Customer Reviews for

The Whole Truth

Average Rating 3.5
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

extremely thought provoking

I have read all of David Baldacci's work and I always enjoy them. This book really intrigued me from the start. All new characters and a book setting that is not in America. The first line that comes to mind is 'Oh, what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice ...
I have read all of David Baldacci's work and I always enjoy them. This book really intrigued me from the start. All new characters and a book setting that is not in America. The first line that comes to mind is 'Oh, what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive.' As I finished the book, I found myself thinking more and more about the premise and I have continued to think about it for days. Quoting one more line, As Stan Moore has written, "Just because truth has been omitted, does not mean that truth is not true. Just because reality has not been perceived, does not mean that it is not real." I think David just keeps getting better and I applaud him for bringing new concepts to his readers.

posted by 3411884 on April 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

James Bond meets Jason Bourne

In, The Whole Truth, Nicolas Creel, an international arms dealer slash world philanthropist, creates conflicts to fuel the demand for his products: weapons of mass destruction. When Creel targets Russia with a smear campaign, things start to get ugly. On the flip si...
In, The Whole Truth, Nicolas Creel, an international arms dealer slash world philanthropist, creates conflicts to fuel the demand for his products: weapons of mass destruction. When Creel targets Russia with a smear campaign, things start to get ugly. On the flip side of the coin, to keep out of prison, Baldacci's hero, Shaw, a man with a shady past and a reluctant future, does the bidding of a multinational intelligence agency. When Shaw's fiancé is murdered by Creel's henchmen Shaw vows to get even. Likeable yet recycled characters that lacked consistency and a familiar plot - megalomaniac wanting to control the world - almost ruined this story for me. In addition, portions of the book are stricken with the Talking Head Syndrome with information filtering through the point of view of no perceivable character, coming only from the author. In spite of all of this, I found myself wanting to continue reading the book to see how it all turned out. And in the end that's what it's all about... I think. -- Bob Avey, author of Twisted Perception, and Beneath a Buried House

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Who wrote this book? Must have been a middle school girl. Here

    Who wrote this book? Must have been a middle school girl. Here we have a "spy" who doesn't know his fiance is following him on a ferry. How big is this ferry? He is crushed by emotion. If David is trying to create another Jack Reacher, he would do better if it was Jack's baby sister.
    I am a huge fan of David's but if this is the best he's got, he would be better off spending a few years of beach time and get refreshed. I just couldn't read beyond the phone call from his fiance, too lame for me.
    Get some rest and think of a new plot. Don't bring him back, he's too childish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    To all

    Want your dream gf or bf go to hello resylt one and out the vio of your drem bf or gf anything you want

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Brandon

    What do u mean? I tried as hard as i could to make you feel better about the imposter thing!!! Then u say i dont care. Rly :o i only havnt been on alot because i was grounded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Hiccup

    Guys hidys not a w.ore. she was just upset

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Hidy

    Keave him alone u azz hole

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Good Book

    Enjoyed this book, but it started off kind of slow. Had put it away for awhile then came back to it.

    Get passed the first five chapters of character introduction before you decide to put it away. The story begins to reel you in soon after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I read a lot of "SpyFi" and I used to read Baldacci -

    I read a lot of "SpyFi" and I used to read Baldacci -- liking the plots and writing -- but stopped after finding a couple of the sequences to be beyond ludicrous (I think it may have been Hour Game and Last Man Standing). I generally enjoyed the (first three) Camel Club novels, and being fresh out of anything else, decided to give The Whole Truth a shot.

    The writing is good, the pacing is good, and the story interesting. The end kind of ruined it for me -- it was rather abrupt and ridiculous (even for SpyFi). I guess I shouldn't be surprised, but after getting 95% through the book rather enjoying it, I was hoping the end would have been better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Suspenseful throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but Not Baldacci's Best

    The reviewer who defines this book as "serviceable" is probably right on the money. This is a good tale, but quite different from what we've become accustomed to from Baldacci in terms of plot. High powered individuals, greed, romance, international struggles all come into play. The story could easily be pulled from the news, even though at times some of the twists are far-fetched.

    I don't at all agree with anyone who compares Shaw to James Bond. To me, he's more like a Jack Reacher (Lee Child) character - a loner, tougher than tough, mean streak, fights for what is right, etc.

    I know "Deliver Us From Evil" (the next Shaw book) also didn't garner tremendous reviews, but I also know I will read it. Baldacci is one of our best thriller writers and he's entitled to provide us with a "serviceable" book here and there. They're still enjoyable and worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    The Whole Truth or Just Fiction?

    Baldacci gives the reader plenty to think about in his latest book. It is hard to imagine the lengths that people will go to to maintain their power, money, and control, but he has painted a very clear picture of how that can happen in "The Whole Truth." One should always be skeptical about accepting everything at face value, particularly if it's on the internet, and Baldacci drives that point home. He provides the reader with a greater appreciation of how quickly someone's "truth" can be spread with a simple click of the send button which sets into motion consequences that threaten lives and change the delicate balance of governmental relationships. There are plenty of close calls and interesting relationships to make this book an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    The whole truth was an interesting book

    I really liked the book, although it took me a little while to get into it, being that it is not the genre I typically read. Once I got into it and figured out what was going on, it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Read! But Scary

    Scary - it could very easily be exactly what's happening today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good Read

    Fast moving and captivating. I had trouble putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    TERRIFIC

    MY husband and I really enjoyed this audio book. This is our first David Baldacci book and we are sure to read more from this author. We hope to read more about Shaw and Katie James.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    This was a good book following along the lines of Baldacci's other published books.

    This book is a fun read and any David Baldacci's fans will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good book...

    I don't know why this book has so many negative reviews?.It a very good book,as much thrilling as the Camel Club series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Corporate Arms dealer

    Nicolas Creel supplies arms to armies to help rid the world of bad guys, or does he? The Whole Truth will make you rethink how and why wars are started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Maybe I wanted the end or a continuation of the club.

    This is a great book once you get past the first 200 pages. Yes there are hard to believe events, but David does a great job with tgetting past them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Keep shopping...

    As an avid Baldacci fan, I tried and tried to like this book. However, where do I begin? The only thing believable in the book is that it ends. Creating wars, selling weapons, conspiracy are all fine and suspenseful plotlines - normally. But they are forced and cliched in this book. I had a hard time even reading past the first chapter, but I just knew it would get better. Huge disappointment. Reminds me of old Grisham vs. new Grisham. Forced and just a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Well Written Bad Story

    I have read all Baldacci's books and find this story to be unrealistic, simplistic and not worthy of a major author. Next time please write a story that is interesting and complex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10