Customer Reviews for

"Who Could That Be at This Hour?"

Average Rating 4
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

67 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

By Hope Lost

When I saw this book preview I cried.
I was so thrilled. At the time I was bedridden with pnemonia, and my laughter faded in to rough coughs that triggered a violent ashma attack, but nevertheless I cried and did my best to sing a happy song. All of you people who post ...
When I saw this book preview I cried.
I was so thrilled. At the time I was bedridden with pnemonia, and my laughter faded in to rough coughs that triggered a violent ashma attack, but nevertheless I cried and did my best to sing a happy song. All of you people who post here and there and everywhere are so heartless in regards to the author, Mr. Lemony Snicket, who if he is who he says he is, has devoted his life to something noble and has experienced a miserable time for it. Smartly written, this series will be a brilliant addition to Mr. Snicket's charismatic work. Read it, all of you, and put down the thirty nine clues forever!
Sincerly, Hope Lost

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Any good

Is it good fir kids ages 11-12

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    By Hope Lost

    When I saw this book preview I cried.
    I was so thrilled. At the time I was bedridden with pnemonia, and my laughter faded in to rough coughs that triggered a violent ashma attack, but nevertheless I cried and did my best to sing a happy song. All of you people who post here and there and everywhere are so heartless in regards to the author, Mr. Lemony Snicket, who if he is who he says he is, has devoted his life to something noble and has experienced a miserable time for it. Smartly written, this series will be a brilliant addition to Mr. Snicket's charismatic work. Read it, all of you, and put down the thirty nine clues forever!
    Sincerly, Hope Lost

    67 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Good book

    A really good book. I highly recomend it if you like mystery books.

    58 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Very very good loved it!!!!!!!!

    Starts of slow and abit confusing but it speedsup and becoms very very good. I cant wait till the second book comes out!

    36 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    :)

    Yay! Lemony Snicket FINALLY made another book!!

    35 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    LEMONY

    I love Lemony, but this book was not one of his best. The beginning was fabulous, but the middle and end were shaky and jumped from topic to topic. I have read every one of A Series of Unfortunate Events,and I LOVED LOVED LOVED those, so I expected a bit more out of this book. However, this book was pretty amazing, and if you are a Very Funny Dude, this book is good for you!!

    25 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GETTING THIS!!!!

    I LOVEIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    25 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers Favorite Lemony Snicket ha

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers Favorite

    Lemony Snicket has trained in a very special place to be a very special person. In "Who Could That Be at This Hour" by Lemony Snicket, Snicket has chosen a bottom-of-the-line mentor so that he can pretty much do his own investigative thing. In order to be a good investigator, you must of course be able to ask appropriate questions. However, Lemony Snicket consistently asks the wrong questions, leaving it next to impossible that he will effectively and efficiently solve the mystery of the missing Bombinating Beast, a statue that is desired by many, but highly elusive to most. The setting for this mystery is in a seaside town that has been drained of the sea, leaving a seaweed forest and a slowly disappearing ink industry.

    There are a lot of hidden messages in this book and I have my doubts whether younger readers will be able to tease them out. At times, the clues are confusing and without highly abstract abilities, the child may not follow what has been teased out by Lemony so that his mystery can be solved. The character himself is absolutely loveable in his honesty about himself. The other main characters are equally appealing in their evil and their flaws. At times, the reader is asking whether evil or stupidity is the major flaw in human nature. All in all, those in middle school will probably keep the pages turning while grade school readers will be asking lots of questions.

    23 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    By cutie pie 13

    Omg! I love it

    22 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    FIRST

    Cool more lemony snicket

    20 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    I read the sample and i am buying it

    I am so buying that book

    18 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Any good

    Is it good fir kids ages 11-12

    16 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Bomb

    I got the sample at bn and i think this book is amazing

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I luv lemony sniket

    Best book ever 2thumbs up

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book. I think that Lemony Snicket is an excellent writer, as I've read The Series of Unfortunate Events. This was an excellent quick read mystery!!!!!!!!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Jane

    I love the book but i dont get how one book is free and the other one is $10.00.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    EXCITING

    HOOP THERE IT IS!

    10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Fantatis

    When I first saw this book I got this book.

    10 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Great book

    This is a wonderful very well writen book i think kids 11+ should read this great mystry action book i have love the series of unfortunate events and this is almost as good cant wait the sequel comes out!






    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    GPOODBOOK

    Pretty good SAMPLE AWESOME BOOK ALL AROUND WANT WHOLE SERIES Sincerly
    AJ

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    I gave this book to a 21yr old friend of mine who is other able,

    I gave this book to a 21yr old friend of mine who is other able, She love Lemony Sticket and his books, She was so happy to see He wrote another book and can't wait until the second one in the seies come out.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16