Customer Reviews for

The Whole Truth

Average Rating 3.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

extremely thought provoking

I have read all of David Baldacci's work and I always enjoy them. This book really intrigued me from the start. All new characters and a book setting that is not in America. The first line that comes to mind is 'Oh, what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice ...
I have read all of David Baldacci's work and I always enjoy them. This book really intrigued me from the start. All new characters and a book setting that is not in America. The first line that comes to mind is 'Oh, what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive.' As I finished the book, I found myself thinking more and more about the premise and I have continued to think about it for days. Quoting one more line, As Stan Moore has written, "Just because truth has been omitted, does not mean that truth is not true. Just because reality has not been perceived, does not mean that it is not real." I think David just keeps getting better and I applaud him for bringing new concepts to his readers.

posted by 3411884 on April 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

James Bond meets Jason Bourne

In, The Whole Truth, Nicolas Creel, an international arms dealer slash world philanthropist, creates conflicts to fuel the demand for his products: weapons of mass destruction. When Creel targets Russia with a smear campaign, things start to get ugly. On the flip si...
In, The Whole Truth, Nicolas Creel, an international arms dealer slash world philanthropist, creates conflicts to fuel the demand for his products: weapons of mass destruction. When Creel targets Russia with a smear campaign, things start to get ugly. On the flip side of the coin, to keep out of prison, Baldacci's hero, Shaw, a man with a shady past and a reluctant future, does the bidding of a multinational intelligence agency. When Shaw's fiancé is murdered by Creel's henchmen Shaw vows to get even. Likeable yet recycled characters that lacked consistency and a familiar plot - megalomaniac wanting to control the world - almost ruined this story for me. In addition, portions of the book are stricken with the Talking Head Syndrome with information filtering through the point of view of no perceivable character, coming only from the author. In spite of all of this, I found myself wanting to continue reading the book to see how it all turned out. And in the end that's what it's all about... I think. -- Bob Avey, author of Twisted Perception, and Beneath a Buried House

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My First Baldacci Novel... And Probably My Last

    This was my first David Baldacci novel and I will state now that I was not impressed. There are some good things to recommend about this novel, but it's steeped in the currently accepted realm of Mediocre.

    The underlying theme is its most interesting feature: Perception. Perception in to-day's fast-paced world of instant news and instantaneous judgement, and how either a person or a government with an agenda could ride rough-shot over our collective inquisitiveness, perhaps with our own blessing if not our own ignorance, and manipulate us into a cocked hat. Perhaps... even into another Cold War scenario. [Or, apropos to a recent situation, Ms Shirley Sherrod's ignominious branding as a racist.]

    Shaw is a man without a past, a human weapon to bring down 'bad guys', but controlled by another man who may be as ruthless as those he's sworn to bring to justice. The only thing keeping Shaw human is the woman he loves... and from whom he's hidden his true self. Then there's the female, Pulitzer-winning reporter, whose experiences have driven her to the bottle and a career cul-de-sac. Finally, the bad guy, who doesn't see himself as the Baddie, yet deliberately engages in acts of philanthropy to offset his own hypocritical sophistries. Throw in a skirmish between Russia and China, and one has to admit this book has scope.

    And that is the biggest 'cheat' of all. Smoke & mirrors to keep one from seeing what a hash of story-telling this really is: a fry-up at a greasy-spoon diner.

    I do have to acknowledge that this appears to be the sort of story-telling and prose specifically geared towards those wanting a quick read, perhaps at the beach or on a camping trip or on a train ride or soon after a mild lobotomy operation. There's obviously a place for this sort of fiction-writing (I'm loathe to call it literature), just as there is for summer movies like JURASSIC PARK 9 1/2, NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM 42, THE MUMMY 86, etc. But as I read it, I immediately placed it in the category of a 'guilty pleasure' - but not all that pleasurable. But hey, [full disclosure] I do like some of those brainless summer Blockbusters at the cinema, myself... from time to time.

    Perhaps the very best thing I can say about it is that it is a super-fast read.

    But this is due to the author's characterisation-by-shorthand, elementary sentence structure, and the new/modern brief chapters. (Honestly, so many of them end halfway down a page that, if one were to add them all up, would probably reduce the book's length by 50-75 pages.) Also, there were lots of examples of characters not acting like people would in such a situation if it were real; and then, another page later, the author would slip in verisimilitude, making me not wanting to quite give up on the story.

    Sometimes one has to take a break from the Classics, read something light and entertaining and fast. Sure, why not. A little variety, eh? Everything, even literature, in moderation. Fine.

    But there are better thrills out there - if just as 'cheap'.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Love him or leave him loni love

    Don't waste your time or your money all the book is people write to loni about things that happen in their love life and she gives them her opinion the book I think has 242 pages its not worth time or the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Keep shopping...

    As an avid Baldacci fan, I tried and tried to like this book. However, where do I begin? The only thing believable in the book is that it ends. Creating wars, selling weapons, conspiracy are all fine and suspenseful plotlines - normally. But they are forced and cliched in this book. I had a hard time even reading past the first chapter, but I just knew it would get better. Huge disappointment. Reminds me of old Grisham vs. new Grisham. Forced and just a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Not one of his best

    David Baldacci is on my list of must buy authors when new releases come out. I was very disappointed in this book. It was almost as those someone took over writing the last half without know the characters in the first half of the book. Wish I had waited until it hit the sale rack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    A one pony show.

    Predictable and shallow. This is a paper-back quality book, so save your money and get it then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1