Customer Reviews for

Whole Latte Life

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Stars, Summer, Friends Walk along the sandy shores of Anchor Be

    Stars, Summer, Friends

    Walk along the sandy shores of Anchor Beach, explore the hidden treasures of Manhattan, wish upon a star. Whole Latte Life is a powerful and eloquent story of friendship, choices and love. I won't soon forget friends Sara Beth and Rachel. I already miss them.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Loved it! Inspiring Read

    Wow. . . I loved everything about Whole Latte Life! This novel is so much more than a romance or beach read --it has depth, meaning, character, charm, and realistic life issues. Joanne DeMaio has a talent for describing every emotion, scent, and feeling of a room or setting, so it draws you into the world of the character. (She must be artistic, as being a creative person, we look beyond to grasp each element and feeling).

    An inspiring read, this novel grabbed me from the front cover to the ending and was hard to put down. You reflect, think, dream, and wonder as an escape while reading and could imagine almost smelling the salt and sea. The characters were engaging, and so enjoyed the perspectives from each of the four characters.

    Loved Michael/Rachel and their time in NYC and oh, did I savor the cottage by the sea (as my kind of place) – Michael is a gem with a past and so romantic--Rachel was perfect for him. The relationship between Tom/Sara Beth was amazing, intimate, and so raw and realistic.

    Rachel and Sara Beth have a dynamic friendship from childhood and the two planned a girl’s weekend in NYC to celebrate their 40th birthday. However, Sara Beth is going through some trying times and the walls are closing in; however, she does not express her feelings to her friend, instead she uses the weekend as her escape to be alone to think and decide her direction and her future.

    Her mom has recently died, as the two were planning on opening an antique shop. It never happened and then her third child came along. As a lot of mothers with children who have put dreams on hold – she runs from her husband Tom, and thinks of her carefree and free spirited days traveling abroad and an old flame in Italy, while talking with her deceased mother. The worst she leaves her best friend sitting at the restaurant with only a note. She wants balance and clarity and her mind is so crowded with her life she cannot think.

    Rachel on the other hand wants to help her friend and searches all over Manhattan, and meets a policeman who also changes her life. Her husband died almost two years earlier, with a daughter in college, and dreams of a seaside cottage and painting. Her friendship with Sara Beth is important to her and she is caught between honoring her friend’s request and calling her family.

    From Manhattan, historic town in Connecticut, to an adorable cottage at Anchor Beach on Long Island, to a mysterious New England carriage house with antiques, Whole Latte Life is about redemption, second chances, forgiveness, taking chances, choices, loss, unconditional love, friendships, secrets, romance, and magic! (makes you want to wish upon a star tonight)

    I would highly recommend this read along with Joanne’s two newer novels, Blue Jeans and Coffee Beans, and Snowflakes and Coffee Cakes – all 5 star winners!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Rachel and Sara Beth have been best friends forever. Ever since

    Rachel and Sara Beth have been best friends forever. Ever since their school days their lives have moved along parallel paths, wishing upon stars and celebrating birthdays together. Like their fortieth birthday, which they're celebrating in Manhattan: staying at The Plaza; planning outings, like breakfast at Tiffany's; climbing to the top of the Empire State Building; and just sharing the moments.

    But something happens on their first day that changes the course of their lives for months to come. While eating lunch, Sara Beth gets up to go to the rest room...and then disappears.

    Later, the waiter delivers a note asking Rachel to give her time; she needs to get away; please don't call anyone.

    Frantically the search begins, however, since Rachel cannot just go on without trying to find her. She meets up with a mounted police officer named Michael, who gives her advice and then starts helping her look.

    Throughout this wonderfully layered story, we can identify with one woman's quest to find herself by pulling and tugging at the threads of the life she's created. She explores the what-ifs, the roads not taken. She tries to deal with the loss of her mother and the loss of a special shared dream. Meanwhile, the frayed connections between the two friends take Rachel along another path. A journey of her own that will lead to unexpected joy.

    Whole Latte Life is a lyrical, poetic foray into finding oneself and renewing old ties. It is a tale of loss, grief, and healing. It is a story that reminds the reader of the importance of family, friendship, and love. Five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Would you leave everything behind to know who you are? That&rsq

    Would you leave everything behind to know who you are?

    That’s exactly what Sara Beth Riley does, she leaves her friend alone in New York while she goes off to find herself. Her best friend Rachel plans a Girl’s Weekend to celebrate their 40th birthdays and Sara Beth is there one minute and gone the next. Sara Beth’s journey to find who she really is or change into the person she thinks she needs to be leaves a lot of collateral damage touching both her best friend and her own family. It sets off a summer from Manhattan to a cottage by the sea, a carriage house to a dream house. How much will her decision cost Sara Beth? Her best friend, her husband, her dreams….plus can she come to grips with what is already gone?

    Dollycas’s Thoughts
    This story took this reader on quite an emotional roller coaster and I have to be very careful with this review not to give the story away.

    I went from thinking Sara Beth was quite selfish to come to a bit of an understanding of what she was going through. I felt so sorry for Rachel being left in New York wondering if her friend was dead or alive. I wanted to strangle Sara Beth for putting her through that. But Rachel meets someone wonderful as she is surviving the mess Sara Beth made and turns lemons into lemonade.

    It is extremely easy to identify with both Sara Beth and Rachel. They are both complex characters dealing with monumental issues, each handling them very differently. Sara Beth’s way was much more extreme, wavering between mid-life crisis and scary mental breakdown.

    The story was a true test of love for both characters, the choice to move on or run away. Self love, mother’s love, second chance at love, true love. The bonds made with best friends, spouses, our children, our family, the bonds that bend but don’t break.

    DeMaio has written a truly endearing story that will leave us all star gazing and wanting to be kissed in the moonlight!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Perfect with your coffee ... There was so much that I loved abou

    Perfect with your coffee ... There was so much that I loved about this book - the friendship, romance, settings, and bonds between mothers and daughters. The book explores moments that shape the characters, connecting Sara Beth, her Mom, Rachel, Michael. It's those moments that feel so real, that I could relate to. Love this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Hood

    Nods

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Female friendships

    Great story with female friendships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    This is sophia this book is better than the coffe book

    Asom

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Recently I read a very thought provoking book written by Joanne

    Recently I read a very thought provoking book written by Joanne DeMaio. I assumed it would a lighthearted summer read for my afternoon breaks. I was so pleased to find this story is not just another quick read! The main characters in the book are overtaken with emotional upheaval in their lives. As each faces and confront midlife changes and decisions, they find the consequences of their deeds have a wide ranging repercussion for other family members.

    Two best friends set out on a planned 40th birthday trip to New York with the highest expectations of fun and adventure during this special week-end. Rachael, a widow and mother to a college age daughter looks so forward to the shopping, coffee shops, and entertainment. Sara Beth, married, mother of three has a change of plans for the weekend, unknown to Rachael. I wont post spoilers, but impulsive actions and following life events bring a domino effect for both the friends which are totally unforeseen. Usually the friends meet for walks each day and end up discussing their busy day at a favorite coffee shop, but something happens to change this comfortable friendship.

    Rachael's dilemma: What if ...your closest friend went mysteriously missing and you were asked not to intervene? What if ... you felt torn between loyalty to your best friend and the need to help her in the midst of erratic behavior? What if...you found your friend had kept important secrets from you and was acting like a different person? What if...you stumbled upon a new love but would have to move from your comfort zone to accept this gift?

    Sara Beth’s dilemma: What if...you could change the course of your life for three days? What if...during your grief you could stay in contact with your recently departed mother? What if...you must choose to continue to live a mundane life of service to family and deny the person you really feel you are inside? What if...you have what you want within your grasp and in a few moments it is all taken away?

    Joanne Demaio has written a wonderful story which leads the characters toward answers as they seek peace and solace in the comfort of time away at an old beach cottage. The book is carefully written about the connections of family, friends, and relationships. Sometimes the best therapy and healing for damaged hearts can be found on the sandy shore with a soft beach breeze to caress your soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    Whole Latte Life by Joanne DeMaio  is a wonderful summer time re

    Whole Latte Life by Joanne DeMaio  is a wonderful summer time read. I so enjoyed my journey with Rachel and Sarah Beth as they went through many changes in their life. This book is full of emotion, I found myself both laughing and crying my way through the pages. Joanne Demaio has created characters in this book that I could instantly bond with. 




    Sarah Beth's life is completely turned upside down by so many losses. I totally felt all her emotions with her along the way. Sarah Beth is very lucky to have some wonderful people behind her as she tries to find herself after all the trauma she has been through.




    Rachel is a wonderful best friend to Sarah Beth, she is also a woman who has experienced loss herself. She does her best to help Sarah Beth through all the changes in her life. I admired her for standing behind her best friend when times were tough. Rachel also encounters some unexpected changes in her life.




    Whole latte Life is a very emotional read with the characters loss of loved ones and dreams, the strength of love to get through anything, dreams that really can come true and the unexpected joy of finding love again. I love to feel connected to the character I'm reading about and Rachel & Sarah Beth fit that bill completely. I admired their long standing friendship and the ability of their love for each other to over come some obstacles that developed through the story. I don't want to give to much away to spoil this wonderful story for you. You will have to check it out for yourself and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I look forward to reading more work by Ms. DeMaio, I can't wait to see what wonderful story she puts together next. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Whole Latte Life by Joanne DeMaio This story is about 2 women wh

    Whole Latte Life by Joanne DeMaio
    This story is about 2 women who are friends and in the present day they agree to spend a few days in NY. After shopping and a lunch Sara Beth leaves a note and takes off. Rachel is handed the note and does as she's asked, not to alert anyone but she needs a few days to find herself.
    They've just turned 40 and Sara Beth has recently lost her mother and is at wits end what to do with her life and remembers the past, romances and life choices.
    Rachel has lost her husband and has a college daughter and while in the city finds a new man in her life. He is so passionate to her, the places he takes her as he introduces her to his life.
    As we go back in time to discover their secrets we are also brought into the present where things do work out as they each take on new things.
    Love volunteer work with the flowers and the carriage house and especially the summer cottages with the names and what they symbolize in the story.
    'mystical healing power of the salt air' love this phrase.
    Not sure which of the woman's' life's I like best. They both do their own thing and it's the journey and process that leads them where they end up, loved the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Whole Latte Life is the poignant story about the bonds of friend

    Whole Latte Life is the poignant story about the bonds of friendship, love and self-discovery. Lifelong friends Sara Beth Riley and Rachel DeMartino plan a girls getaway weekend in New York City to celebrate their fortieth birthday. While having lunch in a restaurant, Sara Beth leaves their table for the restroom and never returns. Frantic, Rachel is handed a note by the waiter, in which Sara Beth tells her that she is sorry to cause her worry, but that she needs a few days alone to think and sort her life out. While searching the streets of Manhattan, Rachel meets a NYC mounted police officer, Michael Micelli, who helps her in the search of Sara Beth. This is a story of two women's journey of self-discovery that will have a life-changing affect on their bond of friendship and family relationships through the choices and decisions that they make.




    In her debut novel, author Joanne DeMaio weaves an emotional tale about the bonds of friendship, personal growth and discovery, loss, love and forgiveness. Told in the third person narrative with alternating perspectives of Sara Beth and Rachel, the reader is drawn into these two women's journey of self-discovery.  Both women have suffered losses in their lives: Sara Beth's recent loss of her mother throws her life into a tailspin and plunges her into a mid-life crisis where she second-guesses the lifetime of choices she has made. Rachel is a widow with a daughter away in college, who has managed to keep her life together and wonders if she will get a second chance at love. Rachel and Sara Beth are both realistic and complex women, who are  confronting life-altering issues and challenges in their lives. Their journey will transport the reader through their small hometown of Addison, Connecticut; to the bright lights of the city that never sleeps of Manhattan (NYC); to a little summer beach cottage on Anchor Beach, Long Island.




    Whole Latte Life is a beautiful exploration into the bonds of friendship, loss, life choices and redemption. It is a multi-layered story that will draw the reader into these two women's quest to find themselves, while exploring the life choices that they have made, the what-ifs and the roads not taken. It is a poignant story that will take the reader down a long winding emotional path of finding oneself through the introspection of loss, grief, longings, healing and new beginnings. Rich in detail and vivid descriptions of picturesque settings; with intriguing characters who are realistic, complex and easy for the reader to relate to and connect with; and a storyline that will tug at your heartstrings; Whole Latte Life is a powerful and compelling story that will remind the reader about the importance of family and friendship, while at the same time leave you pondering about the choices, decisions, what-ifs and roads not taken in your own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1