Customer Reviews for

Why Are You Atheists So Angry?: 99 Things That Piss Off the Godless

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great overview of the topic

Greta Christina gives us the reasons that atheists are angry, and shows us that anger is constructive. Her anger isn't that portrayed by the mainstream media as frothing, unhinged, irrational spittle-flecked rantings; it is the measured, eloquent, patient, eminently jus...
Greta Christina gives us the reasons that atheists are angry, and shows us that anger is constructive. Her anger isn't that portrayed by the mainstream media as frothing, unhinged, irrational spittle-flecked rantings; it is the measured, eloquent, patient, eminently justifiable anger of an Erin Brokovitch, Ida B Wells, or Susan B Anthony.

posted by VerbivoreTX on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

From a 13 year old girl...

I stopped thinking that god was real quite a long time ago... i was raised in a religious family and was taught to never speak against god or his word. Then the abuse started. I would pray to god to make it end. To take away the bad memories. Yet he never did. Maybe if...
I stopped thinking that god was real quite a long time ago... i was raised in a religious family and was taught to never speak against god or his word. Then the abuse started. I would pray to god to make it end. To take away the bad memories. Yet he never did. Maybe if god was real he wouldnt have let our world become such a foul place...

posted by 10006508 on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Great overview of the topic

    Greta Christina gives us the reasons that atheists are angry, and shows us that anger is constructive. Her anger isn't that portrayed by the mainstream media as frothing, unhinged, irrational spittle-flecked rantings; it is the measured, eloquent, patient, eminently justifiable anger of an Erin Brokovitch, Ida B Wells, or Susan B Anthony.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Phenominal, and a quick read too!!

    Always enjoy what Christina has to say and this book didn't disappoint. Conversational tone makes the pages fly by and gets her message across well. A very important message too.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    A well-written, lucid book which covers the atheist experience very broadly. Her arguments are easy to follow and will give more than a few believers pause to think - a lot of pause.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    From a 13 year old girl...

    I stopped thinking that god was real quite a long time ago... i was raised in a religious family and was taught to never speak against god or his word. Then the abuse started. I would pray to god to make it end. To take away the bad memories. Yet he never did. Maybe if god was real he wouldnt have let our world become such a foul place...

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Good read

    Greta has a very engaging style of writing, and she does a very good job of representing a great number of the godless. It would be my wish for all religious people to read this but then I realize that the idea of reading something contrary to their rigion is appaling... Oh well, I recommend it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Excellent read. A must for theists and atheists alike.

    She truly captures what atheists have been trying to do for years now. She brings up opposing aurguments and gives valid reasons against that claim and why it falls short of proof or evidence for the existence of god.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very well written book with chapters about why religion has been

    Very well written book with chapters about why religion has been destructive. But what I found particularly helpful were the chapters addressing moderate and progressive religions, New Age religions, people who are "spiritual, but not religious", and ecumenicalism and interfaith efforts. Greta Christina points out why all of these perspectives are ultimately destructive since they implicitly endorse illogical thinking. She strongly advocates for rational thinking and scientific analysis that discards ideas that do not hold up to close scrutiny. She also strongly advocates for an ethical morality based on our human traditions of compassion and love towards others. I found her arguments very convincing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Stick with Hitchens and Dawkins

    I'm not saying that religion should be outlawed; I'm just saying we'd all be better off without it. This could have been the sub-sub-title. And Christina is not just talking about organized religion, she actually has a chapter titled "Yes, This Means You: "Spiritual but Not Religious." So according to her, even being spiritual is harmful and makes her angry. Yes, you read that correctly- spirituality makes her angry. And talk about repetition. And talk about repetition. Reality check! Let's just say there is an abundance of recycled arguments. The book would have been shorter, and more enjoyable, if she had labeled the arguments and wrote, "Insert position A here." Something else that is completely lacking- footnotes and sources. Christina makes assertions such as, "Moderate religion is in the minority. The oppressive, intolerant, reality-denying forms of religion are far more common, and far better at perpetuating themselves," but then doesn't provide statistics to back her claim or her source of information. There's a reason God invented footnotes. I would like to comment on her arguments, which did have a little affect on the rating. Christina frequently resorts to the same flawed logic- God doesn't exist because religion is messed up, diminishing, inconsistent, etc. And it amazes me how often this argument is used as if it holds any water. Newsflash- pointing out the inconsistencies in the Bible or the flaws of religion does not prove God does not exist. I am surprised that so few recognize this flawed logic. And since most of this book concentrates on religion and the Bible, it pretty much invalidates a good portion of her arguments against the existence of God. Religion and the existence of God are not interchangeable, yet that is exactly what Christina does. In all fairness, she is not the only one; It is still no excuse. Then she tries to simplify things for those of us who are just too dense to understand her intellectual arguments, by making an analogy to Santa. It is one of the absolute worst analogies I have ever heard. In fact, it is the first time I have heard this argument and I understand why. It's embarrassingly awful. To be fair, I guess I should comment on what I did like about Why Are You Atheists So Angry. I did enjoy the Project Runway line. I like that it is an equal opportunity complaint; even Buddhism is not safe. I like the long list of the resources and books at the end. I like the idea; it was a good one. And the thing I like most about this book is the following quote, which is also one of my favorite quotes of all time (thanks for that Christina, along with the laugh): "It’s one gigantic mutual admiration society." She's talking about atheism, right? I just couldn't resist. I feel cheated. I wanted succinct, intelligent points. I didn't want whining. I was even interested in how she proposes atheists attempt to convert believers. What I felt I got was a book that should have been 100 pages and ended up with 80 pages of filler because the editor said it was too short. I would have preferred short. Even though I think Christina botched the execution, she had a few really good points in Why Are You Atheists So Angry. So she gets a couple of stars for that, for the initial idea and for providing me with another quote to add to my list of all time favorites. Despite these two stars, I will recommend that readers continue to focus on Hitchens and

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Excellent Respose...

    ...to an oft asked question. The conversational and informal styles makes for a quick and engaging read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    I loved this book. Christina is brilliant and articulate. She kn

    I loved this book. Christina is brilliant and articulate. She knows her subject inside and out and is a great writer. I so appreciate all the wonderful resources listed throughout and at the end of the book. I would also recommend The Blind Watchmaker and The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    For both non-believers and believers

    Greta Christina makes a great case for non-belief and why we should care. One nice feature of the tablet edition are the many links to sources.
    Great read - I also recommend her blog and other writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Small minded

    I read a LOT of atheist and spiritual material. Out of hundreds of books, this is one of maybe three that I would throw away. I don't think I've ever encountered a smaller know-it-all mind ANYWHERE. The only good part: this book makes me glad that I can think, and have an open mind.

    This world would be devoid of facts if it contained more tiny closed minds like the author's. At least she sounds happy in her ultra narrrow "reality". Oops, no, actually she doesn't. No wonder she's so angry!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Pure projection

    Actually the angriest people in the world are so-called Christians. As a whole they are rude, cruel, ignorant, and easily led. They have no logical reasoning skills whatsiever, which is why they are so gullible and easily lead around by the nose. This book is proof.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1