Customer Reviews for

Why Shoot a Butler?

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    I would recommend this author.

    For the time period in which this was written (1933), this is a wonderful cozy mystery!

    Good characters, a good story and no bloody descriptions that are prevalent in a lot of today's mysteries. Some romance but there could have been a little more since Heyer is a romance author as well.

    I am not sure I would recommend this type of mystery to a fiction bookclub but I would for a mystery bookclub. A general fiction bookclub that focuses more on romance and suspense might find this slightly boring. But it is good for a suspense story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Manor house mystery

    Murders, burglaries, hidden identities, and missing clues. Can one sharp witted barrister solve the mystery, despite friends, family, and policemen? The books I’ve read of Heyer’s in the past have been historical romances. This is the second suspense novel I’ve read of hers. I enjoyed FOOTSTEPS IN THE DARK more, but this one was still a good read. The humorous descriptions of the actions and thoughts of the characters were wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great example of why I started to read mysteries....

    I started at the age of six on Trixie Belden mysteries and soon moved on to all the old and new Nancy Drew's. Found Agatha Christie at age eleven and fell in love with English-countryside murder mysteries. Some of Agatha's had to be ordered from England as I could not find them in the States or at least could not find them in their original forms. I thought Georgette Heyer only wrote period-romance novels of which I am not a fan. However, the charm and the atmosphere and of course the mysteries of these old novels is superb! I'm buying all the mysteries in this series and they will be permanent fixtures on my library shelves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    An Excellent Who-Done-It!

    Georgette Heyer, being one of my favorite authors, has written a guess-to-the-end treasure. She develops her characters well and spins a tale of
    suspense that I, being a person of the happy ending, can handle. I highly recommend Why Shoot A Butler?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun classic mystery

    It is an easy to read, classic 1930's genre mystery. It's a good book to curle up with ion a stormy night, or maybe a Fall weekend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An important question to ponder: Why shoot a butler?

    The main character of the book, Mr. Amberley, comments to the police that the murder of the butler is not the most interesting part of the case, and he is right! I put this in the must read category, it is a real page turner (I read it in less than 2 days!) I will not lie and say parts of it aren't easy to figure out, BUT the writing and the story are well worth it, I believe anyone would enjoy reading it in it's entirety.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Too dated

    I guess I lost patience with this book...just too dated for me (and I am NOT young).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Don't bother

    This eBook is not an enjoyable read. It is a so-so mystery. The most irritating thing is the lack of commas where needed for prepositional phrases. I had to re-read many sentences. The author has dialogue between characters and then later paraphrases a discussion between the main character and supporting characters when it just does not fit in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Delightful

    Charming characterizations, great atmospherics, colorful dialogue, kept me guessing til the end. I plan to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    New favorite author

    I enjoyed Georgette Heyer's "Why Shoot a Butler" so much that I am now in pursuit of her other works! I love her style...slow and methodical...and her characters which are so beautifully described and consistent. Ms. Heyer's writing is intelligent and witty and her story built to a satisfying crescendo!! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Mystery

    I have absolutely no experience with mysteries. None whatsoever. I have had Agatha Christie's books on my shelves for years but have never touched them even though I keep telling myself I should. I figured that if I was going to skip over Agatha I might as well start with Georgette Heyer. She is, after all, the regency author I love the most after Jane Austen.

    I was a bit apprehensive when I picked this up that I would miss some of the nuances that other readers more familiar with this type of mystery might pick up on. That was not the case. I found Why Shoot A Butler? to be a witty and funny novel. It seemed to be a satire. I loved the humor and sarcasm. It took me a few pages to catch on to the humor but I finally did. I thought that Frank Amberley and Shirley Brown were awesome characters. Their interplay was amazing and enough to keep me interested in the novel. There were also a bunch of twists and turns and surprises.

    There were points in the middle of the novel that I sort of lost interest in the story and the mystery. I found my mind wandering as I was reading. That rarely happens with me. The interest returned in the last bit of the book but I can't help but feel that the middle section of the novel was a bit weak for me. It could also be because I was reading this part of the book on the subway, during rush hour, on a Friday. This is a novel that should be read on a comfy chair, drinking a cup of hot tea and preferably, with as little noise as possible.

    The Sourcebooks edition is really great. It is a smaller edition. Almost like a little pocket paperback. The cover image is also really beautiful. Sourcebooks is doing a really great job bringing back this Georgette Heyer books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2