Customer Reviews for

Why Men Love Bitches: From Doormat to Dreamgirl - A Woman's Guide to Holding Her Own in a Relationship

Average Rating 4.5
( 464 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(279)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Very Helpful

Some reviews suggest this book is about playing relationship "games". I just have to let people know that this is not true at all. The book investigates the psychological facts behind what really happens in a relationship. Most women, once attached, start being too nice...
Some reviews suggest this book is about playing relationship "games". I just have to let people know that this is not true at all. The book investigates the psychological facts behind what really happens in a relationship. Most women, once attached, start being too nice. They compromise when they should not and give more than what they might recieve. The problem is, guys are different. If a woman is too nice they assume they have already won her over and do not have to try any harder. That's when women become frustrated and complain because they need more, but this neediness automatically turns guys off. This book simply opens your eyes to how men view relationships and read into a woman's bahaviour. I can personally relate to the examples in the book. When I first started dating my boyfriend 3 years ago, I was busy with university and friends, and so I did not really care about where and how the relationship was going. He knew that I wasn't attached and did not have a problem breaking up if he mistreated me, so he made sure that didn't happen. But after a couple of years I started acting needy, as I complained if he didn't call or was too busy to see me all the time. As a result he started backing off. I could not understand how someone who always went out of his way to make me happy and used to insist on "forever" only, now avoids talkin about anything serious alltogether. This book helped me a lot in understanding what had went wrong, and how it could get better. It's not about playing games; it's about remembering that guys do not respond to neediness.

posted by Jessica30 on April 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE Read With Caution

There are some aspects of this book that's worth absorbing. The most important one of all is that men love women who can hold out on their own. Pretty much, a man will NEVER complete you.

But I strongly CAUTION you to NOT follow the advice of playing hard to get and...
There are some aspects of this book that's worth absorbing. The most important one of all is that men love women who can hold out on their own. Pretty much, a man will NEVER complete you.

But I strongly CAUTION you to NOT follow the advice of playing hard to get and being aloof to a potential mate. I made the HORRIBLE mistake following the rules in this book about being aloof, succinct, etc. Now, I just lost the potential of being with a great guy. If you follow all of the tips and rules of dating, then it'll be game over for you.

Really, girls, BE YOURSELF. If a man doesn't accept you for who you are, then he's not worth your time and attention.

posted by jules28JT on May 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 279 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very useful

    Sherry did her thing with this very informative book. I think that every girl and women should read this book. She open the woman eyes to things that they do and do nor realize they do. She did her research and you get to see what the men are thinking and what they are looking for. I've already recommended that a couple of my friends read this booka and they are utilizing the tools giving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    The secret is out!

    I wish this book had been written years ago. This is a 'woman's bible'. You can read it over and over again every time you start dating someone new to make sure you are his dreamgirl and not his doormat. I even started a yahoo group with the same title and all of us women discuss the book and help eachother out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    A book made after me

    My god I was shocked when I read this book, it sounded just like me, strong and indepentend. I also felt bad when the movie deliver me from Eva came out and my daughter said out loud in front of company that's my momma. This book is so good, that I will give out for xmas gifts to every woman I know. I couldn't sit this book down it blew me off my feet, and I just looked at the nice girl being my sister and I was the other way. You go girl, I will be the first to put this book out to every woman to help them learn not to be weak, this book gives them tips.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Take Control of Your Life

    A wonderful primer for anyone looking to be proactive and take control of their dating life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Couldn't have answered it better.

    The book was wonderful. I have always been the girl who was there at his beck and call, but not anymore and I can already see the difference. Way to go!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    I'm in control !!

    Where was this book 10 years ago? I would have not ever lent a man money or cook a full course meal within 1 month of dating him. But, we live and learn. And this book taught me a great deal on how to have the man you want chase you. It's been a week since I read it and my male friend is calling and reporting to me !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Why Men Love Bitches

    I came across this book on a list of books you should read in your 20's on pinterest and I'm really glad I did. I think this is a great book, and very educational. It's about loving yourself, and putting yourself first. I think this is a great book and I really think if you're reading this, buy it. You won't regret it. (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Loved!

    Very enlightening... Every women should read this book. During my read, I felt like I am the woman he's referring to, in the book. Thanks for a great read! ?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Not just another "rule" book

    This isn't one of those books that tell you that you are doing everything wrong.
    I've discovered things I was doing right and things I could do better. It has had me reflect on my past and given me personal "ah ha!" moments of why things went the way they did.
    This is a great book for someone who is looking to make better dating and relationship choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    WOW!

    WHY didn't I know about this book yearsssss ago! I LOVE my "second bible" !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    AMAZING BOOK I SWEAR!

    AMAZING BOOK I SWEAR!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is a great one! It lets you know the do's and dont's before and during a relationship. I highly recommend this book to every lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Round of Applause!!

    This is a really good book. Those that disagree will never have the quality relationship that they need and/or deserve. Most women these days will Chase a man and do all the things that men are Suppose to do!! Remember, the man is and always will be the Hunter. So let them play their position ladies. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Happy reader

    Loved this book!! It was funny and helpful!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Great

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Every woman should have this book in their library as a reference!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Sounds good

    I love to french kiss girls at my house that r 14 years old

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Great book.

    Very interesting book. When first reading this book i must admit i didnt agree with most things said but now that ive gotten through the whole book i find that its very helpful in understanding how men see women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    i love this book, shes very candid and i love how he gives real

    i love this book, shes very candid and i love how he gives real life examples. this book has tons of helpful information!!she has definetly shaped my views on dating and relationships, and now i give all my girfriends amazing advice!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    A MUST READ for women!

    This book needs to be drilled into us womens heads. In mens eyes we need to become a privilege to have. We are in a time where we need to stop bowing down to men and they need to start bowing down to US! No more throwing yourself at a man. Stand up and be YOU, do what YOU want. Man will appreciate you so much more it'll scare you! Read ma ladies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 279 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14