Customer Reviews for

Wicked (Songbook)

Average Rating 4
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I loved this book, and would recommend it in a heartbeat! i think that it is mostly suited for 8th grade [maybe even 9th grade] and higher, because the phrases are hard to understand, and some scenes may not be appropriate. LOVED THIS BOOK, PLEASE READ!! :-)

posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This was a phenominal book!

This was a phenominal book! If you haven't read it, you should! It is slightly hard to follow at times, but that doesn't mean that it is a bad book, because it is FABULOUS!

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Not for kids

    This book seems to be preoccupied with sexual undertones. It gives a little insight into what leads up to the original Wizard of Oz but falls way short of being a solid foundation.<BR/><BR/>I would not recommend anyone under 18 reading this. I also do not recommend anyone who takes offense to discussion of a variety of sexual topics to read this.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    lost...

    i could not get into this book. it was difficult to imagine the characters, and understand what the author was trying to get across... <BR/>i had expected it to be so much better being that it is now a broadway musical, but it was awful... :(

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not very good

    I heard a lot of hype about this book after the broadway play came out. So, I went out and bought it. I started reading, and then started reading a few days later, then started to try and read more a few weeks later, and I am still not finished with this book after probably 8 months now. Normally, I read a good book in 2 or 3 days. So having not even finished this book yet, you must understand how bad this book is. The story line is very adult in nature and very satanic/demonic if you ask me. It just doesn't hold my interest.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    loved the play, hated the book

    After seeing the musical and listening to the soundtrack countless times I was so obsessed with Wicked that I had to read the book. I was very disapointed-it was a lot different from the musical and I completelystopeed reading it-which is rare for me because I read all the time.So I wouldn't reccomend this book but I would reccomend the musical '

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Hard read, play is better

    I picked up this book before the play came out. It was difficult book to get through. Dry writing and a bit slow in the progression of the story. I was hesitant to watch the play given my experience with the book. However, the play is great and I'm glad I saw it. The story is quite original. I'm personally a fan of "the other story" type of tales and I wouldn't have guessed how interesting the story actually is based on the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    Not sure if I can finish

    This book came recommended by a friend who has in the past suggested fantastic books. The concept of the book is very unique but the book drags on a bit too much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing Considering All the Hype

    I was really looking forward to reading this book, but nothing cool happened. I kept waiting, and waiting for something interesting to happen since there was such great build up. It was a very interesting take on the original though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    Just OK

    Wicked-the life and times of the wicked witch of the west is about the wicked witch of the west and how she grew up.In the beggining the book seemed like it was going to start to get my attention and make it a page turner and I really hoped it would be, but as the story continued it kept moving at a slow pace. Now there were some parts of the book that were pretty good, but it just never turned into that great book. When Elphaba went to Shiz that was ok, but I just could never get into the book. So it turned out to be disappointing to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Don't believe the hype

    I thought the book was very dry and slow moving which made it very difficult to read. I had to force myself to finish it just so I could discuss it with my book club. Everyone in my book club agreed with my sentiments. We would not recommend this book. Go see the play, which is completely different from the book. The play is absolutely wonderful, and I would recommend everyone seeing it at least once in their life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    did not follow the novel

    i liked some of the music of this new musical, but Stephen Schwartz seemed to fluff up the story to the extent that it was not like the book at all. Everyone who has seen this musical has probably never read the book. And if they did they proabaly wouldn't want McGwire's graphic images of things on a stage.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    tried too hard

    This book seemed very intersting from the concept, but turned out to be a disappointment. Mr. Maguire had a great vision but seemed to get lost in his own ideas. He elaborated too much on unnecessary scenes and was too vague on parts that could have made the story easier to follow. It was a lot like trying to read Lewis Carrols' 'Alice in Wonderland', especially in the begining of the story. It just skipped around and didn't make sense. I felt that the ending was too abrupt. Yes, we all know what happens to the Wicked Witch, but it was difficult to understand, in-retrospect, how the W.W.'s feelings/attitude/intentions could have been percieved as 'wicked' by Dorothy. (How her actions were misconstrude was logical.) It felt as if Mr. Maguire spent too much time trying to think up new words for his version of OZ, (perhaps in hopes to go down as the next Tolkein?) and dwelt on the Wicked Witch feeling lost in her own despair. I'd give an 'A' for attempting a twist on a familiar story, but an overall 'C-'. Perhaps this would have been more enjoyable if I had seen the Broadway or if I hadn't had to re-read so many parts to try to piece together what was left out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2