Customer Reviews for

Who Is Jill Scott? Words and Sounds, Vol. 1

Average Rating 5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is still one of my favorite CDs.

    It's poetic, with warm grooves and sweet lyrics. It talks about real life and love but stays away from the raunch that a lot of hip-hop albums get too far into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this album is definetly going to be a classic!!!

    from the first track to the last track, i didn't have to skip any tracks, it was seriously off the hook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    what a voice!

    This girl is refreshing to listen to all day long. She bring a whole new style to the industry. I'm hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A true fan!!

    I must say that out of all the albums I have this is my favorite. This cd is filled with so many emotions. There is a song for every mood. It's a must have!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jill is the epitome of Sexy

    Her soulful and sensual music touches the soul and grasps ones inner self. Her sexiness is uninhibited and very welcomed. I love this cd. It is up there with Billie Holiday on the legend factor. She simply is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Her name is J-i-l-l S-c-o-t-t

    Every track on this album had my soul feeling refreshed. ''The best feelings in life are the ones we can't explain'' and listening to this CD (straight though without having to skip, might I add) brings a vibe of love to the listener's mind. It is clear that all aspects of Jill's life are expressed-not just the love theme. Overall, I am just glad Philly's own Jill Scott hit the mainstream to give us all a wake-up call on what real soul is before going through the media. A good listen for all R&B fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Soulful Vocals

    It has been a long time since a singer has captured my ear & my soul. Jill Scott's voice moves me in every way. Her lyrics make my heart smile & my day easier. I play her CD nonstop, all the way through to the end & back to the begining. I never get enough. She's as real as it gets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    J-I-L-L S-C-O-T-T

    ''It's so hard for me to say this ... I'm struggling to find the right words.'' Jill Scott is refreshing ... She's what we've been lacking -- She's what we've all needed and finally found. Who else would be able to write a song about the man in her life and make us all jealous? With lyrics like ''You love me from my hair follicle to my toe nails, You got me feelin' like the breeze, Easy and free and lovely and me ...'' Some people talk about how they have never been in love before -- Well go out and get this CD and experience what love could be like if you had the right person in your life. With her jazzy notes and R&B Soul -- Jill Scott invites you to her world ... and you appreciate every minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must buy

    This is a very soulful and strong voice. Another fine artist from Philadelphia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jill Scott

    When you listen to Jill sing, you feel where she is coming from. Her music relates to our lives, whether you are from the hood or not. That ghetto love vibe saturates her melodies. Not only can she sing, she creates a scene in your mind that you can almost touch. Her songs don't get tired no matter how often you play them because they are not of this time, they are about our lives. Issues of love don't change but they way they are communicated can sometimes become warped by what the mainstream demands. Jill has stepped out of that ring and is singing from her heart. Allow her to sing to you and with you because she knows what you are feeling and what you wish you could really say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Album of the year

    Move over Sade, Jill Scott is the next sultry, sexy and jazzy voice of the year. This is an extraordinary album that has exquisite taste and style. Keep em comming Jill!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The girl is bad

    Her music is so refreshing, a little bit of jazz, hip hop, and r&b all rapped up in one. She is dynamic. The lyrics are hot. You go girl!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enticing

    Jill Scott is the best. Coming from a young teenager (13) who wants to hear real music instead of some of the garbage that's out now. She's wonderful to listen to and she is not like any other. She will be known because she has the talent and her witty attitude will scare everyone else off the charts. Boo Ya!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She's WHO you need to hear

    With depth far deeper than oceans, Jill Scott's cd affects you much like an addict is affected by a drug...it's PURELY ADDICTIVE! This Philly poet puts it down track after funky track! When people try to make comparisons between her and other artists, much like the ''All Music Guide'' guy did, that's a mistake to begin with. I guess there 'has' to be an alternative opinion placed out there, just for the sake of having one, but i'm not really sure WHO'S cd he was listening to. But I do agree with him on one point: Jill Scott CANNOT be 'classified' as an R&B artist, but not because of the reasons he stateed, but because she simply CANNOT be classified. She's created a category of her own. She is setting the standard for the next movment in spoken word and music as well. If you're not familiar w/ the spoken word scene, this is a definite 'easy on the ears and mind' way to familiarize yourself! Her talent shines throughout the cd, placing you in 'her mood'. The sista has control like that. It's one of those rare cd's you can rock while cleanin' the house, down the street in ya ride, on long road trips, and oh yes, ya gotta listen to it in the rain! The Diva stands on her own, and when you listen to her, you'll find out just who Jill Scott is. Ms Scott, much power and long life to your flow. light~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SISTER GIRL CAN SANG

    I PUT ON JILL'S CD AND WELL ALL I CAN SAY IS I LISTENED TO ALL OF THE TRACKS. (WITHOUT MISSING A BEAT!!!) I MUST SAY TO JILL ''GIRL WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN!!!??? YOU ARE LONG OVERDUE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb

    This is the b-e-s-t that there is.. Words can't even begin to describe how much I love all of the tracks. I happened upon her by word of mouth and I havent regretted it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Off - the - Chain

    This lady can cold put down some lyrics. I can't even begin to choose a favorite track. Buy it...and you will agree, this is the hottest R&B release of 2000.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Grammy winner for Best New Artist is Jill Scott!!

    If this woman is not on the list as a nominee for Best New Artist at the Grammy Awards next year, someone needs to have their hearing checked! Jill Scott is a talented singer, writer, and poet. Heard the song ''Gettin' in the Way'' and loved it. But still hadn't purchased the album. But after seeing her perform live on BET, I HAD to get the album. This is an artist who doesn't need choreography or special effects. The magic is in the music - she enjoys the art form and it shows on her album and in her performances. Favorites: Exclusively, Gettin' in the Way (song and video), A Long Walk, He Loves Me, Love Rain, The Way, Honey Molasses...oh forget it...all of them!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Real Soul Sista!!!

    A cd like this has been needed for a long time. With all of the rap, hard-core rap, video and wannabe gangstas trying to take over the charts, someone needed to come along and show everyone how a real sista does it. And that is exactly what Jill Scott does, and with essence. She says everything that Foxy Brown, Lil Kim, and Eve says, but with class. I tip my hat to this Queen. She deserves much props. Whomever was in Jill Scott's life and whomever these songs and poems are about on her cd.... thank you for touching this lady's soul, whether positively or negatively. You brought out the best in her. Jill Scott is surely one of the ''QUEENS''...Lauryn Hill, Erika Badu and J.I.L.L. S.C.O.T.T.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must have in your CD collection

    I have this one 5 MAJOR STARS!!! This CD sends sweet sounds and poetry through my entire house. I have never raved over a CD before but Jill Scott has me telling all my friends to get this CD. I just ordered the TAPE for the car!!! If you like D'Angelo, Maxwell and Erikah then you will absolutely love Jill Scott!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2