Customer Reviews for

Why Me?

Average Rating 4
( 987 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(558)

4 Star

(211)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

109 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

Tragic

This account of child abuse was so horrific that I became angry and disgusted as I read. How this woman lived to tell her story I have no idea. She is unbelievably brave and strong to relive the horrors of her childhood and to share it with the world. I could not put ...
This account of child abuse was so horrific that I became angry and disgusted as I read. How this woman lived to tell her story I have no idea. She is unbelievably brave and strong to relive the horrors of her childhood and to share it with the world. I could not put the book down, as I was so mortified by how this woman was treated by her mother and step-father.
I would recommend this book only to those who can handle the sometimes graphic descriptions of the abuse. This book is an eye-opener to what can happen behind closed doors and a wake-up call to police officials and case workers. We need to be able to recognize the red flags and realize that we all have a moral obligation to report any suspicion of child abuse or neglect.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

92 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

Wow... opened up many stuffed-away wounds.

I read this right after my Birthday and Mother's Day and, with the excepton of the animal cruelty and the infidelity, our lives parallel each other's in so many ways. I too have 2 young girls and gave my mom a chance to redeem herself during a recent visit. She treate...
I read this right after my Birthday and Mother's Day and, with the excepton of the animal cruelty and the infidelity, our lives parallel each other's in so many ways. I too have 2 young girls and gave my mom a chance to redeem herself during a recent visit. She treated them lie they had the plague and it just solidified my decision, that I had made several years ago, to keep her out of my life. I've been criticised for ripping her out of my girls' lives, but you can't survive yourself with such a toxic presence. My 7 y.o. doesn't even ask about her any more. I have a phone relationship w/my father as well, but he's stuck by my mom. "She's sick, ya know." Yeah, Dad, so am I from the abuse she bestowed and you let her bestow on me. It is what it is and my life is better for her not being IN mine. I still wait for a birthday card or call... a gift for the girls... it won't come and I've surrendered to that. I love my daddy despite his digressions of abuse but only because of his heartfelt apology that he wasn't what he should've/could've been. I can't promise it will get easier with time, but you now have the tools you need to never let yourself go to that place... that ugly, hateful place that child abuse is with your children. Hang in there and hold on for the best ride of your life being the best mom you can and will be with your children. God Bless you and your family Sarah.

Cathy Parker

posted by CathyParkerNC on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 987 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 50
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Good Read

    I bought this book and had read it within 4 hrs. I tried putting it down, but had to go right back to finish reading it. If you are a parent, or a human being, you will feel for the author. I don't know how she pulled through, but I am happy she has learned from her unfortunate experiences rather than becoming a hate-filled woman. Her mother gives new meaning to the 'crazy-cat-lady!'

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Crazy

    I read this book in 2 hours. I cannot believe the things this poor woman went through. I was so angry by the end, I was rooting for something bad to happen to the mother! That woman should be locked up!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Very brave

    This is a very brave woman. Her story is touching to say the least. I am fortunate to have never experienced the struggle, and this book reminds me to be grateful. It also reminds me to savor every second of my children's precious childhood.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Insightful and a good story

    Just makes me want to run home and cuddle my children and tell them how much a love them and how they mean the absolute world to me. Sarah is a hero she stood up to her abuser and was able to get out alive. I wish the book would have been a little longer. It read more like an article not so much like a book. Definitely worth the read though. Only 60 pages and I read it in one sitting.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great book

    Very sad but a very good book. It only took me 2 hours to finish. It was to short but other than that you must read it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Read this book!

    This book is sad and heart wrenching. It takes you to a story of how a little girl gets abuse mentally and phisically sice she was little to a grown up. This book gives gives you perspective. It makes you grateful yet sorry for what this little girl experienced.
    *tissues recommended*

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Tissues needed!!!

    So touching and so hard to read. As a mother i can not imagine how this can happen and why nobody helped this poor girl. I read it in one sitting and had a hard time holding back the tears. I do recommend reading this if nothing else than to learn warning signs to look for so this can be prevented. Such a sad story, but perfect ending!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Fantastic Book!

    I just got through reading this book and couldnt put it down! Amazing how this little girl survived the abuse....someday her mother will meet her maker....Im lost for words.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Why me ?

    This was a great book. I loved the pain she showed and made me really open my eyes and appreciate how i live me life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Heart breaking

    Once I read the sample I was hooked. Once I bought it and continued reading it I felt like crying for her. Short but touching.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Why Me?

    Good, easy, honest read. She luckily was able to overcome her sad childhood which often is not the case. I really enjoyed this!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Tragic

    I read the mixed reviews but bought the book anyways. I buy books not to be impressed with fancy words but by the story. This was a sad but believable story. Anyone who has been abused whether it be child or spousal, could understand everything the author wrote. I congratulate her for her courage and triump!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Why Me?

    Sad. Similar to A Child Called It.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    6 grader

    I think this book was pretty good. It's was hard to see a mother hurt her child like that. It's so touching you could almost feel the pain.As a 11 year old i would of tell someone about that.And get help.u

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    I am 12 years old and i don't ready like to read but when i got it book i could't stop read reading. I would read 10 pages before school and then tell my friends about the book. BUY THIS BOOK!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good book

    This is a good book but too short. I dont understand why it took so long for her to leave and why she wouldnt tell anyone what was going on.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Why me.

    This book was very moving. I cant imagine going through all of that!! I would liike to say sorry to anyone that has never felt love or anyone that has had to go through anything like what this author experienced. There is always someone you can talk to. Just be brave and speak up :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Why me

    This book was great. There were times i was mad at sarahs mom... and sad too. I cried a few times! I read this all from the time i got it until i was done! I just couldnt put it down. I totally recommend it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Amazing book!! I want to kill the mommy!! I can practically feel the pain sarah is going through! The authot did a extrordinary job with this book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Excellent book

    Great book, very tragic that she had to go through all that pain with no one to lean on. It's ashame that not one teacher could help her and that she didnt turn her crazy, psycho mom in to the authorities.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 987 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 50