Customer Reviews for

Whoa, Nelly!

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Neltado

    Nelly Furtado is awesome. She is one of my favorite singers. This album is very inspirational and is a good reference for good songwriting, cuz she is a great songwriter. Listen to songs like "Hey, Man!", "Legend", and "I Will Make U Cry", other great tracks from Nelly Furtado.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!

    All I have to say-- BUY IT! You will love this cd-- every song. We put it on at work and listened to the whole thing and our customers LOVED it! Its pop, but its not. Its some rap, but its not. Its some Jazz, but its not. Confused? BUY IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a serious must have...phat beats, great vocals...the whole atmosphere of the CD is awesome...if you want to hear the techniques of a great DJ paired with an excellent vocalist, this is the CD for you. I sing the entire CD during my drive to work everyday!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible Talent

    I discovered this cd months ago. Despite friends telling me there was no other good songs besides her first hit, I'm like a bird, I bought it anyway. At first I wasn't so sure about it because it was so different from what I was used to; but the longer I listened to it the more I realized how interesting and new this style of music was. Then I realized she writes her own music. That's incredible these days. To be able to write and sing and be recognized for talent and not sex appeal, which seems to be the way to go when your blonde and have no talent(example: Britney Spears). This girl obviously does have talent. She was asked to perform at Lilith Fair many times and appeared on Jay Leno. Her lyrics are thought provoking and not like your usual love song or the overdone you broke my heart, I hate you song. Everything about this new artist is fresh and original. She has her own style, both musically and appearance wise. Her music has an international feeling. It has a kind of hiphop, gypsy, hippie feeling. Furtado is just so different, which is a relief from all the same old teeny bopper excuse for music. It's even a good change from actually talented people like McLaughlin and others who write about real things. Her lyrics are pure and her talent can be taken seriously. Overall, I was thouroughly impressed. I still listen to it after months. The only complaint I had was that there weren't more songs on the album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nelly is incredible with her first album!!!

    Nelly Furtado's CD is amazing! Although I have to admit you have to listen to it a couple of times before you really get into it. My favorites are ''On the radio'', ''I'm like a bird'', ''Turn off the light'', and ''Legend.'' After listening to ''Whoa Nelly'', I can safely say she is one of my new favorite artists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS IS IT!!!

    This is finally a cd that is soothing and realaxing and not to mention motivating song ''i'm like a bird'' sends out a positive message about women today. I love the entire cd. thankyou ms.Nelly Futado

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Ever!!!!!!

    Her music is like none other. Highly recomended by me and all for all ages. You can't find better than this. Her music enspires me. It's like she can read your mind or something. I have totally the same feelings and view as she does. When I listen to her music I go to another place. I just close my eyes and sing along. I know all the words and trust me, by the end of the day, you will too! Best CD ever!!!!!! You have to buy it because you'll absolutly love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Whoa, Nelly!

    This is really good. I saw her in concert and she rocked! She is one of the best pop singers out there! She writes all her own songs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WHOA!

    whoa just that she is awesome!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nelly

    Nelly Furtado is pop with a (sharp) edge. She is not your typical blonde pop queen, instead she is an awesome singer with a voice like no other. She has created her own style of music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nelly Rocks!!

    'I'm Like a Bird' is the best song ever!! I bought it just to hear that song, but it turns out I like alot of her other songs, too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nelly is so pretty and sings really well!

    Nelly is sooo cool! She's Mary-Kate Olsen's favorite singer! Her song 'I'm like a Bird' is sooo pretty! I'm getting her CD as soon as I can!!! Cass

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Whoa Nelly, Don't stop, keep on going..

    My guess is Nelly will go to the top. This is a delightful album with a lot of surprises. I'm hoping we will hear a lot more from her in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AmAzInG

    I bought the CD. Loved it. Went to the show in Washington DC...even better. she has endless energy, the band is unreal, and mood can't be beat. Reminds me of Rusted Root mixed with a little Alanis, Sheryl Crow and Jewel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1