Customer Reviews for

Why Do Catholics Do That?

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Orthadox, fun and informative

This is a quick read and enjoyable. It is not a deep treaties of the mysteries of the faith but an overview of the culture and faith with enjoyable histories, culture, and lore. I highly recommend it for converts like myself.

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fell short of my expectations...

I admit I approached this book with high expectations, but it fell short none the less. As a student of religion in the academic sense I was hoping that the author would approach the subject from an academic point of view, allowing the reader the chance to unde...
I admit I approached this book with high expectations, but it fell short none the less. As a student of religion in the academic sense I was hoping that the author would approach the subject from an academic point of view, allowing the reader the chance to understand some of the customs and where they came from. Instead the author has approached the subject from a position that is clearly biased. I have no problems with anyone's religion of choice however it can be difficult when the author writes certain 'truths' according to the Church that are not supported by academic concensus. Additionally I felt that this book was much more appropriate for someone who already knew a little bit about the Catholic religion and not for someone who knew very little. You will notice that many of the reviewers that enjoyed this book said that they were Catholic (again, not stated as a reproach but as a simple fact) and I think this might have led to them following the book in a way a non-Catholic might have struggled.

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    An excellent resource for learning more about the Catholic faith

    This book is an excellent resource your parish's library or your own home library. Kevin Orlin Johnson, Ph.D. is a renowned scholar and religion columnist. In his book 'Why Do Catholics Do That?' he guides the reader through the teachings and practices of the Catholic Church. The four main sections of the book cover faith, worship, culture, and customs. Subtopics include how the Church makes laws, a short guide to the meaning of the Mass, the Rosary, Stations of the Cross, the Pope, the laity in the modern world, saints, Marian apparitions, sacramentals, etc. Dr. Johnson takes the reader on a fascinating journey to a better understanding of the rituals and symbols of the Catholic faith. Includes footnotes and an extensive suggested reading list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    Nicely written explanations of why the Church does what it does.

    Nice read, humorous, interesting and informative. Very glad I purchased this book and added it to my collection of books on religion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Fell short of my expectations...

    I admit I approached this book with high expectations, but it fell short none the less. As a student of religion in the academic sense I was hoping that the author would approach the subject from an academic point of view, allowing the reader the chance to understand some of the customs and where they came from. Instead the author has approached the subject from a position that is clearly biased. I have no problems with anyone's religion of choice however it can be difficult when the author writes certain 'truths' according to the Church that are not supported by academic concensus. Additionally I felt that this book was much more appropriate for someone who already knew a little bit about the Catholic religion and not for someone who knew very little. You will notice that many of the reviewers that enjoyed this book said that they were Catholic (again, not stated as a reproach but as a simple fact) and I think this might have led to them following the book in a way a non-Catholic might have struggled.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Orthadox, fun and informative

    This is a quick read and enjoyable. It is not a deep treaties of the mysteries of the faith but an overview of the culture and faith with enjoyable histories, culture, and lore. I highly recommend it for converts like myself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is a great book for Catholics and non-Catholics. It explains so many of the beliefs, practices, and customs of Catholics in a simple and easy to understand manner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    Demystifying the Church.

    Thank you so much for demystifying the Church in such a carefree and humourous manner which made the book such a pleasant read. I am a lover of the humanities and all that is beautiful. I was not religious, but I was drawned by the Catholic church for its beauty, elegance, and grace; its air of sophistication and the artistic flair with which it conducts its rituals. I am a lover of simple living and high thinking. I was drawn by the Church for its intellect and simplicity; its humility and the humble way in which it cares for the poor and neglected. I did not believe in any religion per se. But as a mother of a 3-year-old, I felt I needed a place of worship in an attempt to provide my son with a sense of stability and community. I bought the book in an attempt to understand the rituals of the religion I wanted to join. What I learned from the book were the answers to the questions I thought there were no answers to. I had decided to join the Church in spite of its perceived faults and out of nothing better to join. Now I am joining the Church for its authenticity and the truths that it teaches. Now, my most important goal in life is to live in a manner that is pleasing to God according to the teachings of the Catholic church.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    This is an excellent resource and starting point to do further s

    This is an excellent resource and starting point to do further study of the customs of the Catholic Church. This boook will be informative even to many cradle Catholics as to the origins of many rituals and rules of the Church.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A very good book capturing some of the essence of the Catholic Tradition and the reasoning behind the Traditions. Refutes a lot of the protestant criticisms and explains why those criticisms came about. A good synopsis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Good book

    I really enjoyed this book. Very informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2004

    Hello

    I am a Christian and I have cousins who are Catholic and I've been to their church a couple of times and they did things I didn't understand so I'm buying this book in hope that I will understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Answering Faith Questions

    Answers queston from new and old Catholics that are hard to phrase. Often we follow others in our faith journey. This book tell you why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    Now it makes more sense!

    This book provides the historical background for many Catholic practices. For instance, it explains -- clearly -- how indulgences came about and what they really are; why Church law is what it is; the role of the Pope (the position); how the Way of the Cross developed and even what is allowed at a Catholic funeral -- you might be surprised!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1