Customer Reviews for

Who's Looking Out for You?

Average Rating 3
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Not good at all

    I was disappointed that he had a non-christian attitude of salvation. This is straight from chapter five: 'If a human being lives a good life, holds sincere beliefs, but just happens to be a Hindu, an all-just and all-merciful God is going to set the guy on fire for eternity? I don't think so.' God is all-just, that's why he must punish wickedness, and he is all-merciful, which is why he sent his own Son (who is actually him) to pay the price. Did he not say, 'I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.' God will probably judge people who have never heard about Christ differently from us, but if you have ears to hear, you better believe, because our all-just God will pour his wrath on you throughout eternity. If O'Reilley doesn't like sermons about punishment, I guess he must not like God as much as he says he does. And of course you got all of this political nonsense clouding peoples' judgement. If you can show me a politician who will do what's best for his fellow man, and for God above all, then I would quit my job.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    224 Pages of Me, Myself and I

    Worst. Book. Ever. I cannot believe this book was a bestseller. O'Reilly writes poorly, complains often, and seems to only point fingers. If you don't like to think for yourself or form your own opinions, then you deserve to have an egomaniac like O'Reilly tell you who's looking out for you. The editors and publisher should be ashamed and embarrassed for allowing this to go to the presses.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Who's looking out for Bill?

    The great irony at issue in this book is that it's really all about Bill. If O'Reilly could fashion himself as the messiah (and Roger Ailes might be willing to produce that show), he would undoubtedly do so. While this book apparently showcases his best work, its arguments and insights are ultimately as poor as the rest of O'Reilly's verbosity. As always, Bill is a talented rhetorician and a below average thinker. Complememnt this fact with his willingness to forsake any notion of cogent analysis and lower the standard of public debate in order to champion his own celebrity, and you have one really lousy book. Conservatives should be embarrassed; this may be the best of the bunch (Coulter, Limbaugh, Savage), and its still a sham. For God's sake, change the channel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    advice for true losers

    This is more from Rubert's lil' machine. Perports to be an 'advice' book. Only advice is 'give me your money'. There must be a maket for this kind of mindless right wing dreck. The sad thing is it preys on fear of white middle class having $ taken awy and given to non-white people and others who do not know that 'Everyone in America gets what one deserves'. Save your money just get tapeloop that says 'Class wars are started with redistributed wealth' over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    What in the????

    It's strange how people can read the same thing and get totally different messages from it. I tried to read this with an open mind, but seeing as though I also try to watch his show from time to time, and all I hear from his mouth is hatred, it was difficult to read this and not think constantly that he is just pandering to make sales. Will the real Bill O'Rilley please stand up! As for his claim to No Spin, well, that too is a big misrepresentation! As a real independent, I feel safe in saying that he is by far, one of the most partisan people on the television, outisde of Sean Hannity and on the Radio, his counterpart would be none other than Rush Limbaugh, the favorite son of neocons across America! He (O'Rilley) is a conservative in independent drag! No problem in being a conservative, this is after all America, I just think he should stop hiding behind our independent label and be what he really is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    Who's Looking Out for You?

    I always read the first chapter of a book at the store, to make sure it won't be a waste of money to purchase (I always pay for worthwhile books to show my support). Given I read Franken's book at the suggestion of my pastor (I bought it after my customary review in-store) i felt compelled to read all of this book to ensure i was being fair and balanced to both men). Well, i sure as heck didn't buy this book, and gosh be darned if I don't feel cheated for even taking time away from other possible titles to read this garbage. Forget my money, i want my time back! Not only that, i actually feel dumber for having read it -- i want my time back plus change, so i can compensate by going out and rading something worthwhile to balance out the dumbness brought on me by reading the book! Seriously, I've read all of o'reilly's books and this is by far the worst. It's repetitive, and does it's readers a disservice by promoting a concept of victimhood to it's readers. Bill provides excuses for pathetic right wingers to feel sorry for themselves. I may not be a liberal, but i can at least appreciate what Franken tried to accomplish. Bill has no such luck here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    Short, right wing opinions

    Book is short 200 pages widely spaced. Very short on facts. Its mostly unsubstantiated opinion. It is no way 'fair and balanced', it is extremely right wing. Bush can do no wrong, Clinton can do no right. And don't even mention tolerance, he doesn't exhibit any in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    Conservative BS

    There's one thing that's destroying our society: conservatism. Conservatives, like Bill O'Reilly, have good points, but are very hypocritical and use attack journalism to bring others down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Who's Looking Out for You?

    Not only does O'Reilly's book fail to provide footnotes or source material, it fails to formulate some valid reason for its own publication. Is it a self-help book? Is it an expose? Is it a memoir? After tooting his own horn rather loudly in the first couple of pages, O'Reilly (using a bit of heavy-handed humor) segues into some paragraphs that purport to tell readers who is and who isn't qualified to seek help from his book. But those paragraphs are so poorly written one has to read them several times - not an auspicious beginning. The first chapter of O'Reilly's self-help, confessional, political diatribe takes on irresponsible and/or abusive parents. He offers sage advice like 'A parent who is looking out for you will make time for you if he or she possibly can.' Or 'Parents should be available at all times for emergency talks.' O'Reilly even uses an anecdote about Julio and Enrique Iglesias so that all of his 'regular' folks readers can relate (no kidding). From there, it's all downhill. In the next chapter, O'Reilly quotes rockers Hall & Oates in a (seeming) attempt to be hip while telling readers not to be selfish (O'Reilly blames our country's greediness on the '60s). Then O'Reilly proceeds to relate a story of how he terminated a work friendship because the man didn't trust him (he demanded to see the bill) and didn't want to pay half of a parking tab. Later, detailing the hardships of working on 'Inside Edition,' he complains about not getting a first-class seat when traveling, ending with 'So I endured it for five years.' O'Reilly's anecdotes about his trials and tribulations are laughable when one considers that he purports to relate to the working class. He also has the gall (or, more likely, lack of life experience) to suggest that a high-priced lawyer might have the same woes as a sanitation worker. O'Reilly relates stories about his encounters with celebrities (he hates them but feels the need to drop names over and over again), gives readers his take on religion (he doesn't like secularists and tells atheists they're wrong), debates the idea that he's a conservative, while managing to slam Clinton and give George W. Bush a pass, and more mundane and inconsequential material. What's more, O'Reilly fills nearly every chapter with plugs and self-congratulatory lines about his TV show and his previous books. At one point, O'Reilly's hubris rises to a level in which he hints that Al Gore may have lost the election because he didn't appear on 'The Factor': 'In the presidential campaign of 2000, Gore would not agree to come on 'The O'Reilly Factor,' and I believe it cost him big.' From beginning to end (when O'Reilly wraps things up with a couple of confessional chapters that are supposed to show his 'kinder, gentler' side), 'Who's Looking Out for You?' is one long, self-love fest featuring Bill O'Reilly and his ego. To be fair (and balanced), in the middle of Chapter 3, O'Reilly is on the verge of writing some truly journalistic material, then falls into rehashing conservative dogma and right-wing political spin. Sadly, after that semi-promising chapter, O'Reilly manages to dive back into an orgy of navel-gazing that would put Narcissus to shame. Looking for knowledge and guidance? Fuhgettabout it. Wondering who is looking out for you? Keep scratching your head, 'cause you won't find the answers in O'Reilly's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    More Lies From 'Inside Editions' Former Host

    Why are people buying into this man. Ask him about his 'peabody' awards to see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    The Master of Spin the No Spin

    What a horrible book. I don't recommend it as he is just plugging the network and his own biased beliefs. Kind of funny that he portrays himself as someone came from the wrong side of the tracks. The truth is quite different. Interesting to look at all the contradictions though so worth the buy just for that. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Shameless attempt to milk his fanbase

    The book has no real point. It's a bunch of random thoughts cobbled together. Nothing here is original or insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    Fake outrage=sheepfood

    Don't be fooled by the 'straight talk from the angry common man' gimmicky image O'Reilly has fashioned for himself. What you are looking at is an actor stuck in character cynically cashing in on people's frustrated naivette. Bill's angry...at what? Why does a powerful white male millionaire who never had to deal with any real struggle in life, graduated from Harvard and has the most popular 'news' show on cable have so much supposed righteous anger? It's all FAKE OUTRAGE designed to whip up the masses and boost his Jupiter-sized ego...as well as his wallet and those of Roger Ailes, billionaire Rupert and the whole Faux news propaganda machine. O'Reilly is without a doubt, a right-wing spin doctor. First of all, he does NOT represent the working class, his dad was an accountant who made more than the average person. As far as his 'independence' goes, he was a registered Republican who only changed his official voter status to independent after he was exposed via his voter registration card. He is the perfect posterboy for the 'fair and balanced' network, a neocon in moderate's clothing who touts the supposed superiority of conservative politics for an hour each night and then claims his forum is an objective 'no spin zone.' O'Reilly is not a legitimate journalist, he is an ENTERTAINER and his journalistic integrity is just as imaginary as his two peabody awards. If he's really so passionate about his crusade against these evil forces conspiring against the common man why doesn't he do any positive work for the people he supposedly represents? Look at his record, no military service, no civil service, no community programs, nothing altruistic whatsoever...just childish egotistical rants and raves from behind a desk in the million $ office of a huge media conglomerate. This book is food for naive, closed-minded sheep who can't/won't think for themselves. Shame on O'Reilly for exploiting the fears, frustration, ignorance, and misguided sense of patriotism of people to get richer. Who's looking out for you? Not Bill O'Reilly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Yeah Right

    Too bad people actually believe this guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Review, a reviewer

    Poorly documented, filled with conservative spin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    NO SPIN, NO WAY

    Bill O'Riely was completely shredded by Terry Gross on NPR. She has finally shown what type of man he is: rude, paranoid and a coward. His ranting of a left wing political and media conspiracies reminds me of Ross Poret. After listing to the 'Fresh Air' interview I made sure I heard his response on the 'Radio Factor'. I was actually thinking he was going to apologize and spin his disastrous performance but was shocked that he was still in his manic state of mind. He actually thought he did well on NPR. Its even stranger that his people around him didn't take him aside and tell him he had blown it. He was in denial the day after the taping which worries me about his mental condition. He appeared to be unbalanced and in need of psychological help. If he doesn't get help I predict he will someday be alone in a shabby hotel room yelling at invisible people. Bill, you have got to get it together. You have embarrassed yourself and the conservative movement you work for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Waste of paper

    This book is a waste of time. Full of lies and distorted truths. It's scary that people still listen to Bill O'Reilly after all the lies he's told over the years have been exposed. But I guess that's what happens when you have a lot of money -- you can say whatever you want and some idiots will believe you. Embarrassing for conservatives everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    Nothing but the same drawn-out whining

    O'Reily's works are almost indistinguishable--it's just the same whining and ranting without any factual basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Stick with the Show

    I found it dull, and his thoughts depressingly insipid when put to paper. Stay with him realtime, tv/radio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    This book is a pile of feces

    O'Reilly once again plunges into useless babble, I've had dreams that are more founded in reality than any word in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2