Customer Reviews for

Why I Wore Lipstick to My Mastectomy

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    hopeful and healing

    I enjoyed the film, so i bought the book.it was different but in a good way.it gives me a sense of what she went through and hope in my own inner strength.i think every person should read this to understand the potential strength and courage a person can have.the phrase "I am the sky" stays with me.thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read.

    I bought this book before my best friend started going through chemo. It gave me a little inside scoop of what life would be like for her...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Great for Book Clubs!

    My book club read this & we has a wonderful discussion that had LOTS of subtopics! We talked about women's views of things, feelings, temperament, factual info, self breast exams, our local Komen Race (that had taken place the same day as our book club) & a variety of other topics.

    Geralyn told the nitty gritty of her breast cancer battle & let us see her REAL LIFE during that particularily rough time. She also wrote about her feelings, some of which were very raw & things that have gone through other people's minds but they may not have had the strength to say them out loud or share them with others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    The movie was fantastic!!!

    I haven't read the book YET. But i will, after watching the movie on Lifetime Tv I wanted to get the book, I seen the movie twice. Sarah Chalke was great for the role. I enjoyed the movie, I laughed, cried, smiled, and felt moved by the character of Geralyn lucas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    Good.

    This one was good, a few parts made me last, I read it in one sitting last night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    ALSO FOR FRIENDS AND FAMILY OF BREAST CANCER VICTIMS

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT! I RECOMMEND IT FOR ALL HAVING TO DEAL WITH BREAST CANCER; IF IT IS YOU, A FAMILY MEMBER OR A FRIEND. IT GAVE ME GREAT INSIGHT ON HOW A SOMEONE WITH BREAST CANCER MUST FEEL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    Pamela Anderson's book can't compete with Geralyn Lucas

    Geralyn Lucas manages to share her experience, strength and hope about her breast cancer diagnosis in a bold and funny way. As a breast cancer survivor, I certainly could relate to her story. I only wish I had her drive (maybe it is because I really wear lip gloss). Geralyn's book is honest, open and true. She is an inspiration and best of all; a survivor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    I laughed,I cried, I loved it.

    This is a must read. As I turned the pages I was gripped by Geralyn Lucas' ability to story tell. She takes us on her journey through a cruel diagnosis, I sense her fear, feel her pain and loved her humor. She is a gifted new writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    An incredible memoir that will inspire all

    Geralyn Lucas has written a memoir about an unbelievably painful personal experience -- her diagnosis with breast cancer at age 27 -- and has managed to write an extremely entertaining book that is uplifting and inspirational. Her writing moves seamlessly between the humor that she is able to see in parts of her situation, frank commentary on doctors and not-always-helpful family, and some of the most poignant, affecting descriptions of private fears that I have ever read. This book is not to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1