I won't spoil your joy with plot details. All I will say is read it. I have read a lot of African American lit since "Waiting To Exhale." But only a few have struck a note like Terry McMillan's work does...
Two days. That's all it took for me to finish this book. I won't spoil your joy with plot details. All I will say is read it. I have read a lot of African American lit since "Waiting To Exhale." But only a few have struck a note like Terry McMillan's work does. Terry delivers again with this book. 

posted by 10456056 on September 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

yay

I like it.

posted by Anonymous on September 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Two days. That's all it took for me to finish this book. I won't

    Two days. That's all it took for me to finish this book. I won't spoil your joy with plot details. All I will say is read it. I have read a lot of African American lit since "Waiting To Exhale." But only a few have struck a note like Terry McMillan's work does. Terry delivers again with this book. 

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Funniest Book You will Ever Read!

    Wow! One of the funniest books I have ever read! I am sure the print would have been excellent; however, with this type of book, nothing better than a talented writer and excellent performers-- which are made for the character's part. Each of these performers were five star quality, and you could envision each unique character within each setting.

    I had purchased the book; however, had to drive from West Palm Beach, FL to Amelia Island, FL (south to north) and from there to North Carolina---could not wait to start so purchased the audio for my road trip. I had to buy the audio, as could not wait--have read all Terry McMillan's books and when I listened to the audio sample - I knew this would be the ideal book to listen to on my iPod for the long trip.

    It exceeded all my expectations and more. Turned out, it rained the entire two days of travel and I did not even mind, as I laughed out loud at all the funny characters and it made the time go by faster. I actually finished the entire book about an hour before I reached my destination. I could not even listen to another book, as wanted to just bask in the wonder of this incredible book and smile as I wanted to meet each one of these characters.

    I loved all the many different characters! My favorite character was BJ, and of course the banter with her sisters, nurse Kim and sassy neighbor Tammy. Oh, the guys! Loved them Luther, Omar, Ricky and Quinten. It was hard to choose a favorite as each of them had a take away and a story to tell. If you love humor, wit, family drama- this book is for you.

    Terry McMillan has a winner and can easily see a movie --can only image the cast! Would definitely listen to this again! Ideal for the car or road trip – never a dull moment!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    If I were able to actually read it on my Nook, I might be able t

    If I were able to actually read it on my Nook, I might be able to rate it. However, I have been getting excuses of technical difficulty since the book released. BN was quick to take my money though.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    yay

    I like it.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Great book....It dealt with issues that every family go through,

    Great book....It dealt with issues that every family go through, especially grandmothers that have to raise their grand children.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    FAMILY IS FAMILY

    I come from a very diversed family. I totally enjoyed this book. I have 2 sisters like BJ in the story...I have tried to offer my opinions but, I too have had to learn GOD has given us each one life to live and we each much learn to live that life for ourself.

    I would highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow,reading this book left me just saying wow. This book is as e

    Wow,reading this book left me just saying wow. This book is as enjoyable as any of her previous books. It is an easy read that speaks the truth about life. I think that everyone who reads this book will recognize themselves or a family member in this book. I finished this book wanting to clap for Mrs. Betty Jean, I recommend that when this book is released on September 17, 2013 go pick up a copy and be prepared to enjoy. My hat is off to you Ms. Mcmillian please keep up the good work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Good Book

    Typical Terry McMillian book. Very much enjoyable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Fantastic

    Terry Mcmillan writes from her heart and captures yours. A reader can identify with her characters in so many ways. This book is a story about life and the ways in which love, fear, and family strife travel its path along with hopes and dreams. It is poignant, bittersweet and beautifully crafted. Thank you and bless you Terry Mcmillan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    terry mcmillan does not disappoint in her writing with this book

    terry mcmillan does not disappoint in her writing with this book..vivid, expressive, much alive characters...family..neighbors, and friends....humor intersperes with touching moments of hope and healing....the chapters of the book where the young men, luther and ricky, told their story were the sweetest to me...as a mother of two adult sons i know how difficult raising boys can be without their father...the tale was told as realistic as it is in today's society......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Outstandong!!!!!

    I am so glad she finally got back to her old writing style. It was easy to read and just a great book. Bravo, bravo!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    A Decent Way to Kill Time

    This book wasn't the best I've ever read, but it definately wasn't the worst. I found it to be quite the relatable tale, filled with loveable characters through many of life's trials and tribulations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Great as always

    Great as always

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Not the best T.M. book to date

    I was really rooting for this book from the first page to the last. However, I'm disappointed by Ms. McMillan lastest book. I liked the main character Betty Jean and her supporting cast. However, I was diluted by so much backstory from almost every character that it was hard for me to get to the end. McMillan is one of the greatest writers I have ever come across. But, I didn't feel a connection with the characters or the storyline. I wanted a little more plot than a conversation from the supporting. This book was just okay. Hopefully her next will be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    I love Terry McMillan.  You can never go wrong with one of her b

    I love Terry McMillan.  You can never go wrong with one of her books.  Please read this book.  I have all of her books in my library and cannot wait until she writes another one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Great story

    Good story, great characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Extremely good

    Terry McMillan has always been a great author but this book just tops it off. It is extremely amazing how she outs ideas from different point of views so well together! Everyone should read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    I was unable to read the nook book. There was some type of tech

    I was unable to read the nook book. There was some type of technical issue with this novel. I had to get a refund.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Good read & reality

    Real black american family with real issues. There's always one family member that tends to always be stronger than others and are able to hold the family together, so with that being said, thank God for grandparents!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'Who Asked You?' is a witty, fun, and intelligent women's fictio

    'Who Asked You?' is a witty, fun, and intelligent women's fiction novel that follows Betty Jean, known as BJ, as her two grandsons are dropped at her house and left there by her daughter. BJ's life is already full of other problems - family, friends, forgotten dreams, and her job - taking care of two small kids is the last thing that she needs right now. But is what BJ thinks she needs and what really matters the same thing? Just what lengths will people go to for family?

    This was my first novel by this author and I have to admit that I was blown away. Her writing is superb and proves her to be the powerhouse writer that she's known for. The story focuses on Betty Jean, an older woman who's struggling with life's problems - family, kids, friends, her job - when her daughter simply drops off her grandsons one day and then disappears. Throughout the novel, we get to see how this unexpected burden and problem is turned into a family blessing that nobody would have seen coming. The characters in the book are all incredibly well rounded with distinct personalities and flaws. They were all written in a way that it felt like I knew them personally by the time the novel was over. I really loved getting to know them all along with their histories, problems, and whatever issues were plaguing them. The writing was intelligent with lots of wit and humor and insight into family and believing in yourself. The story is full of vivid descriptions and details that had me feeling like I was experiencing the events in the book right along with the characters. Highly recommended for fans of women's fiction, chick lit, and those looking for a funny and honest look into family and life.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5