Customer Reviews for

Why Can't I Stop Eating: Recognizing, Understanding, and Overcoming Food Addiction

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Finally, a book that addresses the real problem

    This book isn't for people who just occasionally binge or overeat - it is for people who are seriously addicted to food. This is the first book I have ever read about overeating that actually recognizes it as an addiction. While other people may overeat occasionally, true food addicts cannot stop themselves from eating everything in sight - to the point of feeling ill, but unable to stop eating everything and everything, often missing work to stay home to eat, stealing and lying in order to eat more, etc. This book recognizes the physiological addiction to food and explains the chemical imbalances in the brain that makes it basically impossible to eat like a 'normal' person. I actually started crying reading the first chapter, because this book FINALLY understands exactly what I have gone through my entire life. True food addicts can't go back to eating processed carbohydrates, bread, pasta, because the seratonin imbalance in their brains trigger overeating - it isn't just about having no 'willpower' - these foods act like a drug in the brain. Just like alcoholics can't ever drink alcohol again, true food addicts with a real addiction can't just go on a fad diet and then go back to eating all the wrong stuff. This book is about a change, for life. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    Not sure it would help.

    I am a doctor who specializes in nutrition/eating programs. The format presented may be a little too simple for those struggling with large psychological issues around food. Definitely worth a try, but may be too simple of an approach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    depends on your situation...

    Here's the thing: if your problem is NOT emotional eating or an eating disorder, this book is very helpful in that it analyzes how different foods affect you, etc. HOWEVER... if you are suffering from an eating disorder or compulsive/emotional eating THIS BOOK IS NOT FOR YOU!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    Worst book ever for someone seeking help from compulsive eating

    This book is absolutely terrible if you are someone who suffers from a compulsive eating disorder. The author basically insinuates that to stop compulsive eating, you should just eat a diet that eliminates processed carbohydrates, sugar, and caffeine because those foods have an addictive nature. Um, okay. That's the same as telling a smoker to just stop smoking cigarettes because they contain an addictive substance called nicotine. If it were that easy, ever single compulsive eater would have been cured with the much more popular South Beach diet, which preaches the same thing. This book completely fails to address the intense psychological and emotional issues that are the true root of compulsive overeating. It is insulting that the author thinks that a restrictive diet plan is the answer to this painful problem-- anyone who suffers from it knows that there is no simple diet plan to solve this problem, but rather a thoughtful process of self-introspection that uncovers what is causing one to self-medicate with food. I strongly urge you to not waste your money on this awful book and instead seek help from a reliable source.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    just another restriction plan

    This book simply tells you to restrict your food and abstain from sugar, flour, caffeine, etc. This is a sure set-up for a binge for many many overeaters. Yes, they may be able to do this for a little while, but if they slip they are more likely to totally throw the towel in for the day and binge all day with that 'I will begin tomorrow' pledge. Everyone can eat 'normally', it just takes discipline and a lot of planning. And although some foods are healthy and some are unhealthy, labeling foods bad or good is usually A STEP TOWARDS AN EATING DISORDER!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    A sugar and flour addict-

    This book has accomplished for me what no other diet has and believe me, I have tried them all. It took me about three weeks not eating sugar and white flour to feel better and not have the constant cravings to eat when I am not really hungry. Both of my parents are diabetic, so the sugar and especially the carbohyrates are what elevates the blood sugar. If you have psychological issues, or a eating disorder, this might not be the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    simple talk for an complex situation

    I loved this book. she adds her own experiences into almost every page. She brakes this down so everyone can understand this overwhelming disease. I would recomend this to anyone feels domanated by food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Changed My Life...

    I have been struggling with my wieght my entire life. I have been on so many diets and have seen my weight go up and down for years. I went to the bookstore out of desperation one night after having finished yet another pint of ice cream, and found this book. It was truly a God-send to me and has changed my life so much and all for the better! This is not just another 'diet' book...the authors speak to you as a person and really get to the root of your addiction to sugar, caffiene, flour, among other things. This is the first plan I have been on that I feel completely satisfied all day, am never hungry and never feel the urge to eat any of the things I used to feel I would die without. I never thought anything would work for me, but this has and I am eternally grateful for finding this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    Lose Weight Forever

    Changing Your Life Reviewer: S. Michlin from CT The majority of Americans are overweight according to national statistics. Television, radio, and newspapers report new weight reduction diets, books, pills and shakes. Weight loss is a multi-million dollar industry and most of us who have tried some of the diet methods may have lost weight, only to gain it back, which becomes a way of life. Diets, shakes, medications, portioned meals we discover are 'quick fixes,' but they do not provide permanent results. Society has stigmatized the word 'addiction,' and many of us with weight problems are reluctant to admit we are addicted to food. Ms. Danowski's book presents medical facts, undeniable data, and we are forced to look at our eating behaviors which many of us find as 'ugly' as our overweight appearance. This book provides the rationale and the path to stop eating, to lose weight and to keep off that weight. This is not another fad; it is a sensible way to lose weight and not gain it back, by taking the steps to change our behavior. Debbie Danowski's story is real; this author is brave enough to tell the story of all who do not like what they see or how they feel, but few take the steps to change permanently. For anyone who has been disappointed with all of the marketed diet plans, anyone who wants to like himself/herself, this book can change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1