BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Who's Got Your Back: The Breakthrough Program to Build Deep, Trusting Relationships That Create Success--and Won't Let You Fail

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    I'm off to build my Dream Team ...

    Why you should read this book:

    1) The Four Mindsets: Intimacy, Generosity, Vulnerability, Candor
    This follows up on the mindsets Ferrazzi explored in his first book, Never Eat Alone. Building relationships, and repairing relationships, using these mindsets will greatly enhance and fuel all types of relationships, and increase your chances of maintaining strong, successful alliances. These four mindsets are core to building trust.

    2) Building a Dream Team: We all have dreams, and we need strong relationships to help us realize those dreams. Once we've accepted that conducting our relationships through the lens of the four mindsets contributes to our success, building a dream team to help us fuel our success is the next logical step. Ferrazzi outlines nine steps to building a dream team. Not sure if the steps work or not, since Ferrazzi doesn't present hardcore evidence that actual, real live individuals have used these steps successfully, but Ferrazzi's nine steps includes many practical and tactical ideas that logically should work, and seem worth trying.

    3) Holding Each Member Accountable: Without accountability in the group and among individuals, teams become lazy, complacent, loose focus, and derail. Ferrazzi does a nice job of explaining safe ways to implement accountability measures into your organizational, or dream, teams.

    What I Didn't Like About This Book:

    As was the standard in Never Eat Alone, Ferrazzi does lots of name dropping. My eyes glassed over with all the name-dropping. Ferrazzi's message would have been much stronger and clearer without all the lip service.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    People are waiting to help you if you just ask

    In Ferrazzi's first mega best selling book, "Never Eat Alone: And Other Secrets to Success, One Relationship at a Time" he wrote the definitive reference book for building your career and creating success through networking and building relationships. "Who's Got Your Back: The Breakthrough Program to Build Deep, Trusting Relationships That Create Success--and Won't Let You Fail" is the natural next step on your road to success and fulfillment by giving you the definitive reference for becoming successful and fulfilled by building upon the power of your most important relationships - one where you deeply care about each other, hold each other accountable and kick each other in the butt when either of you need to.
    You really can't get anywhere alone and once you realize and accept that, Who's Got Your Back? will be the best guide you will ever find to making it happen.
    - Mark Goulston, M.D.
    Fast Company

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The most practical book you'll ever read!

    Keith Ferrazzi is the science of success. With Who's Got Your Back he gives us the roadmap in how to failproof our goals in this new economy.

    Ferrazzi doesn't discriminate any age group. His ease in writing style appeals to all crowds who are willing to learn, improve and succeed.

    Ferrazzi's philosophies are the perfect compliment to globalization. He warms up the business world to make it a friendlier, productive and more successful place to be.

    Keith Ferrazzi has made his business to be sincere and sincerity to become a business!

    If you're into self improvement, ambitions, and goal keeping skills, buy Keith Ferrazzi's new book!

    -----
    I was fortunate enough to read the galley of the book. This is truly a wonderful book. Think about how a successful CEO who has achieved so much AND is willing to help you with no strings attached at all. Keith Ferrazzi is full of generosity! Why would he take time out to help us with this book? It's because Keith really cares. It means so much to me that someone else cares about my success aside from myself; that other person is Keith Ferrazzi.

    I have a strong appreciate for Keith Ferrazzi's work because I've built upon the foundation of his philosophies from "Never Eat Alone." When you read that book, you want to re-read it several times. "Never Eat Alone" is a great prelude to "Who's got your back." "Never Eat Alone" was an awakening; Keith teaches you how to connect with others in a sincere and warm way. He also motivates you to find your passion. As a young person who wants to do so much in life, be ambitious and successful, I really need to be goal oriented. "Who's got your back" truly breaks down the processes of how to make your goals and keep them. This book is key to personal development and success. This is why I call Keith Ferrazzi's "Who's got your back" as the science of success. When you read the book, you'll understand the heart and labor and research that went into creating this book.

    Turn off the television for a while. Step away from the internet and that noisy cell phone. Take some time to read this book. You won't feel vulnerable to the crises going on in the world. Instead, you'll understand how to improve yourself and become a lean-mean goal keeping person!

    Keith's books have given me hope, a boost in my emotional well being as well as my intellect. All those quirky ideas in my head can actually become dreams. Keith mentions that as long as you have a desire to improve, that's all you need to get started. When I picked up "Never Eat Alone" last summer, I felt like a failed attempt at being pre-med. I was wallowing in depression trying to figure out what the heck to do. Keith's books and GreenlightCommunity.com both helped me out a lot!!!

    The great thing about Keith's works is that you can complement it with his GreenlightCommunity.com website. Once you understand the basis of Keith's philosophies, this website will give you many opportunities to grow with like minded individuals.

    Love yourself! Make the most out of your time! Read this book! You are your most precious asset. Now get on your lotus cloud, like I did, with Keith Ferrazzi's works!

    -Sana Ahmed
    Community Ambassador: http://www.greenlightcommunity.com/profile/Sana

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Accessible manual for personal team building

    Achieving lofty personal and professional goals in life isn't easy. And, as consultant and author Keith Ferrazzi argues in this compelling team-building manual, it's nearly impossible to do alone. But find three like-minded, experienced and tough people who care about you, who tell the truth and who understand accountability, and you'll attain your goal a lot easier - whether it's losing 20 pounds, climbing to the top of the sales chart, avoiding conflict or giving up a detrimental habit like bragging. Ferrazzi details how to create a "dream team" to push you to the next stage - finding the right people, building solid relationships, setting goals and dodging pitfalls. Filled with relatable don't-do-what-I-did stories from Ferrazzi, the book makes the whole process sound easy - perhaps a bit too easy. Still, this recipe for success seems to include all the right ingredients. getAbstract suggests this persuasive book to any ambitious soul who is looking to reach the stars with the backing of a dedicated team.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    Sophomore Slump

    Whereas the first book "Never Eat Alone" was a classic (where I purchased dozens of books as gifts); this is pretty weak. Don't waste your money on this one. Unfortunately, it appears Mr. Ferrazzi's network of buddies is talking this up . . . without justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Keith Ferrazzi Teaches 9 Steps to Achieve Your Goals in Life - Business or Personal

    I believe I'm an efficient manager, but to really achieve what I want in life - to be a recognized published writer, Ferrazzi says one must search for a "dream team," a team that will provide the daily support you need to succeed with your goals. Think of three people you communicate with daily/weekly, then eliminate them, states Ferrazzi. One needs to find a strong network who will fulfill the 4 C's: commitment, comprehension, chemistry and curiosity (and diversity). This should not be a quick deduction as to who will be your lifelines while planning and writing your goals as many companies overlook the "who" in their search, but a succession of carefully planned goal setting steps. An inspiration for the meek as well as the bold business executive, Ferrazzi is truly an energizing speaker who helps every one to believe they can finally reach their goals in life. Keith Ferrazzi is on tour now, promoting his book Who's Got Your Back, sponsored by University of Phoenix who will be at the Q Arena in Cleveland, Ohio on Sept. 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    Build Your Dream Team with a Few Key Trusted Individuals Who Will Help You Succeed

    Much more than a self help book, author Keith Ferrazzi claims "Who's Got Your Back" is "the world's very first let others help you" book. According to this book, the real path to your success is not by going at it alone but rather by creating inner relationships with only a few trusted key individuals who won't let you fail, no matter what. Those who will offer encouragement, support, feedback, and more to help you achieve any small or major goal you have; those "who have your back." Upon finishing this book, I have realized that it is not enough to just read this book, but you must practice the actual principles in order to become more successful in life, in relationships, and business. This book teaches such principles like intimacy, candor, vulnerability, generosity, accountability and much more. Such chapters include how to find your "dream team" and how to make them work for you as well as how to stay the right course to achieve your chosen goals. I am looking forward to seeing Keith Ferrazzi in person, when he visits Cleveland Ohio September 10th 2009 at the Quicken Loans Arena from 6-8pm. It is a free event, so I will be sure to register on his website ahead of time. This book is so powerful and special that it should not be taken lightly; definite actions need to be taken when you have finished reading this book. What are you waiting for? Go build your dream team, and allow others help you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    Even "Independent-minded" people need a team of advisers

    If you're like me, and you take pride in your own self-sufficiency, you may find that one of your greatest strengths is also your greatest weakness. I didn't really understand this until reading Keith Ferrazzi's "Who's Got Your Back," but my colleague lent this book to me before we went to see Ferrazzi speak at the Q in Cleveland on September 10.

    I consider myself a pretty independent person, and in America, we place a lot of importance in being independent. I'd imagine that it's a great asset in just about every industry. But as this book points out, there's really no such thing of a truly self-made man or woman. Behind every successful person is a team of advisers that has offered crucial advice and guidance. This book helps you assemble your own dream team of advisers. And it shows you how you can get the most out of this team. If you're like me and not used to asking for advice, Ferrazzi lays out four key "mindsets" (generosity, vulnerability, candor and accountability) that will help you foster lasting and beneficial connections. The insights offered in each of these mindsets are great for building a rapport and relationship with just about anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    A must have for the Leadership Library

    Skip the acknowledgments or you will think everyone should have your back. Otherwise, this was an idea-provoking book. This book pooled several leadership ideas into one source. It combines a successful leadership process with relationship building for a never fail outcome. Keith's willingness to expose his own failing shows the road to accountability is possible as long as there is a good support team in place. It was truly a bright light during these stressful times of 2009.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Who's Got Your Back - Better than his 1st book, goes much deeper!

    Keith Ferrazzi, the world's most connected man, is reinventing himself with Who's Got Your Back. Once focused on how to target and connect to the 25 people you need to be more successful and get hard results from relationships, now Keith shows his softer side in finding and working with the 3 close relationships that won't let you fail.

    I like this book better than the first because it goes deeper into individual and group psychology. Why we do what we do (try to be lonely superman) and how we can develop a few relationships that will not only help drive our success, but enhance our personal happiness as well.

    Being a small business owner it is so important to have a solid support network in all stations of the workplace that can help you grow and connect with the community. Being a former corporate man though I can also see this being critical to figuring out what you want to focus your life around if you haven't already and/or finding the right guidance to navigate (or circumvent) the hierarchies and politics of big business. I saw Keith speak recently at a friend's company and he blew people away. The line to talk to him after wards was out the door.

    I definitely recommended this business/life book both for the new, more human perspective it lends (i.e. we are all human and need each others guidance and support)and the clear tactics it lays out to actually bring this perspective into your life. Easy reading too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Solid Read for People Who Are Ready to Take Positive Action & Believe in Collaboration

    For me, Ferrazzi's "Who's Got Your Back" wasn't as game changing as its predecessor, "Never Eat Alone," but it's still a very solid book that will appeal to a large vertical of professionals.

    The premise of the book is that you can't get to the top, or anywhere for that matter, relying solely on yourself and that the key to achieving your dreams comes from having "lifeline relationships."

    The book gets a little long-winded and didn't feel quite as actionable to me as I would've liked, but that could very well be because I'm very deeply embedded in this space and already practice a lot of what Keith discusses in the book on an everyday basis.

    The four mind-sets he discusses in the book should be something everyone immediately, if they haven't already, implements into their lives regardless of whether or not they choose to pursue the other insights in the book.

    Once you understand the four mindsets, Keith takes you through how to build and assemble your own dream team that will invariably help you accomplish your life's goals.

    I absolutely loved certain aspects of this book that will change the way you approach the task oriented relationships in your life. Pay special attention to long slow dinners, collaborating as opposed to compromising, and the idea of sparring to help you glean insight surrounding key decisions.

    The end of book does get more actionable, including quite a few bullet points that are worth scanning the pages and revisiting again later until you become proficient at creating the groups Keith discusses.

    If you're inspired to take positive action in your life and see the power of the collaboration, particularly with the emergence of online tools that aid this process, then chances are this book is for you.

    And as an aside, whether it's intended to be or not, this is a GREAT book for business and team leaders that really want to become better at managing their teams. There are so many subtle examples of how leaders have emphasized the four mindsets to engage their teams and help themselves become better leaders. If you're a leader who is unsure of your leadership or find that your team is increasingly frustrated or put off by your leadership style, do yourself a favor and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Fantastic Resource for Building Your Own Dream Team!

    OK, I was a fan of Keith Ferrazzi's when I read his first book, Never Eat Alone. But in his latest work, Who's Got Your Back, I've met a new soulmate! As the facilitator of several master mind groups studying various works to help us all go deeper, I see the power of the master mind at work every single day. I'm quite clear on the WHY behind relationship building. With Keith's new book, I now have a great set of HOW tools to take my groups to the next level of relationship building success.

    Keith's premise is that when you discover the power of relationships and then intentionally build your own dream team, or what he calls "lifeline relationships," you can achieve absolutely anything for yourself and your life.

    By demonstrating his four Mind-sets (Generosity, Vulnerability, Candor and Accountability) through his own stories, I learned so much about my own stories. In 2003 I discovered myself to be constitutionally unemployable and became an accidental entrepreneur, struggling at times to have any clue about what I was doing. Seeking focus while still learning and growing, I often found myself running in circles. Keith had similar struggles with his own learning which is why this book has so much meat and meaning for me.

    Entrepreneurs and business owners and parents and anyone who wants to achieve anything beyond where they currently find themselves will find value in this book. I think intuitively we know we don't want to be in this life alone; but our conditioning somewhere along the line has taught us that it's not OK to reach out.

    Keith gives us permission to be human and helps us resolve our conditioning against candor and honesty with our relationships. He even points out how sparring is a skill that can be developed and is hugely mutually beneficial to dream teams committed to each others' success. Through several case studies and stories, we see firsthand how others have integrated these ideas and the successes they are experiencing in their own personal and professional lives.

    I'm going to be using this book at the foundation for a future master mind study here in Fargo and will have more to share when we get to that point, so watch this blog for updates throughout the summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Build your trusted inner circle

    This book is about developing an inner circle of advisors who will never let you fail. This book is both inspiring and actionable - a very strong combination. I found this book to be a very reasonable and achievable approach - in other words, something I believe I can actually do. Why do I mention this? Well, when I read Keith's first book "Never Eat Alone," I was inspired but very intimidated - "Never Eat Alone" felt very compelling, but I believed Keith must be some kind of Superhero to be able to do all of the things he described in any sustained way.

    In "Who's Got Your Back," Keith shares some of his challenges and helps us see that he is Mere Mortal after all. In fact, he talks about how some of the relationship skillz he mentions in "Never Eat Alone" were missing inside his company. [I can relate - I do a much better with communication, organization, and relationship management at work than I do at home.]

    He then goes on to share how he has found 3 key people in his life that provide him with unvarnished feedback, encouragement, and input on life strategies. These are the 3 people who will not let him fail - the 3 people who have "got his back."

    Read more of my thoughts on this book, including my top 5 take aways here: http://bit.ly/whosgotyourback

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2