Customer Reviews for

Why Does E=mc2?: (And Why Should We Care?)

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great book but...

I thought the book was great. It really made you think about stuff that maybe a "regular guy" just doesn't get around to thinking about during his typical craziness that is life. I try to read as much science/philosophy books as I can and the chapter about life was pa...
I thought the book was great. It really made you think about stuff that maybe a "regular guy" just doesn't get around to thinking about during his typical craziness that is life. I try to read as much science/philosophy books as I can and the chapter about life was particularly fascinating.

The only thing about the book that I must say really against it (the "but" part of my headline) is that I think it might come across slightly as one of those heretical conspiracy-type books. When the author discusses things such as life on Mars and the supposed cover up/backtracking of everything it gets to sounding like its on the verge some crazy who has an ax to grind with anyone and anything. Again, this is very slight. It is NOT one of those "the CIA knows everything and we are just the sheep" type books-not even close. It does however, leave that kind of aftertaste after reading a couple of those chapters.

posted by edsword on December 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Either the equations are messed up or the symbols don't translat

Either the equations are messed up or the symbols don't translate correctly in the electronic version. The authors say they are going to explain relativity using math no more complex than the pythagorean theorum and then claim it isn't a book about "maths" whe...
Either the equations are messed up or the symbols don't translate correctly in the electronic version. The authors say they are going to explain relativity using math no more complex than the pythagorean theorum and then claim it isn't a book about "maths" when they produce a result without explaining how they got there. At a minimum there should be an appendix showing the calculation.

But that isn't the worst part. The authors add symbols without telling you what they are or where they came from. So, on p. 38, the square root of 1/ (c squared - ^ squared) becomes 1/ square root c squared ^ v squared. Huh? Where did v come from? Is it a variable, an operator, what? We don't know because the authors don't say. We know it doesn't mean velocity, because that's what ^ is defined as. Confusing enough, but then further down the same page, the square root c squared ^ v squared becomes ^squared/ c squared, again with no explanation. Thanks for the "maths" lesson guys.


posted by Ladydog on July 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    very well presented

    They did an exceptional job of presenting this complex topic in down to earth language that explained it far better than any of my physics courses in college.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Great book but...

    I thought the book was great. It really made you think about stuff that maybe a "regular guy" just doesn't get around to thinking about during his typical craziness that is life. I try to read as much science/philosophy books as I can and the chapter about life was particularly fascinating.

    The only thing about the book that I must say really against it (the "but" part of my headline) is that I think it might come across slightly as one of those heretical conspiracy-type books. When the author discusses things such as life on Mars and the supposed cover up/backtracking of everything it gets to sounding like its on the verge some crazy who has an ax to grind with anyone and anything. Again, this is very slight. It is NOT one of those "the CIA knows everything and we are just the sheep" type books-not even close. It does however, leave that kind of aftertaste after reading a couple of those chapters.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Either the equations are messed up or the symbols don't translat

    Either the equations are messed up or the symbols don't translate correctly in the electronic version. The authors say they are going to explain relativity using math no more complex than the pythagorean theorum and then claim it isn't a book about "maths" when they produce a result without explaining how they got there. At a minimum there should be an appendix showing the calculation.

    But that isn't the worst part. The authors add symbols without telling you what they are or where they came from. So, on p. 38, the square root of 1/ (c squared - ^ squared) becomes 1/ square root c squared ^ v squared. Huh? Where did v come from? Is it a variable, an operator, what? We don't know because the authors don't say. We know it doesn't mean velocity, because that's what ^ is defined as. Confusing enough, but then further down the same page, the square root c squared ^ v squared becomes ^squared/ c squared, again with no explanation. Thanks for the "maths" lesson guys.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    How sad.

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    To All

    My cousin was the eight year old boy. We were super close. I was there when he died. We were watching the race and then the bombs went off. I lost my leg, but he died. I always look back on that day, wishing it was me instead who died. I loved him so much. I know some of you think that we should forgive the bombers, for what they did was an innocent mishap, but they will never be forgiven by me. I loved my cousin. He loved me. I broke down at his funeral. My mom was mad because she was embarassed by what i did. I dont care because then everyone knew how much i love him. I sometimes wish i could go back to that day d kill those men. I wear purple everyday. People wonder why, but i do it anyway. Im glad so many people care.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    I care

    Im gonnwear purple tomorrow

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    I care...

    I have a prayer request... my teacher is going to the Eugene marathon in Oregon. I am worried that there will be another bombing...

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I care

    I think that the guy who did this is a horrible sicko ho probably just wanted to get famous fr doing it and i alo think hes some guy from korea whos trying to help his country. Not to be racist or anything....

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    I care!

    What happened was awful, it should never have happened, lets just hope it doesnt happen again, the salt lake marathon is scaring alot of people, but many chose to run just to suppirt Boston. Good luck everyone!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    I CARE

    WHAT HAPPEND IN BOSTON WAS TERRIBLE AND I LIVE ONE HOUR FROM FARGO ND AND THE FARGO MARITHON WILL BE HAPPENING SOON AND ON APRIL 10TH MY DISTENT COUSIN(AND I MEAN DISTANT)HIS GRANDMA WAS KILLED BY A CROSSBOW AND WHEN THE POLCE GOT THERE SHE WAS DEAD :(((((((((((((((((((

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I CARE.....so messed up

    Its so sad so many messed up things..... a guy came into our mall and shot 2 the same this same week........the worlds pretty messed up right now

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I CARE

    I care a ton. It's so sad. An eight year old died, the last thing he did was hug his father as he crossed the finish line :*( the women who died, her boyfriend was planning on proposing.....i feel so bad it's just so sad! (P.s. I don't own any purple but i wear a TON of blue)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I care

    I knew three people in boston. One was a little girl and she was killed. The other two are in the hospital

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    The army should SERIOUSLY take out the North Koreans' nuclear weapon.

    I'm not saying they did the bombing, but if they keep saying they're going to annihilate us, we should go in and bomb some of their stuff that they would use for a nuclear missle.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I care.

    I care because in October my homeroom teacher resigned. I care because in December, my science teacher resigned because her mom died. I care because then in January my beloved math teacher died. I care because then Newtown happened. I care because in March my Latin teacher's mother died. And then Boston Marathon bombings happened. I know how to it is to mourn. I have been mourning since December. I care. But I think it is time to stop the violence. We need strict gun and explosives control. We can carry our pocketknives on planes, but still no liquids. We need to look out for our people. The government needs to adress this topic. Write to your senators, write to the President. Anyone who agrees, put this sign somewhere: +. (@,+)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    I CARE!!!!

    I didn't know anyone in Boston, but I am praying for the dead and wounded. Also, their families. I am glad that they killed one of the brothers that set the bombs off. And guess what? While his brother was trying to get away, he ran over his dead brother's body in a car!!! LOL ~Elie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    I care and to below

    Some of my parents friends were there but they are fine. What happened was that some guys put bombs near the finish line of the boston marathon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    To annomous

    True in the bible jesus forgives the people who are crucifying him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I CARE ENOUGH TO POST HERE@@@

    I think its terrible that all those people died when the bombers came to boston. But think about what this is showing us. other countries hate America and we dont have a good enough security system to save all those people. We need to step up and put our foot down. There have been too many bombings in these few generations that have passed. Its time we stand up for ourselves and save the people in the future who might be affected by the bombs. Its our time to save the future!!! (Post a @ somewhere in your post if you agree)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I care

    It's so sad. I will so wear purple tommorow.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4