BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Who Do You Think You Are?: Finding Your True Identity in Christ

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    To be honest, I was so ready to read this book. I have loved Mar

    To be honest, I was so ready to read this book. I have loved Mark's videos I've seen on Mars Hill Church website as well as the videos from Right Now Media. I also thoroughly enjoyed reading his previous book "Real Marriage".




    The beginning of this book crept very slowly for me. I have a very hard time getting into it and was almost ready to put it down. There was a huge history lesson about Ephesus and the people of that time. I'm not saying that was bad. But, I just finished a Bible Literature class for college that was more exciting and engaging than the first couple chapters. But, I pushed through.




    The final chapters are broken down into descriptions of your identity in Christ: a saint, blessed, appreciated, saved, reconciled, afflicted, heard, gifted, new, forgiven, adopted, loved, rewarded and victorious.




    The thoughts and ideas expressed in the book were not really anything that I had never heard before. For someone that has been struggling in their faith, or have never read any books on "Who are you in Christ" kind of thing, this would be a good read. This would also be good book for someone that is starting out in their faith and they have no idea where to begin in the Bible or in their walk with Jesus. For those of us that have been in this faith journey and have read many "Jesus-help" books, this is a good refresher and reminder. The text is easy to read and easy to follow.








     I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255  “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Great book by Driscoll.  The issue is identity and the pursue of

    Great book by Driscoll.  The issue is identity and the pursue of identity in America and the west.  The book is based on Ephesians and really great use of a ton of stories of real people are within each chapter.  There is also a Study Guide that goes along with this book that is a great tool for Churches, small groups and bible studies. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    Who Do You Think You Are does a job revealing many of the false

    Who Do You Think You Are does a job revealing many of the false identities that we look to for our value. It is well written, extremely
    practical, and a must read for anyone who is struggling with the question of identity. Thank you Pastor Mark for this great resource!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    The Barnes and Noble Nook edition costs 11 dollars more than the

    The Barnes and Noble Nook edition costs 11 dollars more than the Kindle edition or the Christian Book Distributors edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    We all start our journey with Christ at different stages of ¿dis

    We all start our journey with Christ at different stages of “discovering who we are”. This concept of who am I is the subject of many self help books, many spiritual journeys and yet the basis of who we are in Christ, is all too often hidden from us. I found this book truly insightful. A chapter by chapter study of the book of Ephesians which clearly defines all the different characteristics of a Christ follower, finally getting to the core of who we are in Him. We will never be effective Christians unless we really understand what it means to be a Christian and that our identity as a son or daughter of God means that we truly put off ourselves and take on Christ in every way so that we can be, more than conquerors . Thank you Mr. Driscoll for this book. I recommend it for anybody who might be wondering truly who they really are.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    In his book ¿Who do you think you are?¿ Pastor Mark Driscoll att

    In his book ‘Who do you think you are?’ Pastor Mark Driscoll attempts to expound who we are in Christ. As the title suggests, he aids the readers to discover their true identity in Christ. Pastor Mark has bought out a convincing treatise on the issue of our identity. But, I would say that the style of writing could have been better. Pastor Mark takes a mode of delivering a sermon. Except this minor glitch, he has done a stupendous work. 




    Throughout the sixteen chapters in the book, Pastor Mark tells how we are blessed, appreciated, saved, reconciled, afflicted, heard, gifted, forgiven, adopted, loved, rewarded and victorious in Christ. He takes us through the entire book of Ephesians to explain each and every blessing in Christ. Added to that, he uses real life examples in every chapter to touch the hearts of the readers. 




    Some of my favorite one-liners from the book: 
    ‘What you do doesn’t determine who you are. Rather, who you are in Christ determines what you do.’
    ‘In the eyes of God, our choices, values, expenditures, words, actions, and thoughts are all acts of worship. They make up our identity.’
    ‘God knows that what you do flows from who you are. As Christians, we live from our identity, not for our identity. We are defined by who we are in Christ, not what we do or fail to do for Christ.’
    ‘We are not what we do. We do what we are. Our identity determines our activity….Our identity as new creations in Christ is the key to our victory like Christ.’




    I would give this one three out of five stars.




    Please note that I received this book from Thomas Nelson through their book review program in exchange for an honest review. Also be informed that the opinions I have expressed are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Why do I always have mixed thoughts and feelings about Mark Dris

    Why do I always have mixed thoughts and feelings about Mark Driscoll? Perhaps because he enjoys being a lightning rod pastor. He is not afraid to confront the world or the traditions of the church. Driscoll can be very cutting edge––cutting to most mainstream Christians and edgy to young believers seeking to make a difference in their world.
    When Driscoll writes topically, thematically (e.g., Real Marriage: the truth about sex, friendship and life together), I just pass on by. He has a tendency to speak to the grunge crowd of Seattle more than the rest of the world. This may be fine for that context, but it just won’t play in Peoria. However, I find that when he goes to the Bible and sticks with the text, he does fairly well. He’s orthodox in his beliefs (if not so much in practice). His exposition works well––he illumines the text and its meaning. 
    I think he’s done this with one of his latest books, Who Do You Think You Are? Entering the book of Ephesians is a wonderful place to go if you want to learn who you’ve become, who you are and who you’ll be forever.  Driscoll does a more than adequate job of taking the text and relating it to our world today. Americans (and American Christians are no different, sadly), pay far too much attention to what their self-esteem is. As believers, we should be far more concerned with our Christ-esteem: do we esteem Him at all? If so, how much? How is that seen in our lives, our deeds, our words? Driscoll forces us to use Scripture to think on these things.
    The writing in this book makes me wonder if Driscoll didn’t have assistance in simply taking a sermon series and putting it to book form. There seem to be some repetitive portions, which as a pastor/preacher I know are helpful in an extended preaching series. However, the book is, overall, very readable.
    I commend this book to you…if you can set your preconceived thoughts of the author aside long enough to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Finding Your True Identity In Christ  "We don't underst

    Finding Your True Identity In Christ 




    "We don't understand who we truly are children of God made in His image." and that is very true. Many times we forget who we really are in Christ and our true identity. the author is
    founding pastor of Mars Hill Church in Seattle Washington and Creator of Resurgence the largest Christian Leadership website. I always am glad to see an extensive notes section and an index to quickly find something I had read. Big name endorsements such as Rick Warren and Sheila Walsh help to round out the endorsements. The titles of the chapters hint at the content such as I am a saint, I am appreciated, I am Reconciled, I am Forgiven, and I am Victorious. The author dedicates this book to his teenage daughter and this book should be given to all of our children. 
    So many people seek to get their identity through this world, but only when we realize who we are in Christ will we realize our true identity. Questions everyone must ask themselves are Who are you? What defines you? What is your identity? and What does it mean to be "in Christ?" Other books by the author include Real Marriage, also on his website are several sermons and guest blogs from the Washington Post.
    In the chapter I am Blessed, the author briefly touches on predestination.  He says
    "For the Christian, the doctrine of predestination is something to be considered and rejoiced in.  The Christian is supposed to lovingly, truthfully, and humbly present the gospel of Jesus Christ to non-Christians and see what God does as a result."
    Quotes from R.C. Sproul, John Piper, and Jonathan Edwards help to ground the theology in Biblical principles. The chapters begin with a passage from Ephesians and contain stories from members of Mars church. 
    Website of Mark Driiscoll can be found at pastormark.tv/book. 
    I would recommend this book to anyone who is struggling in their identity, which is everyone at one time or another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Misogynistic Calvinism

    Haven't read it and will not

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    In the book Who Do You Thing You Are? Mark Driscoll explores the

    In the book Who Do You Thing You Are? Mark Driscoll explores the identity of every Christian. By unfolding Paul’s famous phrase “in Christ” Driscoll explains how each believer has to overcome the temptation to follow after false identities for the true identity found in the Lord. The reader is then taken through an informative survey of the book of Ephesians to fully unpack who we really are in Christ.
    To be perfectly honest I had some major hesitations reading this book. As a pastor you hear rumors and opinions about some pastor or author, and one is quick to judge off of that information. Driscoll was no exception for me. However, I have found this book to be one of the BEST books I have ever picked up. Driscoll is very through and captivating in his writing. He shows a love and respect for the Scriptures and his end notes hold a wealth of information for the Bible student. I personally found this book to be a great up lift in my spiritual walk and would recommend it to anyone who is “in Christ”!

    Disclosure: I did receive a free review copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers, but was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    One of the best books I have read on finding our identity in Chr

    One of the best books I have read on finding our identity in Christ. Interspersed with real life stories, the author brought to life the passages of the epistle to the Ephesians. In today’s upside down world of brokenness, the importance to grasp our solid foundation in Christ cannot be taken for granted anymore. Many young people have lost their footing in Christianity and wavering about between what is the philosophy of the world and what is of the Bible. Peer pressures and the unreal world of entertainment have clouded the eyes from seeing what God sees in His sons and daughters. Mark Driscoll’s seriousness of wanting readers to stand upright in this broken world is permeated in every page of this book. The reading of this book must not be rushed. I hope this book can help Christians appreciate the Bible even more as they grasp the full meaning of who we really are in Christ. The title of the book also gets the attention of everyone, both believers and unbelievers. I urge everyone to get hold of this book and praise God for what He has given to us and done in us!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There is a wealth of insight in this book! Identity is one of to

    There is a wealth of insight in this book! Identity is one of top things I see 20-something Christians (or anybody for that matter) struggle with. I love how Driscoll's writing is always grounded in the word. Be prepared to stop a lot and reflect on your own identity and your relationship with Christ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    I haven't read it yet, but plan on it very soon.

    I haven't read it yet, but plan on it very soon.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    This book is one of Driscolls best to date. In a society that d

    This book is one of Driscolls best to date. In a society that dictates who we are and why, this book uses Scriptural reasons why we can believe we are who God says as believers we are, no more, no less. It gives helpful insights into battling Satan's lies. Highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    I have been following Mark Driscoll and MarsHill Church since 20

    I have been following Mark Driscoll and MarsHill Church since 2003.
    I have had the pleasure of watching his sermons online and have read everyone of his books during that time. 
    This book like all others is great, It speak to the heart and his use of the Bible encourages and convicts to make a change.
    I would recommend to any age as we all fight our own identity! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    This man is a bigot. Don't buy his book.

    This man is a bigot. Don't buy his book.

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    What a great book this is! Mark Driscoll has a gift for directly

    What a great book this is! Mark Driscoll has a gift for directly applying the Bible to real life questions. I'm so excited to journey through Ephesians with Mars Hill Church. There is no greater question that we as humans can ask then "What are we placing our identity in?" and there is no other life giving identity apart from a relationship with Jesus Christ. This book is a must read for EVERYONE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    "The Absolute worst place to begin constructing your identi

    "The Absolute worst place to begin constructing your identity is you, which is precisely where most counseling begins. The best place to begin constructing and identity is Jesus Christ, which is precisely where Scripture begins." - Mark Driscoll
    "What on earth am I here for?" That question has caused more trouble and brought more peace than possible any other in history. "What is the meaning of life?" That question has sent people looking and searching for purpose from sea to shining sea. However, there is another question that I believe must first be answered before one can begin to live a life of true purpose. The question is this…"WHO AM I?"
    In his latest book, Pastor Mark Driscoll sets out to tackle the ageless identity crisis of mankind by revealing what scripture says about our true identity. According to the scripture:
    We are in Christ. We are gifted.We are saved.We are Victorious and so much more.What shocked me about this book is how it is more than just a "feel good" pop Christian book. A strong argument can be made that Pastor Mark has written a modern day commentary on the Book of Ephesians. I believe this book will be the standard for a generation of preachers who are teaching on issues of identity or teaching from Ephesians in general. It is that good.While the book digs into the context more than some are used to, Pastor Mark always "lands the plane" with practical application and real life illustrations.
    I encourage you to pick up a copy here. Use it for small groups. Use it for a sermon series. Use it for personal growth. Share it with someone who is struggling with identity issues.

    The folks at The Resurgence and Thomas Nelson Publishing provided me with copies of this book for review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Hey guys. So¿ I gotta be honest¿ I¿m usually pretty wary of anyt

    Hey guys. So… I gotta be honest… I’m usually pretty wary of anything Mark Driscoll puts out. I like him and all, and I think he has some good things to say, but I’ve usually taken most of what he says with a grain of salt; comparing his opinions against others and then forming my own. When I saw his new book, “Who Do You Think You Are?” on booksneeze, I was getting ready to pass it over. However, I felt a tugging to go back and at least read the description. So I read the description and promptly ordered it.
    See, here’s the thing… a lot of Christians don’t know who they are in Christ. They think going to church is the extent of their relationship with God… and that they haven’t become that new creation of which 2 Corinthians speaks.
    While I still hold the, “Compare all of what Driscoll says against Scripture along with other commentators/theologians” (I say to do this with all writers), Mr. Mark’s book “Who Do You Think You Are?” is a pretty good read. And, to be personal, I gotta say this came at the perfect time for me. 
    Four out of five stars.
    I was given this book free of charge from the Thomas Nelson booksneeze blogger programme in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1