Customer Reviews for

Why Trust Jesus?: An Honest Look at Doubts, Plans, Hurts, Desires, Gripes, Questions, and Pleasures

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    A Must Read!!

    Having no prior familiarity with Dave Sterrett or his work, I wasn't sure what to expect from the book Why Trust Jesus. I just finished reading the book and am very pleased to report that I have become a huge fan of Sterrett and his book. Sterrett examines several key questions that one may have regarding the trustworthiness of Jesus. He does so by using a balance of personal illustrations, information gathered from from well known apologists, and scripture. The chapters are easy to understand and have a very nice flow to them. Sterrett doesn't overwhelm the reader with too much information nor does he leave them wanting for more. If you are already a believer, your faith in Jesus will grow leaps and bounds. If you are a seeker, you will come away with sufficient answers and evidence that Jesus is who says He is and that He indeed can be trusted. I highly recommend this book and will even be asking that our church consider making it available in our bookstore!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Recommended

    This book tackles the question from many angles -- in good times, in bad times, when considering history or science. It does a good job in answering the question in an accessible way. A useful help for students of apologetics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No

    No

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    It's all good is a bad idea.

    My dad died in front of me. So having the weakened, ill-defined Jesus and God that the media promotes doesn't work for me. Dave Sterrett destroys all the false reporting and ideas that get in the way of our knowing who Jesus was and is and why we should follow him as Christians. Through documented accounts of the words and deeds of Jesus from the Bible and other sources, Dave guides us to rediscover or strengthen our faith and how we should behave during our time on earth.

    Reading this book was like being in a happy Sunday school class-led by a Minister you look up to or somehow see as a big brother or father. I trust Jesus. And I trust Dave Sterrett for guidance...in this book and out there in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Honest Answers to Difficult Questions

    This concise book was written to examine and answer many of the most common questions, doubts and fears expressed by both Christians and non-believers. The author Dave maintains a great balance in his sources, using logic to reason from Scripture, history, philosophy, science, and personal experience to provide clear and relevant answers for these questions. It is also evangelical and even devotional at times. Although the book is built around these common questions, the scope is actually much further reaching. In examining these uncertainties and doubts, Dave blends an assortment of classic apologetic arguments, sample conversations, and personal antidotes that make for a very engaging reading experience, and will equip the reader to be able to apply these principles to these and other questions that sometimes occur in a wide variety of situations. We recommend this book for all levels of readers, both believers and non-believers. I believe the primary benefactors will be the doubters who are honestly searching for the truth about Christianity, and the newer Christians who would need answers to the difficult questions in order to strengthen their faith and be equipped to discuss these issues with others. The book also makes a great review and reference for experienced apologists, and the short concise chapters and the very economical price make it ideal for Bible study classes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Church Meets World: A Christian Odyssey

    When you've been steeped in philosophical atheism for as long as I have, you tend to have a sneering told-you-so attitude toward most of what organized Christianity does and says, especially when so much of what you've long suspected about the consequences of Christian anti-intellectualism and spiritual laziness has come true with a vengeance. And yet there is one sense in which life within Christian circles differs little from that among atheists. The beliefs and their objects differ radically, but the problems, principles, and struggles remain analogously the same.

    In Why Trust Jesus? Dave Sterrett, a pastor-communicator deeply entrenched in apologetics, chronicles a poignant personal journey through a universal struggle within Christianity, a struggle for its very life. Addressing real-world questions about God and Christ, belief and doubt, feelings and intellect, life and culture, tragedy and hope, Sterrett honestly confronts an epic battle of the mind writ large across the Christian world, but hashed out as it's lived through the rough-and-tumble world of opposing world views amidst the inner conflicts of our personal lives.

    The message for the reader is clear: you're not alone, the problems are universal, your doubts must be faced, the issues are resolvable, here's how it's actually done, and Jesus is still the ultimate answer.

    As a unique approach to apologetics advocacy, this work should be used as an introduction for ministers and individual Christians who are new to or unacquainted with apologetics, as well as a companion volume for introductory apologetics courses at high school, university, and seminary levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    I didn't trust Jesus... but I do now!

    Not everyone can easily 'believe without seeing'. Not everyone hears John 3:16 and instantaneously kneels. Some people, as I once was, are extremely skeptical, overly-analytical and so broken-hearted that they don't want to take the chance of trusting just to be let down- yet again. I believe sharing the Gospel of Jesus and quoting the scriptures and sharing our personal testimonies are the foundation of witnessing- but we have to be willing to go a little deeper if we are asked to do so.

    The questions Sterrett tackles in his book are questions I often found myself asking when I was wrestling with God and the acceptance of His Son, Jesus Christ. My story- long story short- was that growing up, I felt lonely and began filling the hole in my heart with everything that could only make it bigger: sex, drugs, alcohol, etc, etc. I'd often ask myself things like, "Does God really exist, and if so, where is He?" and "OK, I admit Jesus must have lived, but was He REALLY raised from the dead? Was He REALLY the Son of God?" And my favorite: "If God does exist, and if Jesus IS the Son of God- why do I have to accept Him in order to receive salvation? Isn't it mean of God to say that my good friend Sharad Jha (who is Hindu) and my other friend Kabeer (who is Muslim) are going to hell because they don't believe in Jesus? Why on earth would I want to accept the son of a god who is just that mean?" The reason that particular question is my favorite is because, spoken like a true politician, I was diverting the attention from myself and my faults and my wrongs that severely needed correction and atonement, and was shifting the attention elsewhere. I believe there is a multitude of people out there just like that. I can relate.

    I had to bow my head in prayer and say this: "God- ok, if you're real, if this is all true about you and Jesus, make this skeptic's heart a believer's heart. Because I don't understand this. I don't know how to begin to understand this. So, if you're real- show me. If this can be understood, teach me. Take my skeptical heart and make it yours." I said this little prayer, in a little church, on Easter Sunday of 2007. I was tired of wrestling. I had worn myself out. I had defeated myself at my own game. And when it came down to it, true humility was the key. I could just feel God saying, "Jessica- this isn't about Sharad Jha, or Kabeer. This is about YOU. And we have to get you right first before you can even possibly worry about them." And as the weeks went by, I was shocked to find that somehow, in a truly supernatural and very loving way, God began to open my understanding to His scriptures. Jesus really began to take life in my heart and simply put: I began to understand. For the first time in my life, I really began to see.

    I truly hope that all believers and non-believers out there will read Dave Sterrett's book, 'Why Trust Jesus?'. I hope the believer's will readily incorporate some of the knowledge in this book into their witnessing if led by the Holy Spirit to do so. I hope that the non-believers will read this book and when they stumble upon something they don't understand, and will yield to the tiniest bit of humility, and to ask God to teach them to understand what it is that they do not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended - This is a MUST read!

    When I received the book 'Why Trust Jesus?', I immediately jumped into the words that Dave Sterrett offered as he took an honest look at doubts, plans, hurts, desires, fears, questions, and pleasures. Dave Sterrett answers these tough questions with compelling evidence from Scripture and philosophy. He passionately tackles some of the toughest spiritual questions being asked by our generation. 'Why Trust Jesus?' is a MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I am glad I read this book. Dave gives many thought-provoking responses to many difficult questions about life and faith. He presents a case for accepting Jesus as absolute truth, not just one of many ways to Heaven. If you have questions, read this book, it will really make you think!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Very accessible introduction to apologetics

    This book is a short (176 pages), popular level text that's truly accessible. This speaks to the real question behind objections to Christianity: Why should I trust Jesus?

    The author has a relational writing style. He answers objections and explains reasons to believe like he's having coffee with you. He guides you through theistic arguments, the problem of evil, the evidence for the resurrection and more.

    If you're a Christian, this book will help you be a better ambassador of Jesus. It's also something for a curious non-Christian who's not looking for a sophisticated philosophical work on religious epistemology.

    The author takes scholarly material he learned from some of the best in the field and makes it accessible. You'll find personal stories and quotes from scholars like C.S. Lewis and pop culture icons like Bono make things memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    A Much Needed Book in Evangelism

    If you have a heart for evangelism, then this book will make a good addition to your library. Dave does a fantastic job of weaving his personal experience and with his educational knowledge as he tackles many of the tougher questions that come up in evangelistic conversations and situations. In handling those questions Dave provides clear and well thought out answers designed to get at the heart of the issue, but in a way that exemplifies respect and gentleness with those asking the questions. Each chapter of this book deals with a different question or objections/excuses on why a particular individual might disregard or downplay following Jesus; just take a look at the Table of Contents:

    Introduction: The Need for Transparent Trust
    Chapter 1: Why Should I Trust Jesus When There Are So Many Other Spiritual Paths?
    Chapter 2: Why Should I Trust Jesus When I'm Not Sure That a Supernatural God Is Real?
    Chapter 3: Why Should I Trust Jesus When I Have Been Let Down So Many Times?
    Chapter 4: Why Should I Trust Jesus When Life Seems to Be Going Just Fine without Him?
    Chapter 5: Why Should I Trust Jesus When All I Need to Do Is Trust Myself?
    Chapter 6: Why Should I Trust Jesus When There Is So Much Disagreement about the Identity of the "Real Jesus"?
    Chapter 7: Why Should I Trust Jesus More Than Any Other Spiritual Leader?
    Chapter 8: Why Should I Trust Jesus in the Midst of Suffering and Death?
    Chapter 9: Why Should I Trust Jesus When I Have Failed So Many Times?

    If you struggle with how to answer these questions when other people ask, of if you struggle with them in your own life, then I highly recommend picking up "Why Trust Jesus?" by Dave Sterrett. It is a short book (164 pages), but an easy read and very practical; you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Must read!!

    Why Trust Jesus by Dave Sterrett reveals truths about the charcter and nature of Jesus Christ. The book is divided into a series of chapters which focus on the very character of Christ- sharing personal struggles, disappointments and solid Biblical truths and evidence as to the resurrection and life of Christ. Both spiritual seekers and Christ followers can benefit from the arguments presented which defend the trustworthyness of Jesus.

    In my own walk with the Lord, I strive to love the Lord with all of my heart and soul, but often neglect to love Him with all of my mind as well. I have read the Bible and strive to live according to the teachings of Jesus, but do not have answers to many questions that arise. By using scripture, literary evidence and historical documents, Sterrett provides tools to the reader that aid in understanding His faithfulness. For example, one can read the Bible and share his or her faith upon personal testominies and experiences. However, Sterrett takes it one step further... explaining the faults of pantheism, problems associated with the Gnostic gospels and reliable historical facts regarding the resurrection and divine nature of Christ. Throughout the book, the character of God is revealed to be soverign and in control... no matter what circumstance may arise.

    Why Trust Jesus acknowledges and proves the truthworthy being of Christ. My favorite aspect of the book is how Sterrett incorporates both personal stories, as well as historical truths. The genuine and bold faith of the author is expressed through his writings. I am thankful for the truths revealed and explained in Why Trust Jesus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Honest answers using logic

    Dave Sterrett's book, "Why Trust Jesus?" is an incredibly valuable book for Christians and non-Christians alike.

    For Christians, "Why Trust Jesus?" forces you to think through answers to tough questions you may have been too afraid to ask. Sterrett punctuates well the idea that it is okay to question what one has been taught; in fact, asking "Why?" is healthy and transforms ideas into well rooted faith.

    For non-Christians whom are not currently seeking, "Why Trust Jesus?" gives valuable insight into the "why" behind Christianity. This will help the non-Christian to better understand the belief system held by much of the free world.

    For non-Christians whom are seeking, "Why Trust Jesus?" is an excellent resource because Sterrett provides answers to questions beyond the standard, "just have faith". He [Sterrett] dives into difficult questions with authenticity and shows the reader why Jesus is trustworthy despite any and all negative circumstances this world may bring to a person's life.

    "Why Trust Jesus?" begins with anecdotes that are easy with which to relate. Sterrett smoothly transitions into his explanations using logic. One can appreciate that Sterrett does not rely solely on the Scriptures for his reasoning. This is especially pertinent to those that do not believe in the validity or relevance of the Holy Bible to their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Questions Answered!

    I was thoroughly pleased with Dave Sterrett's newest book. He wrote it in such a way that he was able to answer a slew of questions I have always had as well as provide me with factual, logical, and some circumstantial evidence to show rational reasoning as to why believing in Christ just plain makes sense. I believe I will be most definitely be reading this book again and marking up the pages as I will likely have conversations in the future that pertain to the topics in this book. I especially enjoyed the philosophical discussions that used pure logic to argue. It speaks directly to the black and white personality that I possess. I recommend this read! And you can't beat the price!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1