BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Why Dukes Say I Do

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I never miss a Manda Collins book! I'm thrilled to see that the

    I never miss a Manda Collins book! I'm thrilled to see that the beginning of her new Regency Trilogy looks just as promising as her first one. Don't miss out on this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Allison Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Allison
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Remember the movie “I Know What You Did Last Summer”? Add a Duke, a Lady, and subtract several hundred years, and you have the plot for Why Dukes Say I Do. The story opens when Lady Isabella Wharton is trying to save her younger sister from the clutches of her knife-wielding abusive husband. Having suffered abuse of her own by her (now deceased) husband, she is desperate to save her sister. Another friend is there with her gun, and somehow the Duke of Ormond is shot and falls on his knife, killing him instantly. Fast forward a year, and the dead duke’s grandmother is blackmailing Isabella into traveling to the countryside to fetch her other grandson Trevor, the new Duke of Ormond. Isabella reluctantly travels there to convince Trevor to take up his position in London, but along the way, accidents begin to happen.

    Trevor does not want to leave his home and travel to London – he is needed at his country estate by all the people depending on his leadership. So he sets out to convince Isabella that he is right where he should be. But the accidents keep happening, and now Isabella is receiving threats telling her someone knows what happened last season. Trevor finally finds out Isabella is being threatened and blackmailed and he vows to protect her.

    I enjoyed this story, although it took quite a while for Isabella and Trevor to fall in love, and even longer for them to kiss. I understand why, however, as Isabella only knew abuse and hatred from her previous husband, and it takes her a long time to trust another man. She grows to see Trevor is good, kind, and is doing the best he can to raise his two sisters.

    Trevor has his own reasons for not wanting the dukedom – his father was cut off for marrying a commoner, and banished from London to the country. He has quite a bit of anger toward his grandmother, and refuses to budge from his beloved country home. With Isabella’s help, he begins to see that he can fulfill his duties from both places.

    The author has a great voice, and her stories are always easy to read. She reaches out and grabs my attention right away, and keeps me interested through the whole story. Her point of view changes are always clear, and it’s easy to follow whose viewpoint we are seeing the story through.

    This is the first book in her “Wicked Widows” trilogy, and the ending has a definite hook – the mystery as to who is really behind the threats continues into the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Isabella, Perdita and Georgina were all in the room when Perdita

    Isabella, Perdita and Georgina were all in the room when Perdita's hubby, the cruel and evil Duke of Ormond, was shot and stabbed to death and, now over a year later, a evil unknown nemesis wants REVENGE for the Duke's untimely death!

    Lady Isabella Wharton is a woman who is finally free from her hubby's hate, fists and controlling ways. It took his death in a duel over his mistress to do it, but you should never waste GREAT LUCK! Isabella has endless choices to make now and loves every minute of it. Her sister, Perdita, is safe to find love and peace or so she thought. Her Godmama, the Dowager Duchess of Ormond (so not the fairy kind), blackmail Isabella, with her sister's hope of loving marriage, if she doesn't go to convince and maybe flirt, not seduce, her grandson, the new Duke of Ormond, into coming to London and be the Duke the Duchess wants him to be. So off to untamed English village of Nettlefield, Isabella goes.

    Trevor Carey may be the new Duke of Ormond, but he will NEVER pick up the ducal anything, since his father was banished from his family emotional and financial for marrying the woman he love, Trevor's mom. He sees no reason to go back to the cruel bosom of the family ever. He loves his sisters, Eleanor and Belinda, his tenants, his village of Nettlefield, his home and estate that his father worked with his own hands. Trevor plans to never leave his responsibilities here for London. What do they say about plans? Exactly, don't have any!

    On her way to Nettlefield House, Isabella's carriage (aka the Dowager's carriage, because if she is going to be blackmailed, she will ride in comfy style) breaks down and she and Liston, her servant, are awaiting her coachman for rescue. Trevor stops to help and overhears her chatting with Liston, in her uppity London way, and he decides to have a little fun and act like a commoner, because he is sick of all the London women looking for a favor, money or worse a hubby. Isabella thinks this man is a flirt, but she needs a ride, and she let's him help her onto his horse. Trevor think this woman is a stiff as a board because she thinks he is below her. She realizes her mistake, as they travel to his Duke home, and he gives her a speech about how he will NEVER bending to his grandmother!

    Trevor strikes a deal, if she learns about all his responsibilities, like visiting tenants and being the magistrate, he will consider going to London and to protect her sister budding romance, she agrees. Belinda and Eleanor are screaming for female guidance and help with their over protective brother and she enjoys doing girlie things and taming Trevor's protectiveness. As Isabella receives a threaten note, Trevor learn of the carriage's axle sabotage and when Trevor talks about the carriage, she spills about the note and they decide to band together to keep her safe. As Isabella follows Trevor to learn about his responsibilities, she begins to admire this gentle, gooey hearted and down to earth man. The more time Trevor spends with Isabella his imagination begins to see her in his arms, on his lips and in his bed. When they innocently touch, HELLO sparks and then they kiss, PASSION ignites between them. With the village busybodies, toe curling kisses, threats aplenty, 2 slightly scheming sisters, more nasty blackmail, unchecked passionate embraces, a creepy man for her past, a shopping trip for his sisters and a best friend for Trevor to get advice from that help these 2 crazy kids realize that maybe LOVE is afoot. Will Isabella give her heart and control over to him? How will Trevor show her that he will treasure not control her? Can their love save Isabella from the hidden evil? Can Trevor learn to relax and let his sisters be woman?

    I have read this amazing book before and the 2nd time was even better. Ms. Collins spins a good mysterious tale and her hero and heroine were great together. What Isabella needed, Trevor had and visa versa. Isabella was abuse victim, but she always had an inner strength that protected her spirit and soul. Trevor was a very UNtypical duke and man for his time. He loved every seed, tenants, servant and they were all to be respected and treasured. Trevor learned this at his Father's and I believe at his mom's example, too. Ms. Collins assembled a cast of quirky characters for the village of Nettlefield. She made them so life like that I keep planning ways in my head to embarrass and humbled Mrs. Palmer permanently. Ms. Collins does set up a lot of sexual tension and some steamy scenes, but I wanted more spark worthy episodes. Abusive relationships are a tough subject to write about and Ms. Collins gave Isabella a great support system. I know Isabella is a character from a book, but abuse victims need stories, even fictional, to give them hope and show them that light, however small, is there if they grab it. I want to THANK Ms. Collins for writing this story and giving HOPE to us all. OK, nothing with the serious stuff! Ms. Collins made me lose a few calories with this tale by having me scream at Mrs. Palmer, stabbing at a nasty meanie (don't tell my librarian please I might get a fine), making tears linked from the sisterly love flowing and I had to actually turn pages because it was in paperback, so I got to eat my pasta with no guilt. This 1st book in Ms. Collins Wicked Widow series gets my score of 4 fingers up and 7 toe and don't be jealous, but I am reading book 2 NEXT!

    This story brought to y'all via my AWESOME library!¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    Love this book, hopeful for new series

    A new twist to regency romances, 3 beautiful women abused by their husbands. The murder of a duke and the emotional torture of the women involved in his death. Ms. Collins does well with her characters, I really like Isabella and Trevor grew on me. I am looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed reading this book. With it being set back in the old


    I enjoyed reading this book. With it being set back in the old times when dukes and duchess were around. I never learned much about these times. It was very interesting to see how someone explains those times with all of the maids and servants and how they traveled in carriages and not by plane as we do now. I really liked all of the details of the book.


    It was hard to learn that Isabella was being blackmailed and by someone that was so close to her. I did not like the fact that her husband beat her so bad at times that it made her miscarry her unborn baby. I do love that Trevor fell head over heels for her from day one. I was surprised when he announced at the ball that they were going to be married after only knowing each other for a short time. This is a good romantic book for all to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WHY DUKES SAY I DO by Manda Collins is an exciting Regency Histo

    WHY DUKES SAY I DO by Manda Collins is an exciting Regency Historical Romance. #1 in the "Wicked Widows" series and what a beginning. Fast paced and filled with adventure,action, secrets, widows,scandal and seduction. Join Trevor Carey,the Duke of Ormond and Lady Isabella Wharton on a journey of passion and love. What a thrill ride of a story! Ms. Collins has done it again, with her twists and turns, her engaging, charismatic characters and her intriguing storyline. Who doesn't love a great romance filled with danger and secrets. You are left wondering who is frightening the three widows and why. Oh, did I mention the passion between Trevor and Isabella is sizzling! I can hardly wait to see who the real corrupt is and why,so bring on the next installment of the "Wicked Widows". A great read and one not to missed. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.

    RATING: 4.

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    great read

    Enjoyed book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Zoey to zoey

    Who r u?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    The story starts off with a bang, literally. We have three socie

    The story starts off with a bang, literally. We have three society ladies involved in what would be at best described as an accidental death but the incident is used to blackmail and manipulate certain characters. Lady Isabella is forced into what she considers the wilds to bring back the grandson of her godmother, Trevor, by whatever means necessary. What follows is a delightful romance between Isabella and Trevor woven with mystery and intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Zoey

    Lost wifi. Where you guys went?

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have been waiting to read the next installment from Manda ever

    I have been waiting to read the next installment from Manda ever since I’ve finished her Ugly Duckling series and this is it. This was what I have been waiting for.

    So we have the prologue starting off with a death (wasn’t sure how it was going to go from there) but it needed to start somewhere right? But yes, a death.

    (This is where Manda got her ideas for the series from. She was thinking of scary films and what not and then it hit her…wham! I know what you did last season! –Okay, yeah I stalked her at one of her blog chats and got this info from her but I needed to know, you know. I have to creep around my authors to get the good stuff out of them. I thank you very much–)

    This leads to the heroine, Isabella, being blackmailed by her godmother (yes, her very own upstart sneering godmother) to set against her to travel to Yorkshire to retrieve (more like seduce) the new Duke, the hero, Trevor, to come to London and hold his position to the family (and be controlled by the godmother, which is his grandmother).

    There were lots of things that happened in this story. It was rather a slow start to the story but it was an okay pace. The story of a blackmailer began to appear the second Isabella arrived in town which I thought was a great plot to move the relationship between the two along.

    Isabella thinking Trevor a mere country man got a surprise of her life when she meets him and finds that he actually lives in a very comfortable life. Trevor also finds Isabella enticing and very well knowledgeable in politics and other likes. Both characters were very likable and have flaws but also demons they had to over come. I also loved seeing them change throughout the story and see them come to trust and believe in each other as they come to know one another better during their acquaintance.

    I definitely loved Eleanor and Belinda, sisters of the Duke! They were so sweet and naive at times and so lovable I wanted them as my very own friends! Eleanor, at seventeen is very sweet, gentle, soft spoken and kind girl who want to be a young woman and ready for her debut. While Belinda, at thirteen was wild, out spoken, curious, opinionated and is a playful child who loved the country and never wants to leave.

    Trevor is very protective brother and I understood him so well on that front because, well, they’re his sisters and they will forever be children to him. I found it very sweet that he never want them to grow up and when Isabella came into their lives and started dressing Eleanor in dresses proper enough for a seventeen year old girl. Trevor thew a fit! It was very touching, although absurd that he would not want his sister to look like the young woman she has become, it was very assuring that he loved her and Belinda very much to want them to stay kids under his protection forever~

    “If it were up to me she’d wear pinafores and her hair in braids for the rest of her days.” -Trevor, Duke of Ormonde. p.238

    As the relationship between Trevor and Isabella moved forward I was surprise that there wasn’t much for them to stand on for the relationship to actually process in its direction. I was kind of sad that there wasn’t more tension and attraction rays shooting off the tops of their heads at each others’ presence. It was a slow start but everything also seemed to have been forced together for them to be together in a way.

    And their first kiss scene was….not what I wanted. Though it may have been the right time there was just not enough tension for it to be a great first kiss for the two of them for me. Even if it was well into the book and well past the half point.

    But back to the story of finding the culprit who’s blackmailing and threatening Isabella. Sadly I kind of figured who that person was from the gecko. But it was still a great read figuring it out if it was other people that were popping up in the story. (Sorry if I’m giving away spoilers.)

    I did have problems with the use of character’s names. At certain points in the dialogues the names of characters would change and it confuse me like heck!

    For example, at first the character was referred to by their first name, Lucian, in every dialogue he’d spoken in the beginning of the conversation with Trevor. But then, this Blackmore entered the conversation and I was at a lost! I had to re-read the whole passage and flip back to the beginning to find this Lucian gentleman just to see his full name and title, but to also make sure I wasn’t missing another gentleman in the room hearing upon this private conversation between the two. Bold and be hold Lucian is Lord Blackmore! I was very annoyed by this I shall say.

    I was also annoyed by the characters not referring to the other character’s name. Many times when Isabella (in her own view) was in dialogue with Trevor, the Duke of Ormonde, she (or Ms. Manda) referred to him as “the Duke“. Why can’t she just simply state him as Trevor or Osmond, instead of “the Duke said” or “the Duke this or that” ? (I’m sorry if I’m being harsh but it just really bothered me as I was reading.)

    I really did really like this book beside all those problems. And I really adored the friends I found in this book! Sir Lucian Blackmore is one secondary character I can’t wait to see! a friend of Trevor, we got to see a bit of his side and he is definitely a very hero-esque character. But I’m super curious and a little bite scared of what the next books will entail for him. (His book is not next but still! We got to see a bit of his romantic interest.) I’m not so sure who will end up with who because there were so many lovable characters that I’m not sure what Ms. Manda Collins will have for each of them. (well for the third book, that is.)

    This story ends with a good ending but the culprit at large still has more victims to target so we’ll have to see what we find of him/her in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Slow

    Dissapointed! Don't waste your money. It's going on 5 days and I'm only half way in and having a hard time completing. I'm continuing only because of how much I paid for this book. It's a pity e-books are not returnable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    I am so happy to have read a book that didn't feature an "i

    I am so happy to have read a book that didn't feature an "innocent young miss" and the rakish duke. No, Isabella is far from innocent, though that's not entirely her own doing. She was married for quite some time and the story begins in a prologue wherein the Duke of Ormond (who was married to Isabella's sister) dies. He thoroughly deserved to die too. But that death scene gives the blackmailer (actually multiple blackmailers, technically, though only one was sinister) what they need to torment her throughout the book.




    Her godmother blackmails her into going to the country to collect the newly titled Duke of Ormond (who inherited because of the death). Trevor has shown no inclination to come and pick up his duties in town as the new duke, and has good reason to. His father had been essentially disowned when he married a commoner, and Trevor turned his back on the family the way they turned their backs on him.




    It's a great set up and Ms. Collins didn't disappoint with carry through. Isabella was strong, yet vulnerable too when it came to matters of the heart. Her marriage severely sucked. Trevor has good reason for his hatred of his family, though he's incredibly devoted to those he does care about, along with being very conscientious of his duty to those in his charge (the village around him that depends on him, in part, for their livelihoods and his sisters). These two people really needed each other and of course in the end, they find their way together.




    The one weak point for me in this story was the identity of the blackmailer. It seemed fairly clear in some ways (in terms of access at the right time) who the blackmailer probably was, though I didn't figure out their motivation. Not even close. That was a bit of a shocker.




    I don't believe I've read anything by Manda Collins before, but that will definitely change in the future. This was a lovely read and totally worth four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    I loved reading Manda Collins' Ugly Duckling stories, so I was r

    I loved reading Manda Collins' Ugly Duckling stories, so I was really excited to get my hands on Why Dukes Say I Do. I am happy to report that it did not disappoint! There are a lot of great books out there by a lot of great authors, but Collins really shines for the originality in her stories. Once I started reading this story I had trouble setting it down. I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book. Manda is a great storyteller. I think many boo

    I love this book. Manda is a great storyteller. I think many books are only as good as the secondary characters. I love the hero and heroine, but I also love the secondary characters. Especially Flossie  :-)  A Must read. I have all of Manda's books and can't wait for the next in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Lady Isabella Wharton, her sister and her best friend all have a secret. The know how the previous Duke of Ormond died, or rather was killed. Unfortunately Lady Isabella’s Godmother, the late Duke’s grandmother, also knows and is using the information to blackmail Isabella into bringing Trevor Casey, the new and estranged Duke of Ormond back into the family fold. But sparks soon start to fly when Isabella meets the maddening new Duke who inflames her lust as much as her anger. Soon, however, threatening notes start to arrive and it is more than her heart that is in danger as she confides in Trevor…her life may well be in peril as well.

    What a pleasant surprise this book was! I have been a little underwhelmed by Manda Collins Ugly Ducklings series, which although I enjoyed, it wasn’t anything outstanding. However, although Why Dukes Say I Do wasn’t perhaps original in story or characters it had that certain spark that made me unable to put it down as I devoured each page.

    What did stand out for me in this book was how the heroine, Isabella, changed, at first she was a bit of aloof and cold but the more you got to know her and her polite mask dropped the more I liked her and just wanted her to have a HEA. Trevor was also a great hero, I loved how he was with his younger sisters, he was so incredibly sweet and a bit clueless; it was adorable. Together they were great, maybe they didn’t have tear-your-clothes-off chemistry but they complimented each other.

    There was also an element of mystery in this book as Isabella is getting threatening notes and attempts on her life. Although I guessed early on whodunit, I liked that the mystery was two fold as we discover there be a mastermind behind the threats. I imagine this plot will follow through into the next book and I can’t wait to see what happens and find out who the ultimate villain is.

    I really enjoyed the first book in the Wicked Widows, it has started the series on a high note and I am looking forward to the next book.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Disclaimer-Manda Collins is a friend of mine-BUT, I only review

    Disclaimer-Manda Collins is a friend of mine-BUT, I only review books I love. I loved this one! I think it's Manda's best yet. Her funny voice and delightful dialogue really cut loose in this story. And, hey, it opens with a Lady of the ton wielding a knife. How could I resist that? A delightful story told in a fun, smart way. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2