Customer Reviews for

Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A classic in its genre.

This book could be touted as one of the best on the market on its subject. It is clear and concise, it doesn't limit the reader nor does it leave you lost. Great for beginners, a wonderful reference for the more seasoned. I highly recommend this book for any Wiccan libr...
This book could be touted as one of the best on the market on its subject. It is clear and concise, it doesn't limit the reader nor does it leave you lost. Great for beginners, a wonderful reference for the more seasoned. I highly recommend this book for any Wiccan library.

posted by krystyl_rose on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Kind, Gentle Scott Cunningham

Scott Cunningham is one of my favorite authors. This book is the very first book I assign to the dedicants of my coven. It is informative, without being pushy. And this next bit goes to the teens out there who are interested in studying Wicca and/or Witchcraft. Purc...
Scott Cunningham is one of my favorite authors. This book is the very first book I assign to the dedicants of my coven. It is informative, without being pushy. And this next bit goes to the teens out there who are interested in studying Wicca and/or Witchcraft. Purchase this book and give it to your parents/family/friends to read. It may help them understand your new found beliefs in a very nonthreatening manner.

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic in its genre.

    This book could be touted as one of the best on the market on its subject. It is clear and concise, it doesn't limit the reader nor does it leave you lost. Great for beginners, a wonderful reference for the more seasoned. I highly recommend this book for any Wiccan library.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    A must have for anyone who is serious about following the Wiccan path!!

    This is a very important book to have for every beginner in The Craft. I studied these books before I gave my mind, body, and soul to the Goddess & God. This is Eclectic Wicca at it's finest. These books are such a good starting point for anyone interested in Wicca I would even recommend people who aren't even considering the religion as their own to read this book. The most informative book on Wicca out there, definitely!!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    A Capacity for Understanding things that others do not.

    This book is great for both the novice and the full Hedge Witch alike. Scott Cunningham uses his great capacity for understanding things that others do not, and produces; books for all to understand. Here he explains what some Wiccans / Wicca followers / Witches (whichever label is used) have forgotten & what has been forgotten should never have been. What has been forgotten is that Hedge Witches / The Solitary / Self-Initiated Is and always will play just as an important part of the Craft as Coven practitioners. Both are needed to bring balance with in the Craft. This book tells things as they are with no gentle persuasion to go in one direction or another. I found that it answered both fundamental and generic questions I had in an open and honest way, I would gladly recommend this book to anyone considering following a Nature based belief system. Other books by the same author dealing with Wicca are: Wicca in the Kitchen, Earth Air Fire Water, Living Wicca. All these are well worth reading. By the end of the book you may well find answers to questions you never knew needed answering, I Did. Just because of the subject matter I would not recommend this book for anyone under the age of Sixteen.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    A Wicca For Dummies Book!!

    This is one of the first books I bought when I was finally able to study Wicca. This is definately considered Wicca for Dummies. You can read all the way through or just look it over by subjects. Great Book to start your path with! BB

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Outstanding Book

    I would highly recommend this to any first timers considering the Wiccan path as the first book they should read.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    i have a lot of books by dear scott, but this is my favorite. it is the most complete and CLEAR guide. i've been studying paganism for about 7 years (wow, doesnt feel like that long) and i find this to be a very easy book to follow and very complete with the information in it. please make this your first book if you're looking to start reading on wicca.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    A Kind, Gentle Scott Cunningham

    Scott Cunningham is one of my favorite authors. This book is the very first book I assign to the dedicants of my coven. It is informative, without being pushy. And this next bit goes to the teens out there who are interested in studying Wicca and/or Witchcraft. Purchase this book and give it to your parents/family/friends to read. It may help them understand your new found beliefs in a very nonthreatening manner.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    The best Wicca book out there!

    Thanks to this book, and all of Scott's books, help me find what I wanted to know about the world of wicca. As a result, I am a Wiccan now. Blessed be to all who read this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    A very easy to understand beginning

    I thought this book was very simple and easy to understand for those who are still questioning whether the religion is for them. Cunningham offers information that is fact, as well as some personal experiences and beliefs, and he manages to keep them distinctly separate. Recommended for anyone curious about the Craft.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Wicca...

    I am about to be initiated. My guide, teacher, whatever you want to call her (she doesn't mind much), gave me this book to read as a study two years ago. So far, I have read all the books and have learned much. This is a good beginner book, as some other reviewers say.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    Scott provides an informative, enlightening and warm introductio

    Scott provides an informative, enlightening and warm introduction and guide to Wicca. Perfect for beginners and those who think earth-based religions are scary, sinful or harmful. This is a good foundational book that explains the basics of Wicca, the core philosophy of Do No Harm, and how to get started without spending a fortune (a stick works just as well as a fancy store-bought wand -- maybe even better as it's something *you* found and made to use as a tool). The book is also good for veteran Wiccan practitioners who want to get back to basics or to renew their sense of wonder. This, as well as other Cunningham books, are my favorites. Sadly, he passed from this world far too soon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Great Intro to Wicca

    For a little while now I've been interested in Wicca, both the belief system and the practices. I went to a few Wicca and Pagan forums and read suggestions for beginners there. The consensus seemed to be two things: read and talk to people. At first, I thought about getting in touch with a Wicca group nearby to talk to someone about it, since Wicca is a communal religion, but I couldn't find any groups within reasonable access for a college student with no car and my location. So, I started poking around book lists. One of the book lists listed this book, and I was immediately interested when it was titled "For the Solitary Practitioner", as that was, indeed, my situation. So, I bought it...

    ... And loved it. I read it in about a week (excluding some of the rites at the end, but I'll get back to those). Every time I had a few free minutes I'd pull out up my Nook app on my phone and read a couple more pages. I couldn't put it down. It has all of the basics that I wanted to know about Wicca: "description" (I guess that's the best word) of the Goddess and God, the holy days, an explanation of the different tools used in Wicca, gobs of information on Magick, ritual, and altar setup, and some history of Wicca (not in that order). Basically, it covers the (core) belief system as well as giving you some insight into some Wiccan practices. Cunningham is very careful to stress throughout the entire book that he is basically just giving you a bare-bones rundown of the beliefs and practices, and even then they're still not set in stone. He goes to great lengths to insist that much of Wicca is up to what feels right to each individual, and different individuals and groups may practice what, on the surface, seem to be very different "Wiccas". But, at their core, they all come back to the same fundamental beliefs. And, when you get to the end, there's a surprise waiting for you!

    He's included an entire Book of Shadows (the book that each Wicca/coven keeps detailing different practices, rituals, incantations, etc). Normally, this is a VERY individual thing, but he has included this book to give people a taste of how one might perform the rituals and Magick of Wicca. This is where my reading pace slowed down. I would only a handful of these incantations and rituals each day because I kept feeling the urge to take some time in between each one for contemplation of what I just read. Some of these struck a chord with me, while others didn't, but that's what it's there for! He includes this to allow the reader a chance to figure out what sort of method of incantation that resonates with them so that they have somewhere to start with their Book of Shadows. I enjoyed this part of the book as much as the previous.

    All in all, in my (admittedly limited) opinion, this is a fantastic book for someone who knows little of Wicca and is interested in learned about the faith and the practices of this mysterious and often misunderstood religion. Highly recommended!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I live in a semi-rural area where there are no covens or fellow

    I live in a semi-rural area where there are no covens or fellow Wiccans nearby (that I know of). This book is perfect for those who want to practice Wicca in a solitary manner or those who do not have access to groups of like-minded people. Scott Cunningham makes it very easy to learn the rituals and the meanings behind each action. There is no judgment, no hard-fast rules. Just gentle suggestions and guidance along with alot of easy-to-follow information on spells, symbols, sabbats, etc. I would highly recommend this for the beginning practitioner as well as the more advanced Solitary Witch.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is truly inspiring and extremely helpful for anyone in

    This book is truly inspiring and extremely helpful for anyone interested in the Wiccan path. Cunningham offers a simple How-To approach which is great for beginners. He provides a simple guide to the Wiccan altar, tools, ritual, prayer/chants, sabbats, and a brief explanation of the Deities. While this book only scratches the surface of what is Wicca, it does provide a great amount of information to get you started. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    I know that some people say Wicca in the Traditional sense is the only "real form" of Wicca, but for those interested in doing it as a Solitary (or even those who do have a coven, but want to do more at home things) then this book is for you.

    I've done all sorts of research into Wicca as far as ceremonies/rituals and such and Scott Cunningham presents a lot of good ideas for people who either: (A) Have never been introduced to Wicca before , or (B) aren't real sure how they want to proceed in Solitary practice.

    I found this book very useful and informative!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    BEST BOOK TO START OFF IN WICCA EVER

    this book, I cannot explain how amazing it is. If you are new to Wicca and want to get more into it. THIS IS A GREAT BOOK TO START OFF WITH! it has so much information! Everything I needed

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Great read

    I am starting my journey on this path and this book has help me out I suggest reading living wicca to if your in with it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Great read.

    This book was one of the first books i read when i became more interested in the craft. Its explains everything and it maybe the book you will ever need. Definitley recommend it to beginners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This and it's companion book, Living Wicca, are must haves for b

    This and it's companion book, Living Wicca, are must haves for beginners.  Scott Cunningham speaks to his readers in a kind and simple manor.  I enjoyed every page of these wonderful books, and I'm so glad I have them.  I even refer back to these books while reading other books (mainly the ones from Scott's suggested reading list).  I am so grateful to him for writing these.  I highly, highly recommend these books.  Must haves for sure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE guide for learning the Wiccan Path.

    Mr. Cunningham's book was the one to start me on my Path, and I am so glad it was. Honest, well researched, and not full of "pop culture", just straightforward descriptions and explanations. The nuts and bolts of what we believe and why. Anyone who has come to me legitimately wanting to learn, I have given this book to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9