Customer Reviews for

Why We Suck: A Feel Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Lighten Up!

Denis Leary has never been, nor will ever be, politically correct. He is not poking fun at disabled children. He is commenting on the exponential rise in autism as of late. My nephew is autistic and neither I nor his mother have taken offense at this joke because it ...
Denis Leary has never been, nor will ever be, politically correct. He is not poking fun at disabled children. He is commenting on the exponential rise in autism as of late. My nephew is autistic and neither I nor his mother have taken offense at this joke because it is simply that - a joke from a comedian. Your outrage is simply helping him to sell more books. I'm sure he's thrilled with your protest.

posted by 322354 on November 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

It's only funny until somebody gets hurt

Leary's type of humor is meant to make some people angry, so that the rest of us can make fun of them and have a good laugh. If that is your kind of humor, I'm glad you are not my neighbor, or co-worker. He wanted to shock us, okay, we're shocked. Why is he surprised th...
Leary's type of humor is meant to make some people angry, so that the rest of us can make fun of them and have a good laugh. If that is your kind of humor, I'm glad you are not my neighbor, or co-worker. He wanted to shock us, okay, we're shocked. Why is he surprised that that shock wasn't pleasant for us?

And I can't recommend anyone buy the book. In spite of his protests to the contrary, his repeating the idea that autism is over diagnosed, even jokingly, will discourage some people from seeking help for their children, or perhaps even themselves. And since the rest of the book is unremarkable in that he hasn't said anything really original, I say pass on this one. You can spend your time better doing something else, like cleaning your fingernails. I'd like to see him repeat some of the things he said about Catholics, or celebrities or whoever to their faces, and see just how funny they think it is.

But seriously, this idea of using autism as a trendy excuse for poor behaviour or performance is a new one on me. Autism runs in our family. I have 2 autistic kids, and one with Asperger's syndrome. It took teams of doctors 2 days to examine and test each one. Each examination cost close to $1000 dollars, and that was 10 years ago! Why on earth would anyone deliberately seek out a diagnosis like autism? They don't just take your word for it. Plus, every couple of years they are tested again to see if they still qualify for special services in school. If I were trying to fake it to get them some special attention, the jig would certainly be up by now!

posted by 399080 on November 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    Lighten Up!

    Denis Leary has never been, nor will ever be, politically correct. He is not poking fun at disabled children. He is commenting on the exponential rise in autism as of late. My nephew is autistic and neither I nor his mother have taken offense at this joke because it is simply that - a joke from a comedian. Your outrage is simply helping him to sell more books. I'm sure he's thrilled with your protest.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    this book delivers the goods

    If you want to hear a very uncouth but hilarious take on America this is your book. if you are faint of heart keep looking. There's some stuff i laughed at but wouldn't say myself...glad ot know there's someone out there doing it for me. the book reads fast and furious and actually made me laugh (notably the chapter about how cats suck)...but even cat lovers should be able to read this as long as they have sense of humor...i mean what would comedy be without butts of jokes...

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    Lighten UP People!!

    Did you people intentionally hunt down this book to give it a bad review? I can't wait to read it! Dr. Leary may not have the most popular views on our society, but it makes you think, doesn't it? Autism exists, that is undisputed fact, and he doesn't deny it. If parents lack the skills to educate or discipline their children, they'll use any excuse to say it's not their fault. I've seen so many potentially good and bright kids fall behind in school and act out because of bad parenting. Why don't we actually read the book, and then make an opinion about it, huh people?

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    have you people even read this?

    to the people who are flipping out about how he treats autism in the book: have you even read what he says? there was a comment taken completely out of context, which started the whole thing. watch his interview with jon stewart and see for yourself. he's ranting about how parents, whose kids are really just lazy and stupid, are actively seeking to get their kids diagnosed with autism, or any disorder for that matter, to cover for the fact that they suck as parents. im sorry that some of you have reading comprehension issues and cant see that for yourselves.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    Oh, Come on

    What Leary was saying about autism is that many incompetent parents are now SEEKING a low level autism diagnosis so that there is some excuse for their child's bad behavior....same with Asbergers. As opposed to these parents admitting that they are incapable of disciplining their kids, they are going to doctors in droves to TRY to get their kid diagnosed with autism. This is a serious problem that people need to recognize. There are children who really have this disorder, and that is being exploited by incompetent parents. This is a man who raises money for children with cancer and has done so for YEARS. I think you all need to lighten up a bit.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    It's only funny until somebody gets hurt

    Leary's type of humor is meant to make some people angry, so that the rest of us can make fun of them and have a good laugh. If that is your kind of humor, I'm glad you are not my neighbor, or co-worker. He wanted to shock us, okay, we're shocked. Why is he surprised that that shock wasn't pleasant for us?<BR/><BR/>And I can't recommend anyone buy the book. In spite of his protests to the contrary, his repeating the idea that autism is over diagnosed, even jokingly, will discourage some people from seeking help for their children, or perhaps even themselves. And since the rest of the book is unremarkable in that he hasn't said anything really original, I say pass on this one. You can spend your time better doing something else, like cleaning your fingernails. I'd like to see him repeat some of the things he said about Catholics, or celebrities or whoever to their faces, and see just how funny they think it is.<BR/> <BR/>But seriously, this idea of using autism as a trendy excuse for poor behaviour or performance is a new one on me. Autism runs in our family. I have 2 autistic kids, and one with Asperger's syndrome. It took teams of doctors 2 days to examine and test each one. Each examination cost close to $1000 dollars, and that was 10 years ago! Why on earth would anyone deliberately seek out a diagnosis like autism? They don't just take your word for it. Plus, every couple of years they are tested again to see if they still qualify for special services in school. If I were trying to fake it to get them some special attention, the jig would certainly be up by now!

    7 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Reality Check

    If you are into political correctness or faint of heart this book is not for you. If you are into honesty and think PC is a bunch of BS this book is for you. Comments about autism and related ASD's are taken out of context. Leary just tells it as it is. Remember this book is a satire. I am sure Leary doesn't in anyway mean true autism doesn't exist. It is a fact in our society that many parents are looking for excuses for the behavior of their children. In most cases they would find the answer if they took a second to look in a mirrow. Most people threatened by this book probaly have latent insecurities along with guilt. Our society, still the best in the world, has become a society of greed and entitlement which has added to the economic problems we face today. Leary's words: "This country....is populated by beings who have been so blessed for so long that they have become almost completely immune to any interests other than their own". During my forty year career in education I have seen this first hand hundreds of times. It's time we all took responsibility for our own actions and not tried to blame it on others. The best advocate we'll ever have is ourselves.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    I Ate This Book!

    I laughed so hard I almost passed out while reading Denis' mother's recipes.......<BR/>Even if you hate 90% of this book, the 10% you relate to will more than make up for it. <BR/>Dr. Leary puts it right out there, as plain in sight as your senile grandfather sitting on the front porch in his underwear.....<BR/>I'm back today ordering another copy...and I'm sure I'll be back again...there's just so many people I want to offend this year for Christmas........<BR/>A riot of a good read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    Somebody had to say it....

    Wow, people really need to lighten up and listen to what somebody else has to say because chances are, they might just know what they're talking about and may in fact be smarter than you choose to believe! I'm not saying Leary is a genius, well comedically he is, but like he says, a hard dose of in your face truth hurts, and the people that are upset by his words or who are offended really need to look at themselves and think long and hard about how screwed up they are, especially their kids. As for our country, yes, it's the best, period. With the exception of how much of a bunch of prudes most of us are. A nation founded by Puritans....that word in itself explains everything that is boring, wasted, bland, and downright unfortunate with our country! Let's get rid of these old geezers in Congress, the Senate, etc. and get lively younger people in there who will change things and make this country more respectable. Yes, Denis, we as a whole may suck, but the handful of us that may agree with you do need the rest of the American people to wise up and stop being a bunch of whiny, self-medicating, "why don't my kids love me", turds.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    Great Read

    I think people takes things too seriously and don't know when to lighten up. Most parents take the easy way out and do not discipline their kids and that is the major problem. They need to let kids be kids and even if they are hyperactive they need to take a different approach than medicating kids.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    Denis at his best!

    This book is hilarious! For all those who choose to complain about the subject matter, maybe it is just hitting a little too close to home for you. Mr. Leary has always told us he has a big, sarcastic mouth and will always tell it like it is... And that is exactly what he does (and does well). This book is bitingly funny and a reminder how much better the world was when parents were parents and not their child's best friend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    It's okay to admit it's funny.

    If all this rubs you the wrong way then it just may be that you are the very same hypersensitive combination of fat, loud, lazy, and stupid that Leary has put on the stand in his new book. He has left us with two choices here: scoff at the notion that any of this has hit home and ridicule the man for putting it all out there, or suck it up and have a cathartic laugh at our collective missteps and imperfections.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    Loved it!

    I picked this up yesterday on a whim and found myself unable to put it down. It's true that the book isn't necessarily PC and leary definitely doesn't pull any punches, but at the end of the day, the book is just funny. If you want to laugh, at others and yourself, than this is the book for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    I really liked it. Denis Leary says what most of us want to but don't have the you know what to say it.

    It enjoyed reading this. It was easy, fun and quick.(I'm sure Denis would have a really good line for that). I laughed alot and liked reading about him growing up in Massachusetts. I loved the chapter on how CATS SUCK because they do. But felt he wasted a chapter on Oprah. The chapter on Autism was not bad at all, if anything the negative media helped him sell more books. You have to like Denis Leary as a comedian to like this book and be able to open your eyes to see that a lot of what he says is true. It's just that most of us do not have the guts to say so. I wish I was half as quick as he is with his quick wit and comebacks to every situation. You don't have to agree with everything he says, just sit back and enjoy it, let him entertain you. Loved the book and hope he comes back to the area to do another book signing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    Get Over It

    I feel remorse for the people offended by this book. Obviously you are not the intended audience that "Dr." Leary was looking for. Humor can be found everywhere and it is such humor that helps people get through any situation no matter how devastating. People tell jokes at funerals and I've seen no finger pointing thus far. Now on to the autism issue. Denis Leary makes fun of fat people too and I don't hear anyone defending them. Let's see. You have a sensitive issue and then you read a book that makes fun of everyone's sensitive issues? Sound reasonable? And you wonder why the book is called Why We Suck?? Prime example folks. This book is only for those that understand the real world. If you live in fantasy land then this book is not for you. If you think the country we live in is perfect then this book is not for you. If you are a Republican, then this book is DEFINITELY not for you. However, if you are a "normal" human being who would enjoy reading the unpolished version of what's wrong with this country then you will most likely thorougly enjoy "Dr." Leary's comments on everything from the miscellaneous to the mundane. It's Hilarious!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Belly Laughs, and if we could'nt laugh at ourselves we would cry.

    I completely enjoyed this book. It does read quickly, and may only be appriciated by readers with a certain sense of humor. Like all of Leary's material it IS offensive, but equally offensive to so many groups-how can you take it so personally? If you don't like Leary's humor-or if you are sensitive, easily offended, etc-JUST DON'T READ IT. THE FIRST SECTION OF THE BOOK IS DEVOTED TO WARNING THESE TYPES TO READ SOMETHING ELSE-SO IF YOU READ IT DESPITE THESE WARNINGS DON'T BLAME DENIS LEARY FOR YOUR HURT FEELINGS.Freedom of speech and freedom of personal tastes people.<BR/><BR/>As far as the "Autism" thing-he is making fun of parents who PRETEND to have a child with this disorder. So unless you are PRETENDING, it doesn't even apply to you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    Do NOT Read This Book if you have any self respect

    Just by reading short exerpts of this book, I must say that I was disgusted. Denis Leary if a very sad pathetic man who shows his ignorance regarding people with Autism. If you know or love someone with this disorder, DO NOT READ HIS BOOK. If you are a intelligent individual, DO NOT READ HIS BOOK. Do something more worth your time....

    3 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Autism is no joke!!!

    As a mother of a child with autism I am disgusted by Leary's rant that autistic kids are lazy and stupid, he also blames mothers for being inattentive, how is that funny? His joke only makes it harder for the community to see our struggles. Do not buy his book, he should not make any money for making fun of disabled children. I will be at the protest on Staten Island on Nov. 19 along with many other parents of autistic children!!

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious writing

    Offensive, rude, acid tongued. That's when he's in a good mood. And that's exactly why I love reading this book. I love Dennis' relentlessly un-pc view of life. His parodies. His exaggerated views. His acerbic, rapier wit. This book showcases his slaying of victim hood and the self-absorbed posers who invade his world by living in it. By un-pc, I mean he tells it exactly the way things are. The truth hurts, and most people can't handle it. He paints the script with just enough exaggeration and making that he makes you scream out loud laughing one second, and yet makes you think the next.
    A dual edged sword of comedy.

    Written with a nice sense of pacing, the punchlines are scathingly funny. I enraged an entire plane of passengers with my howling, to the point that the beefy beehive Stewardess waggled her index finger at me throwing daggers. Escaping this near death experience, I continued on in muffled silence. For edgy social commentary jokes, this is about as fast-paced and ruthless as it gets. Comedy is best delivered when it's based on truth. This is raw in your face truth, and one of the funniest things I've read in a long time. Classic. Just classic Dennis.

    Hicks, Carlin, Miller and Leary all have carved out a slice in this raw genre of intellectual humor. I can count on one hand the writer's whose books make me laugh. The core of this content is taboo topics, and insults of the US celebrity-obsessed culture, and the endless assortment of sappy whiners with a complete lack of responsibility. But Dennis also dishes out some funny childhood experiences that had me rolling, since I could so easily relate to them. If you like this style of comedy, this book is a must own. Another new ripping satire I'd highly recommend is High Heels and Dirty Deals.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    absolute drivel

    Leary SUCKS, not America. He's just a will-o-the-wisp, sticking his finger in the air to see which way the vapid wind of pop culture is blowing. PURE DRIVEL not fit to be burned. One star is generou; negative ten stars would be more appropriate.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11