Customer Reviews for

Why America Slept: The Failure to Prevent 9/11

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    Sad for America

    This book gets one star from me because the system wouldn't allow less... although as a writer, I must say that this writer should be more into fiction!!! The writing was 'dramatic' and generally good. If only it didn't portray this tripe as being true!!! As I've read from a few other reviewers, this book is an unconvincing attempt at shifting the blame from the standing appointed-not-elected presidency in favor of blaming Clinton - the republican's favorite target (if they didn't have this easy target, they would have to blame their own party for all of their failures - God forbid!). I guess this 'blame Clinton' theory goes along with one of the republican's favorite concepts known as 'trickle down', but in the real world, it doesn't work that way. Clinton, during his presidency, made several efforts to stop bin Laden rather than giving this murderer's entire family a free pass out of the country in the immediate days that followed the 9/11 tragedy, as did Bush. As much as republicans want to rewrite history, it's not possible (something like how Fox News can't make themselves 'fair and balanced' simply by using the words). As an American, I make it my business to know what's going on and not mindlessly follow a leader - especially an oil mogul/baseball team owner like 'W' who was on an extended vacation directly before the attacks even though he knew of the threats to our country. It's so sad that anyone could even possibly conceive that this was Bill Clinton's fault, but it just goes to show how sick our country has become - that we will follow an administration simply because of the name on it (a name consistently attached in a positive light with terrorists!). Wake up, people. The Bush administration and the destructive republican mindset are killing our country! We're looking directly into the face of totalitarianism, and its true name is Bush. Don't let them take away our democratic way of life - vote this Stalin-like regime out of office before they destroy what our country is supposed to be all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    Well Done!

    Posner really did it this time. The truth he reveals will chill you to the core. Every American should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    The Finest!

    Everything is right about this latest tour de force by investigative reporter Posner. This man incredibly considers and documents all details to a degree of perfection I am unaccustomed to encountering, even in non fiction. Once you read and digest this stunning revelation about al-Qaeda deceit and American intelligence failures, PARTICULARLY under the useless Clinton administration, you will have to come to two conclusions: 1) anyone who is against the Patriot Act is an unread fool and 2) Bill Clinton has the blood of 3000 Americans on his hands for eternity. Mostly, this book will remind you why freedom isn't free and why we cannot afford to live in a liberal, Pollyanna-ish world any longer. The Islamic radicals are real, crazed and must be defeated if decent people are to survive. You will either come to these conclusions or will probably be doomed. There is no longer an escapist middle ground for peaceniks, any more than there was for Jews facing Nazis. Sad, but forewarned is forearmed! My only mild suggestion is that the title would be more accurate if Posner used the word 'How' rather than 'Why'. Or maybe both. Bureaucratic fear of political correctness and offended sensibilities of lefty liberals is as much an explanation of why too many lifer bureaucrats and spineless political appointees did less than their best when only the best would save the souls of all those victims in New York, Pennsylvania and Washington, DC. If you've ever read 'At Dawn We Slept' or any book about the Pearl Harbor attack, you will be struck by the horrific parallels. Democracies are foolishly trusting entities and it seems we always have to pay a terrible price to remind us of reality. Unfortunately, too many are already wimping out from the job that remains to be done. This is what makes this book by Gerald Posner all the more important. You will have no more doubts once you truly digest the facts it's superior research contains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Disinformation??

    This book is not disinformation. It shows the disbelievers that the inability of the Clinton administration to take a stance against terrorist organizations caused the buildup of what eventually became 9/11. It also shows that we must always keep our eyes open, that the 'information' we are spoon fed by some media outlets is not completely true and that our friends may not be what they appear. This book also goes to show that some of the military spending that some people complain about is actually helping our National Security.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2003

    A fact laden account of events surrounding 9/11

    Read this book along with both of Robert Baer's books (Sleeping With The Devil, and See No Evil) And you'll be blown away by the facts that point to a seemingly neglectful and incompetent government that failed, despite numerous warnings, to protect the thousands of people that perished on 9/11. I only wish that FBI agent Coleen Rowley had been taken seriously when she attempted to alert the government of the impending attacks. Shocking to say the least, Mr. Posner's book provides some of the missing pieces that were censored (by the CIA) out of Mr. Baer's books. READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Required Reading

    This book should be required reading for every American if for no other reason than to gain some awarness of what has been happening in this country over the past two decades, how those events led directly to the tragedy of 9/11 and how much needs to be changed if we are to survive as a nation and keep history from repeating itself. In this case, ignorance is certainly not bliss. It is no wonder that there were those who tried to stop the publication of 'Why America Slept'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    A Red Herring?!

    The confoundingly selective content of this book leads me to believe it was written as a disinformation tool to help shift the blame for 911 away from the Bush administration. On the other hand, if you believe that Lee Harvey Oswald killed JFK with that famous single Magic Bullet (the case for which was made by Mr. Posner in his earlier work, 'Case Closed'), you'll LOVE this book. I give it two stars despite the content because the actual writing is engaging. I give it no more than two stars, however, because it is, in my view, essentially an unconvincing snow job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Essential reading!

    Read this book, and the books by Robert Baer, Dore Gold and Christopher Catherwood and you will have read all you need to know about why 9/11 happened and how we can prevent another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    a nice try to shift the blame of the bush admin to FBI and CIA

    the book just tried to take away the failure of Bush administration and tried to blame in on CIA and FBI. this book also failed to anwer the core question--why it happend? what government policies are making foreign terrorists aggravated about USA. if this question is not anwered, there could be lot more failure and America may sleep more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    An essential reading book for today

    Reading this book is 100% essential in today's strife-torn world - if we are ever to prevent another 9/11 from happening, we must learn the lessons of what went wrong in 2001. This book is more than helpful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1