Customer Reviews for

Why We Make Mistakes: How We Look Without Seeing, Forget Things in Seconds, and Are All Pretty Sure We Are Way Above Average

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Why We Make Mistakes, Not a Mistake to Read

I am always looking for that next good book. One where I start it and read it from cover to cover. Why We Make Mistakes was that kind of book for me. I was pulled in by concrete examples that Hallinan brings up such as how airplane pilots have checklists to make sure...
I am always looking for that next good book. One where I start it and read it from cover to cover. Why We Make Mistakes was that kind of book for me. I was pulled in by concrete examples that Hallinan brings up such as how airplane pilots have checklists to make sure they don't forget important things before takeoff, how little things like the color of a teams uniform can affect how many penalties they get in a game and such common sense items like how lack of sleep is just as bad as being intoxicated. Hallinan brings up great applications and ideas to help you prevent mistakes, such as having your wife review your writing before you submit it. I really enjoyed Why We Make Mistakes and highly recommend it.

posted by Kirk_Rendrag on March 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

Book can be summed up as follows: a: We make mistakes because we do not pay attention to what we are doing. b: Stop making mistakes by paying attention to what you are doing. I bought this book, my mistake!

posted by 1822475 on September 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Why We Make Mistakes, Not a Mistake to Read

    I am always looking for that next good book. One where I start it and read it from cover to cover. Why We Make Mistakes was that kind of book for me. I was pulled in by concrete examples that Hallinan brings up such as how airplane pilots have checklists to make sure they don't forget important things before takeoff, how little things like the color of a teams uniform can affect how many penalties they get in a game and such common sense items like how lack of sleep is just as bad as being intoxicated. Hallinan brings up great applications and ideas to help you prevent mistakes, such as having your wife review your writing before you submit it. I really enjoyed Why We Make Mistakes and highly recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Don't waste your money

    Book can be summed up as follows:

    a: We make mistakes because we do not pay attention to what we are doing.

    b: Stop making mistakes by paying attention to what you are doing.

    I bought this book, my mistake!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Understanding guide to becoming goof-proof

    A woman hanged herself in a tree on a busy street. Yet, no one reported the suicide for more than 14 hours even though her body was clearly visible. Why? Because the incident occurred on October 31st and passersby mistook the body for a Halloween decoration. This horrifying example demonstrates the way context - as well as traits that are innately human - plays a role in how people make errors. As Joseph T. Hallinan explains, human beings are biased, overconfident, judgmental, downright irrational creatures of habit who are blissfully unaware of their limitations. All these traits will cause people to make errors - some are silly, such as saying "unicorn" when you mean "unicycle," and some horrendous, such as administering the wrong dose of medicine or flying a plane into the ground. This intriguing book focuses more on why people err than on preventing errors, though it does suggest solid, useful measures. getAbstract recommends it to those who are interested in why they blunder and in how to become more goof-proof. Taking the steps Hallinan outlines could keep you out of a lot of trouble.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Great Book to help understand your self and others

    I really like books that teach and entertain at the same time and this book does it. There are many clear examples of how people react the way they do to circumstances in life. The ideas in the book are supported by examples of research through out. If you have ever made a mistake and wonder why, maybe you will find the answers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An interesting read

    The author draws from many studies and newspaper stories in writing about the flaws in human thought and perception that lead people to make mistakes. The book is very readable with footnotes and an appendix included for further reading. I thought this was an interesting book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    A Great Book

    This is just an excellent, informative book that tells you facts that you would never would have suspected. Very informative and surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2014

    Not much new....

    I felt that this was a nice compilation of observations that I had already seen in other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Nice Book

    But has a poor audio quality Wish i would of got the Audible or CD version

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Not make a mistake; read ".... Mistakes"

    This is a good explanation of why we make mistakes and how to overcome them.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3