Customer Reviews for

Why Shoot a Butler?

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A fun classic mystery

It is an easy to read, classic 1930's genre mystery. It's a good book to curle up with ion a stormy night, or maybe a Fall weekend.

posted by MoosicPa on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

This eBook is not an enjoyable read. It is a so-so mystery. The most irritating thing is the lack of commas where needed for prepositional phrases. I had to re-read many sentences. The author has dialogue between characters and then later paraphrases a discussion be...
This eBook is not an enjoyable read. It is a so-so mystery. The most irritating thing is the lack of commas where needed for prepositional phrases. I had to re-read many sentences. The author has dialogue between characters and then later paraphrases a discussion between the main character and supporting characters when it just does not fit in.

posted by EdRTX on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    I would recommend this author.

    For the time period in which this was written (1933), this is a wonderful cozy mystery!

    Good characters, a good story and no bloody descriptions that are prevalent in a lot of today's mysteries. Some romance but there could have been a little more since Heyer is a romance author as well.

    I am not sure I would recommend this type of mystery to a fiction bookclub but I would for a mystery bookclub. A general fiction bookclub that focuses more on romance and suspense might find this slightly boring. But it is good for a suspense story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Don't bother

    This eBook is not an enjoyable read. It is a so-so mystery. The most irritating thing is the lack of commas where needed for prepositional phrases. I had to re-read many sentences. The author has dialogue between characters and then later paraphrases a discussion between the main character and supporting characters when it just does not fit in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Manor house mystery

    Murders, burglaries, hidden identities, and missing clues. Can one sharp witted barrister solve the mystery, despite friends, family, and policemen? The books I’ve read of Heyer’s in the past have been historical romances. This is the second suspense novel I’ve read of hers. I enjoyed FOOTSTEPS IN THE DARK more, but this one was still a good read. The humorous descriptions of the actions and thoughts of the characters were wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great example of why I started to read mysteries....

    I started at the age of six on Trixie Belden mysteries and soon moved on to all the old and new Nancy Drew's. Found Agatha Christie at age eleven and fell in love with English-countryside murder mysteries. Some of Agatha's had to be ordered from England as I could not find them in the States or at least could not find them in their original forms. I thought Georgette Heyer only wrote period-romance novels of which I am not a fan. However, the charm and the atmosphere and of course the mysteries of these old novels is superb! I'm buying all the mysteries in this series and they will be permanent fixtures on my library shelves.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    An Excellent Who-Done-It!

    Georgette Heyer, being one of my favorite authors, has written a guess-to-the-end treasure. She develops her characters well and spins a tale of
    suspense that I, being a person of the happy ending, can handle. I highly recommend Why Shoot A Butler?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun classic mystery

    It is an easy to read, classic 1930's genre mystery. It's a good book to curle up with ion a stormy night, or maybe a Fall weekend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An important question to ponder: Why shoot a butler?

    The main character of the book, Mr. Amberley, comments to the police that the murder of the butler is not the most interesting part of the case, and he is right! I put this in the must read category, it is a real page turner (I read it in less than 2 days!) I will not lie and say parts of it aren't easy to figure out, BUT the writing and the story are well worth it, I believe anyone would enjoy reading it in it's entirety.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2015

    Wait...

    Black butler anybody :p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2015

    Jackson

    I walk up hey change of plans im tired i have school tommorow and...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2015

    Karl

    "I honestly dont know why im here"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2015

    This book was grate

    I lovved it so mutch. I lovv this book so mutch thate I called my freind Suzee Androos and I mad her reed this book. I enjoeed it veree mush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    To The Butler

    Are you... <p> ... one /devil/ of a butler...?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    Abby

    Now where

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    Skyla

    Yelped again in deep pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2015

    Soren

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2015

    Mac

    (That's OK.) "I heard you're butler." (I dn't know what to say!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2015

    Mediocre

    I've read all of Georgette Heyer's Regency romances and most of her detective stories. This is not one of her best. Badly dated, even taking the era into account. All-knowing hero and "silly little fool" heroine (his words), aggravating even taking into account the era in which it was set and written. Some of her others detective stories are more amusing with better drawn characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2015

    Intriguing

    A round about mystery which kept me guessing until the end. Well written book and excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    In biography of author, Heyer is compared to Agatha Christie - w

    In biography of author, Heyer is compared to Agatha Christie - who is the queen of mystery. Heyer sets her mysteries in England about the same time period as Christie. That is where the resemblance ends.
    Lots of unnecessary dialog/descriptions. No real plot. Vague

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2015

    Re reviewer who mentions commas

    Had a story proofed in creative writing combined with desk top publishing. New editing has streamed lined commas and quote marks and in some diff between europe and usa

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2