Customer Reviews for

Who's Looking Out for You?

Average Rating 3
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    To the review below me

    So what are you saying? Are you saying that it's that person's fault for not being Christian? What if they didn't have the chance to hear the message of Christianity? Is it their fault then? I don't think that God would condemn someone who has lived a good life just because they weren't baptized. He's perfectly just and fair, so how would condemning someone who lived righteously just because they were Hindu be just or fair?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Not good at all

    I was disappointed that he had a non-christian attitude of salvation. This is straight from chapter five: 'If a human being lives a good life, holds sincere beliefs, but just happens to be a Hindu, an all-just and all-merciful God is going to set the guy on fire for eternity? I don't think so.' God is all-just, that's why he must punish wickedness, and he is all-merciful, which is why he sent his own Son (who is actually him) to pay the price. Did he not say, 'I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.' God will probably judge people who have never heard about Christ differently from us, but if you have ears to hear, you better believe, because our all-just God will pour his wrath on you throughout eternity. If O'Reilley doesn't like sermons about punishment, I guess he must not like God as much as he says he does. And of course you got all of this political nonsense clouding peoples' judgement. If you can show me a politician who will do what's best for his fellow man, and for God above all, then I would quit my job.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Non-Ideological Take on the Powerful in America

    I'd call this a must-read, even if you dislike Mr. O'Reilly for ideological reasons, or simply think he's a blowhard. This is not a conservative or liberal, Democrat or Republican book. He outlines exactly what's wrong with those who are supposed to be looking out for us -- the courts, large corporations, Presidents Bush and Clinton, and your family. It's great for discussion with friends and family, and O'Reilly adds a nice personal touch to the book by reviewing his own mistakes in life and what he has learned from them. It's a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    O'Reilly tells it like it is

    In his usual straightforward style Bill lets it all go and lowers the boom on many of those who thrive on the weak, unlightened and uninformed in our society. He names names tells it like it is. If you want to know who does not have your best interest at heart read this fabulous book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    224 Pages of Me, Myself and I

    Worst. Book. Ever. I cannot believe this book was a bestseller. O'Reilly writes poorly, complains often, and seems to only point fingers. If you don't like to think for yourself or form your own opinions, then you deserve to have an egomaniac like O'Reilly tell you who's looking out for you. The editors and publisher should be ashamed and embarrassed for allowing this to go to the presses.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    Awesome

    Mr. O'Reilly points out the facts without an idealogical bias, just the way it should be. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to know the truth about the corruption in America, and anyone who believes in God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    Disappointing

    The book should be called Who's Not Looking Out For You instead, as it points out several of those groups that O'Reilly feels are not best representing the interests of the American people. O'Reilly targets his usual 'victims': the Clintons; the liberal media; and society's cultural icons, like rappers. He supports his opinions with hard-to-verify statistics (no footnotes or endnotes), and he uses limited personal experiences to make broader generalizations that he believes to be representative of American society. For a two-time Emmy Award winner and a graduate of the JFK School at Harvard, the research and writing of this book is unimpressive and uninspiring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    Looking out for us!

    Bill O'Reilly analyzes people in power and determines it they have the general public¿s interest at heart. He presents two sides of the debate and lets the reader determine which side has the best argument. The facts are given and the outcome is a logical one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Who's looking out for Bill?

    The great irony at issue in this book is that it's really all about Bill. If O'Reilly could fashion himself as the messiah (and Roger Ailes might be willing to produce that show), he would undoubtedly do so. While this book apparently showcases his best work, its arguments and insights are ultimately as poor as the rest of O'Reilly's verbosity. As always, Bill is a talented rhetorician and a below average thinker. Complememnt this fact with his willingness to forsake any notion of cogent analysis and lower the standard of public debate in order to champion his own celebrity, and you have one really lousy book. Conservatives should be embarrassed; this may be the best of the bunch (Coulter, Limbaugh, Savage), and its still a sham. For God's sake, change the channel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Refreshing!

    I enjoyed the entire book for it's honesty and clarity. Like O'Reilly's 'No Spin Zone', his book cuts straight to the chase backed by facts. Those of us who enjoy Bill O'Reilly do so because he stands on his convictions which are based on facts. Read this book and you will begin to wonder about our apathy. Thank you Bill O'Reilly - - keep up the good work. You help give the apathetic a voice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Who to Trust? A Timely Book, Must Read

    When 911 happened, American began to really pull together, a sense of 'one nation' began to surface again, it felt nice. But the cry of civil unrest via the libeal politicians running for president, (too early), teaching us disrespect is okay, low blows, spins etc are okay, (and they are leaders?) So unity & healing took back seat while many still had open wounds and fears. O'Reilly mentions those in our lives, those around us .. and he helps us ask ourselves the question of 'who's looking out' for us... This is a good solid book of advice for BOTH parties, good for America. It would be nice if this book was read by all, but the left seem to jump on the book reviews w/ conservative writers (or even those who are not one or the other as Bill O'Reilly), who threathen them, don't see things as they demand we do (or call us names)... parrots who are told that this author is all bad, all right wing... So, they jump in the reviews slandering and dogging a book, when it is so apparent that A. They did not read the book.. B. They did not know what was in the book and C. They more than likely cannot read a book or have not cover to cover. (see: 'bob jenkins, a professor of math, December 23, 2003' or 'James, book lover in Baltimore' and others, some using the exact sentances and/or spell the same mispelled words wrong. It's sad. This book is a good read for all Americans who are more interested in the truth, the knowledge and then the safety that will come to them after they are done ... PS I hope too that bill does outsell the book of hillary's... she has really nothing to offer in her book, except to paint some pictures that she wants to for her 'image' -and she did not even write most of the book, had ghost writers.. she accomplished nothing except to show woman that it is better to stay with a playboy with fears and hang ups and affairs since pre-white house... than to drop your political edge ... especially if you want to be president one day and have really got no remarkable things to say about accomplishments.. that vs. Bill, who clearly shows that he does care, his program does too and he is a man who stands by his believes... he has conviction, (is that a word you don't understand you folk who claim to read, the liberal vanilla doggers? Okay, here: He has morals... Oh, you don't get that word either huh, okay, He has values... no, still don't know the words... shoot.. okay, 'He has good stuff in him that he really thinks is nice and so do nice Americans who care about people and want to know the truth and take care of their families... and they say the nice stuff, even when it is not popular, what ever party, he is nice and plays nice in this book' How is that ya scholars you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    advice for true losers

    This is more from Rubert's lil' machine. Perports to be an 'advice' book. Only advice is 'give me your money'. There must be a maket for this kind of mindless right wing dreck. The sad thing is it preys on fear of white middle class having $ taken awy and given to non-white people and others who do not know that 'Everyone in America gets what one deserves'. Save your money just get tapeloop that says 'Class wars are started with redistributed wealth' over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    OUTSTANDING and HONEST

    This man tells it like it is. He doesn't cater to anyone and if you have it coming he will give it to you. Hats off to you Bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Political extremists will hate this book.

    O'Reilly is a true 'independent' who invariably irritates the extremist elements in all political camps. He pays deference to truth and fairness rather than practicing the art of idolotry and venomous personal attack. A truly open-minded reader will benefit from reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Can you handle the truth?

    This an excellent book and a very good example of what you will find if you watch the O'Reilly Factor on FOX News. Bill has a way of unfolding some disturbing truths concerning our society while still entertaining us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    What in the????

    It's strange how people can read the same thing and get totally different messages from it. I tried to read this with an open mind, but seeing as though I also try to watch his show from time to time, and all I hear from his mouth is hatred, it was difficult to read this and not think constantly that he is just pandering to make sales. Will the real Bill O'Rilley please stand up! As for his claim to No Spin, well, that too is a big misrepresentation! As a real independent, I feel safe in saying that he is by far, one of the most partisan people on the television, outisde of Sean Hannity and on the Radio, his counterpart would be none other than Rush Limbaugh, the favorite son of neocons across America! He (O'Rilley) is a conservative in independent drag! No problem in being a conservative, this is after all America, I just think he should stop hiding behind our independent label and be what he really is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    What's the big deal?

    I thought this guy was supposed to be so important and had something really big to say and that's why he's got a book out now but stupid me I bought and read this thing while my wife was shopping at the mall and it just seems like it's no big deal. It's like listening to my grandpa complain about the news.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    'A refresher course'

    This is for anyone who does not regularly watch or listen to Bill O'Reilly. He reiterates much of what he talks about on radio and t.v. This could be a good start for those who do not know much about him. I liked his first two installments better. He does make good points and offers debatable topics that are relevant to our well-being and quality of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Common Sense for Responsible Adults

    Great book.No holds bar.Reality and truth be told.Fan or foe, its hard not to compliment this man's good intentions.This is a decent man.Others point at failings without solutions.Mr.O'Reilly is separate because he has the courage to offer solutions.Thanks, Bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    THANKS BILL!

    O'Reilly has done it again. He has written another great book. It fells good to have someone expose the truth. I am sick of slanted news coverage and all the liberal news media. O'Reilly calls it like it is and exposes things that most media outlets wouldn't touch. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5