BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Why We Suck: A Feel Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Lighten Up!

Denis Leary has never been, nor will ever be, politically correct. He is not poking fun at disabled children. He is commenting on the exponential rise in autism as of late. My nephew is autistic and neither I nor his mother have taken offense at this joke because it ...
Denis Leary has never been, nor will ever be, politically correct. He is not poking fun at disabled children. He is commenting on the exponential rise in autism as of late. My nephew is autistic and neither I nor his mother have taken offense at this joke because it is simply that - a joke from a comedian. Your outrage is simply helping him to sell more books. I'm sure he's thrilled with your protest.

posted by 322354 on November 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

It's only funny until somebody gets hurt

Leary's type of humor is meant to make some people angry, so that the rest of us can make fun of them and have a good laugh. If that is your kind of humor, I'm glad you are not my neighbor, or co-worker. He wanted to shock us, okay, we're shocked. Why is he surprised th...
Leary's type of humor is meant to make some people angry, so that the rest of us can make fun of them and have a good laugh. If that is your kind of humor, I'm glad you are not my neighbor, or co-worker. He wanted to shock us, okay, we're shocked. Why is he surprised that that shock wasn't pleasant for us?

And I can't recommend anyone buy the book. In spite of his protests to the contrary, his repeating the idea that autism is over diagnosed, even jokingly, will discourage some people from seeking help for their children, or perhaps even themselves. And since the rest of the book is unremarkable in that he hasn't said anything really original, I say pass on this one. You can spend your time better doing something else, like cleaning your fingernails. I'd like to see him repeat some of the things he said about Catholics, or celebrities or whoever to their faces, and see just how funny they think it is.

But seriously, this idea of using autism as a trendy excuse for poor behaviour or performance is a new one on me. Autism runs in our family. I have 2 autistic kids, and one with Asperger's syndrome. It took teams of doctors 2 days to examine and test each one. Each examination cost close to $1000 dollars, and that was 10 years ago! Why on earth would anyone deliberately seek out a diagnosis like autism? They don't just take your word for it. Plus, every couple of years they are tested again to see if they still qualify for special services in school. If I were trying to fake it to get them some special attention, the jig would certainly be up by now!

posted by 399080 on November 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    The good doctor will see you now.

    Denis Leary is a guy that I grew up admiring, because in a world where bulls*** is served up with as much efficiency and blatant disregard for microevolution or even insulting human intelligence that it is STAGGERING, you can count on Denis to piss on the PC parade, tell off anyone or group that takes themselves too seriously, or just rant about something that is stuck in his craw at that particular moment.

    I don't agree with all of his views, but by God, I respect his determination and drive to tell everyone what his views are, especially in this politically correct (read; guilty liberals kissing up to special interest groups) wasteland that we have created.

    This book WILL get under your skin at one point or another, and that's good. We ALL, and I do mean ALL, should question our ideals, our sensibilities, or to be general about it, our mental make-up. It's good for you.

    Gordon
    Lake Station, IN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Denis Leary, as hilarious as ever!

    They say there's nothing funnier than the truth, and Denis Leary is all about that. I've read many books by comedians, but this one is the funniest and most honest. If you can't laugh at yourself, and everyone else around you, then maybe this book isn't for you. This book has something to laugh at on every page. Don't just skim through it or borrow it, this is a book you'll want to own read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    Makes alot of good points on world views and everyday life in America we take for granted

    I've always been a big Dennis Leary fan and this book continues to prove how much of a comic genius he really is. Not all parts of this book are meant to be funny, there are a lot of serious issues that he expresses his opinions on. Opinions on the rest of the worlds view on us , racism, stupid kids, stupid parents, and how no ones really an "American American". This book is not for everyone. Some of his opinions may offend people without a healthy sense of humor... so be warned. Personally I agree with a lot of what he says.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    We truly, truly SUCK!!!!!!

    This book is an easy read. It is great for a day at the beach. I agreed with just about everything Denis talked about. Trying to apply common sense to our politically correct world is FUNNY. The chapter on self esteem is hilarious. Denis as a young lad comes home from school inspired by his Catholic school Sister-teacher. He is like eight years old. He tells his Irish immigrant working class father that he wants to grow up a be the President of the United States. They have a father son chat. The conversation ends with Dad telling a very young Denis (insert irish accent here) "but we're not rich Denis, ya have to be rich son." With that Denis' mother calls out from the kitchen and asks what is going on. His Dad responds "Nora little Denis thinks he is going to be President of the United States." The next thing Denis hears is his Mom really, really laughing from the kitchen. His common sense approach is honest, refreshing and funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ABSOLUTELY ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ

    THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING. IT MADE ME LAUGH, IT MADE ME CRY.... WELL, I ONLY CRIED BECAUSE I WAS LAUGHING SO DAMN HARD. I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ALL ADULTS. ANYONE WITH A SENSE OF HUMOR WILL LOVE THIS BOOK BUT LIKE I SAID, YOU BETTER HAVE A SENSE OF HUMOR. THIS IS SOMETHING YOU CAN PULL OUT AT A PARTY TO ENTERTAIN. I HAVE QUOTED THIS BOOK MANY TIMES. GREAT TO HAVE AROUND WHEN YOUR HAVING A BAD DAY AND NEED A LAUGH. DENIS LEARY IS MY NEW HERO AND I COMMEND HIM FOR A JOB WELL DONE. IF HE WRITES ANOTHER BOOK, I WILL BE THE FIRST IN LINE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    We Do Suck!

    Before this book I had never even heard of Denis Leary (I'm not much of a TV person). I simply bought the book because the title was funny, the back cover and the dedication made me laugh so I figured I'd give it a whirl.

    Basically, if you get through the first two chapters of this book you should be okay, you may even enjoy it. When reading the first chapter I nearly put the book down believing it would read like a senseless-drunken-frat boy wrote it solely for the purpose of trying to be funny without humor or context. However, as I read on the book quickly turned out to be truly comical and light-hearted. Leary opens up about himself, his family and his Irish upbringing. He relates his personal experiences to pop culture, society, life. His satirical humor and personal touch turn the mundane and daily into humorous stories that we can all relate to and laugh at. This personal touch from the hysterical Leary is the only reason the book can carry itself - anyone else telling Leary's stories, or providing the same insight, without his comical skills would fail horribly. Honestly, not every chapter is funny or insightful; however, there are enough giggles and LOLs to make you want to read on. Overall, much of what you read will make you smile. At least I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    LOL

    This is hands down the funniest book I have ever read. I made the mistake of reading it after I finished an exam in school, and everyone else was quiet and still taking theirs and I CRACKED UP SO LOUD that i had to leave the room. Yeah, it's that funny. I laughed out loud with each page. And in some parts, i laughed so hard i couldn't breathe. BUY THIS BOOK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You suck, I suck, we all suck...but this book doesn't

    Long, long overdue. I'm a huge Denis Leary fan, have both No Cure for Cancer (Showtime) and Lock and Load (HBO) on video, and I have the CD's for both. This book is long overdue. Why We Suck is a thorough examination of why we suck (as American's, as Christians, as human beings on this planet). Our celebrity obsessed culture. Our media whoring. I can't say enough how refreshing it is to read this book. It will offend you...Dr. Denis guarantees it will offend you...which is the perfect reason to read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    Very Funny

    The book is an outstanding read. For those of you with negative replies about this book.. quit taking yourself so seriously!<BR/><BR/>Denis Leary is a Comedian and his writing is such, the book is very funny, and interesting to boot. He looks at the side of people, and those people that take themselves way too seriously.<BR/><BR/>Recommended Read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read & It is true that we suck

    A great read and very insightful thoughts & comments for the problems facing us today. I've recommended it to everyone I know. Great heartwarming family stories that ring so true it's like I was growing up in his family as well. If you like Denis Leary then definately get this. My favorite story is when he was hit by an arrow. I defy anyone not to laugh at his retelling of that story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    This should be required reading

    I laughed so hard while reading this book I was crying and my sides hurt. I also grew up in a huge Irish Catholic Family so I could really relate. The entire book kept me laughing from beginning to end. Denis is right on about most of these topics and I agree that if you are offended you should read the jungle book. However if you have a funny bone you are gonna love this, and all the cry babies out there that get offended by HUMOR remember, you do not have to read it....so stop complaining. Dr. Leary does himself proud in this one, hell he even sounds like a better doctor than most real doctors Ive seen. Laughter is the best medicine and it wont destroy your liver.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    Honestly?

    Seriously...WELCOME TO AMERICA. Last time I checked we have some sort of freedom of speech til January. If you don't like the book from what you heard guess what....DON'T BUY IT. It says it about thirty times before you even get to the chapters. <BR/><BR/>As for the Autism...that is not what he is saying. Read it really read the chapter. Stop flipping out and put the book away burn it. Otherwise we might as well become a communist society and burn all the books. If you want a society like the book "1984" then keep protesting. And if you don't know what I am talking about READ THE BOOK.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    (==========(===================> ?

    (----------------(===================>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    This book is F#@$ing great , As an Irish Man myself living in I

    This book is F#@$ing great , As an Irish Man myself living in Ireland I can relate to alot of this and its great . Denis also pokes holes into the minds of men and woman which I found really funny . For all those complaining about what he says both mental disorders and so on , read the book I'm telling you right now that taking that infamous quote about autism out of context is pointless as there's a lot more to the chapter , Leary goes on to talk about actual austistic children that puts the previous comment into context and as for ADD well joke material writes itself for that I do Not think we can blame Denis for that now can we. I really enjoyed this book Denis and I personally hope you write more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Fantastic book

    Hilarious!!! Dead on with his diagnosis of mankind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Douchbags

    Please everyone dont be a douchbag and write shorter comments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Funny ass book!

    This book is the best book I have ever read, and I haven't even finished it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Unique style

    While the author makes some interesting observations of the condition of the times, and I agree with many of his thoughts, his writing style is such that I can only read it in short bits before growing weary of what he has to say, or how he says it. He sounds as if he is just talking things over among friends over a beer --- or two -- or three --- and getting more outrageous as the evening progresses. This book was recommended to me by my son, so maybe it is just a generational thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Very amusing.

    I loved this book for its common sense and no-nonsense humor. You dont have to agree with the entire book to get a good laugh. I am (was) not a big fan of Mr. Leary, but now i think I am. Hope he writes another humorous book. My favorite part was the chapter on cats and dogs. He comes up with some unusual angles when looking at things. The personal stories are also enjoyable. I finished the book in 3 days. I lost some precious sleep, because I couldn't put it down. Lovely. Great Irish wit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    The Best Feel Good book on the market ...

    I laughed, I cried, I turned on Oprah to find out where I can buy the best F%$&ing claw hammer for cheap money ... not to mention how to remove back-hair.

    I agree with Dr. Leary ... there's all kinds of drugs out there for anything that ails you but there's nothing to help anyone who doesn't have a sense of f%$&ing humor.

    WARNING ... if you don't have a sense of humor and you can't poke fun at yourself ... DON'T BUY THIS BOOK !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11