Customer Reviews for

The Whole World Over

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Buy and Read This Book!

This book has been very enjoyable. I'm on the last 100 pages, and hate to get to the end.

posted by 2896319 on April 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

had a ot of trouble getting through this one.

had a ot of trouble getting through this one.

posted by kat29 on September 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    Buy and Read This Book!

    This book has been very enjoyable. I'm on the last 100 pages, and hate to get to the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    had a ot of trouble getting through this one.

    had a ot of trouble getting through this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Wonderful!

    I absolutely adored this book. Wonderful characters, plot, writing style, and a gorgeous cover. The latter attracted my attention and the book did not disappoint. The characters were so believable and the storyline flowed seamlessly. I loved the way the characters lives intersected and also the thoughful way the author treated alternative lifestyles. This book would make a great gift for anyone who enjoys something other than brain candy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved The Whole World Over

    Julia Glass is a great storyteller. The World World Over is brillantly written. It is about the fragility of relationships and not taking anything for granted. This is also a good book for food lovers because Greenie is a baker. The Whole World Over is a book I would buy and read again. I would recommend it for book clubs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    julia glass

    a pleasure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A feast of words and characters

    This book was a pleasure to read for its use of language. You can "see" the different locals and emotions. There is no dramatic plot or conclusion, but an interwoven theme of living. The different viewpoints and many characters dance around life with its joys and sorrows. An amazingly satisfying slice of life. One reviewer said he would like to shake the characters but isn't that how it is in reality. Not a book strong on drama or intrigue but a vast pleasure to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Beautifully written, engaging characters

    I would divide this book into 4 parts with each part being about 125 pages. The first 2 parts were very well written. I was deeply moved by the characters and the writing. I was engrossed in the characters and felt the book was fantastic. Around the 3rd part I felt it was getting a little bogged down. I was still enjoying it but the constant descriptions of the food Greenie prepared were beginning to bore me a little. I felt her relationship with Charlie was a little off kilter - I felt the connection between them was a little forced. I loved Walter's story all the way through. The ending was deeply moving and I read the last 125 pages in one sitting. Overall I think Julia Glass is a fantastic writer. She develops characters that readers can truly care about. I would highly recommend this book and her previous book as well. Also - the children's books she mentions thoughout the book are great too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    One of the most beautifully written works I've read recently. It's a top-of-the-list favorite, right up there with Ann Pachett's Bel Canto. Glass provides her characters with generous inner lives and a past each must eventually come to terms with. She weaves her large cast, and their various stories, into a tapestry that stretches from NYC to Santa Fe. Over-arching all, 'the whole world over,' is the sky that provides a sense of connectedness, as well as uncontrollable fate. Things fall into and out of the sky, some beneficent, some not, but all altering lives. This is a gorgeous book that will stay with you for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Disappointing and .... annoying

    Looking forward to this book, I found it terribly disappointing and the characters really annoying. There was nothing likable about any of them....I found myself wanting to shake them. It struck me that for a woman who supposedly wanted children, or at least a child, the heroine in the story was rather stiff and an unnatural mother reacting in an inhibited manner to her son. I did finish the book, but found it difficult and several times almost put it down for good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    A Brilliant Read

    Funny, deeply moving, captures the complexities of love and the nuances of relationships. The characters in this book are even more accessible and touchable than those found in Three Junes. Julie Glass excels at showing how unexpected/unplanned events can send anyone of us down a path we never intended to take, and the impact these events can have on our relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A complex family drama

    In Manhattan's West Village, Greenie Duquette runs a local basement bakery that provides pastries to neighborhood restaurants, Her close friend renowned restaurateur Walter, in between falling in love again, obtains Greenie a position as the pastry chef to the to the New Mexico governor. To the shock of her spouse, psychiatrist Dr. Alan Glazier, she accepts the position when it is offered to her.--------------- Greenie leaves Alan in New York and accompanied by their four-year-old son George travels to the Land of Enchantment. Meanwhile their nearly collapsed marriage is further deteriorated when gay bookseller Fenno McLeod, thirtyish amnesiac Saga, and her Uncle Marsden make demands especially on Alan who wonders why everyone demands his time except the woman he wishes would demand his time.-------------- This is a complex family drama in which Alan begins to learn what matters in life as he misses his family even as the demands on his time expand to somewhat fill the void. The cast is powerful and genuine while the estranged lead couple struggle thousands of miles apart over a year deciding what they want from life and each other culminating with the collapse of the Towers symbolizing everything to them. Readers will take immense delight with Julia Glass¿s strong insightful look at people stressed by life and not appreciating what they have.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2