BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Why We Broke Up

Average Rating 3.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

A great letter to your Ex

Why We Broke Up is the letter that everyone who's every had there heart good and truly broken dreams of writing to their ex. I had heard this in other reviews, but then experienced for myself just how wrong for each other Min and Ed really are. There is no chemistry, no...
Why We Broke Up is the letter that everyone who's every had there heart good and truly broken dreams of writing to their ex. I had heard this in other reviews, but then experienced for myself just how wrong for each other Min and Ed really are. There is no chemistry, nothing in common... I had a hard time understanding why either of them wanted to be with the other. I absolutely loved Daniel Handler's writing, his soft and highly intelligent voice of Min. Each character had a unique way of speaking that really showed their individual characters. The art was cute, with simple lines and easy colors, but wouldn't have worked any other way. So while the actual relationship between Min and Ed was horribly boring and didn't make a lot of sense, this book was still quite entertaining.

posted by ChelseaW on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Maybe the only negative review you'll see for this one.

So Daniel Handler's alter ego is Lemony Snicket which, believe it or not, explains a lot. The writing in this novel, Min's letter to Ed explaining why they broke up (I know, a total shock based on the title . . . I kid), has a lilting, lyrical quality readers will recog...
So Daniel Handler's alter ego is Lemony Snicket which, believe it or not, explains a lot. The writing in this novel, Min's letter to Ed explaining why they broke up (I know, a total shock based on the title . . . I kid), has a lilting, lyrical quality readers will recognize from the Series of Unfortunate Events books. Unfortunately, as it did in those books, the tone does more to distance readers than draw them in. The Baudelaires never felt like authentic children and Min doesn't feel like an authentic teen.

Numerous times while going through this novel I had to stop and confirm it was in fact a YA novel because the writing, the tone, even the whole premise of the story felt decidedly adult. The object-as-explanation device is similar to the box of tapes Hannah Baker leaves after her suicide in 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher. Still, even with the addition of lovely illustrations by Maira Kalman, the idea never quite works here.

Min is not very likable. Ed is very, very unlikable (I mean, Min did break up with him after all) and never feels like a character in the plot, acting more as a inanimate object in Min's story than a real part of it. And then there's Al--an innocent bystander to this relationship train wreck. (To be fair, I also couldn't get past the big-book-length-breakup production for a relationship that didn't even last two months--I mean, really?)

Novels written as letters are hard. Love, Stargirl is one that worked well drawing readers into the story and the characters. On the other hand, with her sendoff to Ed, Min pushes everyone away.

posted by MissPrint on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Glad I read.

    This book helped me come to terms with whats going on in my life and relationship even as an adult reading about a high school relationship. This is a heart warming tale of first love and first heartbreak. You really should read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    To number four was number three aka sarah is awesome

    Shut up i like love this book its so real and true if you didnt jusrt love it your loss

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Loved it

    This was an amazing book , kept me turning the pages and wanting more. The only reason why I didn't give this book 5 stars is because I wasn't satisfied with the ending , I was atleast expecting Ed's side of the story at the end so I atleast knew how he felt and what he thought. If you also loved this book and want to read another book like this, read "ten cents a dance"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    One of my favorite books!

    One of my favorite books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so very boring! i only struggled through it becaus

    This book was so very boring! i only struggled through it because it costs $20 otherwise i would've thrown it away after the first five pages. It is so very obvious that Min and Ed aren't meant to be and idiotic that they try anyway! i felt that the book was a big waste of money and this book will leave only the lasting impression that it was horrible.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    must read

    This book is good and i identfied with it a lot and it kinda confused me at first but then i started to understand. you just have to stick it out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Please read this comment.

    I read this book with the hardcopy edition, amd I found it to be a phenomenal read. It has been a long time since i read a book with pictures, and I was happy with the presentati on. When i read this book, I was struggling in a relationship and this book helped me sort out my prioritites and made me more observant to the world around me and how other people act in relationships. I feel like i was able to enjoy the story and learn a lesson, and become enticed(I read the entire book in one sitting.) I give this book five stars. It was ebertthing i needed and everything i wanted in one book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    awesome book

    It was an awesome book I loved it. It was happy then sad and funny and everything put together it was amazing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Omggg

    This book was amazing! It made me smile, laugh and cry. I hate Ed so much, and i know this is fiction but i cant help myself! Realyy great read though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    I enjoyed this book. It was nice to read a picture book again. S

    I enjoyed this book. It was nice to read a picture book again. Subject was carried out very nicely. I would recommend to anyone who is looking for an easy to read book. The characters are great - I still think about them five months after finishing the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting premise

    Minerva (Min) is sending Ed, her ex, a box full of momentos from their months together; the story is her commentary on each object and the place it had in the relationship. The audio version includes sound effects when the items are thrown into the box, which added to the story. The bottom line--they broke up because they were from completely different worlds and there was too much space between those worlds for the teens to meld together. Min is into old movies and Ed is into sports. Both are surprised that they hit it off. My main problem is the whining by Min; she doesn't own up to being the source of many of the problems when clearly, she needs to step up to the plate. More appropriate for older teens (ages 14+) due to teen drinking, language, and sex.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Wolf

    Unsheathed his sword and stabs cole in the head

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Whimsical and Heart-wrenching

    I really like this book and that it didnt go in chronological order.
    Over all it was a lovely book with a fantastic range of emothion.
    Surely a great read for any of you who like heart-wrenching endings.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2014

    Honestly, I picked this book up because I thought that the cover

    Honestly, I picked this book up because I thought that the cover was really pretty.  Then when I got home and opened it then saw all of the illustrations,
    i started to think "What the hell did I just buy?".  Why We Broke Up is a book about a girl dealing with her first real love and her experiences
    and lots of funny stories and also a lot of sad stories.  The ending was actually very unexpected for me.  I was heartbroken when I finally 
    reached the last pages.  I stayed up long nights reading this book and would wake up the next day completely exhausted and would stay like 
    like that for the rest of the day.  But it was totally worth it.  This is one of those types of books that I don't mind staying up super duper late for.  It's one of those books that is so good that I won't tell people about because i don't want them to experience how great it is,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Amazing

    This book is amazing. Although at some times I would skip the parts with min comparing everything to movies. I fell in love with her and Ed, even though I don't like ed as much anymore. This book just had me feeling like I was min and I could read it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    New favorite book

    The whole idea of this book is amazing, and the book itself is wonderful. Min and Ed's story is so real and even though you know it does not work out in the end (c'mon, the title is Why We Broke Up, of course they break up) you still wish that it will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Goof GOOD SAMPLE

    I am thinking about getting the full

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Confusing

    Sweet story line but very confusing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    I really should give this book one star, but I'm feeling generou

    I really should give this book one star, but I'm feeling generous. The whole book has you going, "Wow, Min is a total b*, what's her deal?" Honestly, Min and Ed don't even belong with each other. The ending was still so obvious, but the way it's written has you so wrapped up and annoyed with Min that you don't even care. Finally, you get to the ending and all you have left to say is, "F*** you, Ed Slaterton!" I was so incredibly pissed off by the end of this book, not only because of the ended, but because I wasted two hours reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Back in October of 2013, I was laid back in bed, thinking of pro

    Back in October of 2013, I was laid back in bed, thinking of probably something crazy when I decided to read a new book. I am a huge fan of Lemony Snicket’s novels and the man behind it. As you all might have known by now (unless you’ve been living under a rock, I don’t blame you), Lemony Snicket is none other than Daniel Handler and writes Lemony Snicket books for kids or teens, or whoever loves a pessimistically good  yet unfortunate story while as Daniel Handler, writes adult books. Why We Broke Up is one of them.
    The title is very self-explanatory. It narrates the story of a girl named Min Green, going through her break-up and explaining to her ex-boyfriend the reasons of their break-up. One thing is for sure: THIS BOOK IS ONE OF MY UTMOST FAVORITES! 
    It’s fun that Daniel is writing in the perspective of a girl, which is very challenging especially if the writer is not very good in analyzing women, or have very poor research references. But Daniel pulled off just fantastically and the story could even pass off as a woman’s. But Min Green is not a very girly-girly type, but kind of odd and even normal. And one common thing among these types of stories is that the jock falls in love with them. I thought I would hate the premise of it, but why not? She broke up with the guy anyway. So, the story is very laid-back at first, with Min giving out details of how she met Ed and people’s reaction on their relationship. But then it got intense, with her giving Ed the box of things that Ed gave her, like roses or little notes, with her explaining the story behind all of them with the reason of why she broke up with him. 
    Min is vulnerable and kind but also very smart! Ed is also kind and sweet, and loves Min, but there are just things that don’t work out in the relationship. I love Ed’s sister to be honest though she’s not really as outgoing as Ed is. Characters are very diverse too! Teenage drama is so colorful sometimes, that you cannot hide the fact that it would actually hurt. Why We Broke Up is a testament to that. 
    The writing style is funny and smart and is something for everyone to read, no matter what gender or even if you are in a relationship. You may end up considering writing your ex a letter with a box of things from him/her. It’s one, quiet piece of revenge. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7