BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Whoreson

Average Rating 4.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put this book down

    The main character is far from perfect, but he is interesting and has a great deal of pride. Pimping isn't easy and this story shows it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    This book definitely took me into this world which was a little harsh to read and swallow. I am very pleased with the writer and ability to draw you into the storyline but it was a very different read for me. I felt as if I can speak about what goes on in the streets having never been in this/these types of environment, although they definitely surrounded...no invaded...where I lived, we were fairly sheltered. Now I can see why. WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The best writer of his time

    I've read this book several times and everytime it's amazing. Donald Goines really challenges the imagination of people who never realized that the stories that take place in his books, really do exist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2007

    It's like entering someone's life, and never wanted to leave, ADDICTION

    I had never heard of Donald Goines, I had only heard of a book called Whoreson being pass along campus 'Job Corps'. I put my name on the waiting list, and did not want to give it back. I was 18yrs. old at the time. This book has left an impression on me. It will make you mad, angry, laugh, cry, have feelings inside your womanly black body that you never thought was inside your soul. This is very well written, whether or not it was based from fiction or truth, you can see these people everyday living in your social circle. OUTSTANDING, NEVER DISAPPOINTING. A word for the wise, never borrow this book from a GOOD friend, for you shall never return it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is a gritty glipse into the underworld of street life...the story is captivating. I read it twice and couldn't put it down both times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    cold pice of work

    This man has put this book in a real point of view,he tell's it like it is and that is why i have read all but 3 of his books and am looking for those 3 so i can read them.I have never read anything so real in my life.The book Dopefiend will have you scratchin like a dopefiend it's that real.I hope to complete my collection soon,and if you dont have all his books or read all his books,i hope you do. Thanks to the best book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    The wonders of Donald****

    This book was filled with so many emotions feelings ups and downs and TRUTH. Whoreson gives so many emotions to the reader. Goines is an exceptional author. His books leaves me speechless at the end, because you never know how the characters life is going to end. I have read 3 of Donald's books so far and I am eager to read the rest of his 'creations of ghetto realism'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    i wish i can pimp like this man did

    some time in my life ill want to be like this man when i first read this book my mind was blow back. i was like dame, what a pimp his mom was a vere strong woman yes she was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2004

    Highly Recommended, A Keeper !

    Whoreson was an excellent book. It was a fast easy read. It took me every bit of 2 days to read this book. The description of the characters were just so real. And ole' Whoreson had the mindsight to get money from all angles necessary. But boy did he have a heart of stone ! Good Book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Interesting from beginning to end!!!

    This book keeps you intrigued. Goines also added humor to the boy to make it fun while also lettin us know how it really was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    You cannot put this book down!

    MAN I TELL YOU THIS IS A GREAT BOOK. I HIGHLY RECCOMEND IT WHORESON IS OFF THE HOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    D. GOINES IS THE MAN!

    THIS IS A GOOD BOOK FOR SURE. THERE IS NO WAY TO DESCRIBE HOW BRILLIANTLY HE PORTRAYS THE LIFE AS A PIMP AND PROSTITUTE IN THIS BOOK. THE MAIN CHARACTER IS THE ILLEST AND HOW HE GETS HIS IS JUST CRAZY. I READ THIS BOOK IN A COUPLE OF HOURS IT WILL HAVE YOU HOOKED FROM THE FIRST LINE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    ******a real page turner!!!********

    That damn Whoreson!!!!...boy i'll tell ya!!...Donald just showed us the true colors of some of these brothas we got out here...some of them can be all for themselves..(but not all) and as for the females...i can say the same thing...this is the 1st book i've read from the author...but i'm sure i will be reading them all!!!....overall this was a great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    It was like you were there

    It didn't take me very ling to read this book. It was so well written and had a lot of description and was real about street life. I felt as if I were right there in the book. I reccomend this to anyone who loves to read. You won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    Really enjoys it every time

    I have always been a fan of Donald Goines. I have a number of his books and Whoreson always sticks out on my mind. I re-read this book every couple of months. I have been doing this for the past 5+ years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    REALITY

    THIS WAS THE BEST BOOK WRITTEN BY THIS AUTHOR. I ENJOYED EVERY PAGE OF THE BOOK, EVEN THOUGH I WASN'T BORN YET, I STILL UNDERSTOOD THE BOOK. I LIVE IN THE AREA HE TALKED ABOUT AND THAT REALLY MADE ME FEEL LIKE I WAS APART OF THE BOOK. THIS BOOK WAS SO REALISTIC IT MADE ME PICTURE THE EVENTS AND AFTERWARDS I THOUGHT I HAD JUST WATCH A MOVIE. THIS HAS TO BE MADE INTO A MOVIE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    real life

    this book was very interesting.I finishing reading this book in one day.Once you start you won't be able to put it down.This taught me alot about a world that i would never want to see. This should me alot about real life and the streets that I have never had to experience, but told me about the real street life and what goes on,on the streets

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    Good stuff

    Awsome and vivid portrayal of life on the street.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    The Ultimate Story about Life on the Streets

    I have passed this paper back book on to many. I only wish they were here to add to this review. Donald Goines visual is amazing. He really brings you to the street of Detroit. It only took me two days (Friday-Sunday) afternoon to finish....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2001

    A girl who knows her stuff!

    This is a book everyone should read, young and old. I really enjoyed this book. It took me only a day and a half to read it. It's definitely a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2