Customer Reviews for

Wicked (Songbook)

Average Rating 4
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I loved this book, and would recommend it in a heartbeat! i think that it is mostly suited for 8th grade [maybe even 9th grade] and higher, because the phrases are hard to understand, and some scenes may not be appropriate. LOVED THIS BOOK, PLEASE READ!! :-)

posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This was a phenominal book!

This was a phenominal book! If you haven't read it, you should! It is slightly hard to follow at times, but that doesn't mean that it is a bad book, because it is FABULOUS!

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved this book, and would recommend it in a heartbeat! i think that it is mostly suited for 8th grade [maybe even 9th grade] and higher, because the phrases are hard to understand, and some scenes may not be appropriate. LOVED THIS BOOK, PLEASE READ!! :-)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a read!

    I started reading this book after all the hype on it had passed. I also expected it to be more of a child's story. Boy was I wrong! It is by far the most thought provoking book that I have read in the last few months. I simply couldn't put it down! It brings up a lot of very interesting ideas- including the nature of evil. I laughed, thought and cried by the time I finished the book! Bravo to master storyteller, Gregory Maguire!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    Great read

    This gives a new look to the immortalized "Wicked Witch of the West" in the original series. Good reading material for teens-adults. I don't recommend it for young ones since it has mature content.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Wonderful book - will change your mind.

    I loved the book, it was brilliant. It really made me look at Oz in a whole new light. I feel so sorry for 'the Wicked Witch of the West' now. I still love Dorothy. It really is all about the life and times of Elphaba. It was a very well written book. It was spell binding I had to finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Wicked is amazing--but not for children

    I read Wicked because i'd heard a lot of hype about the musical, and i myself loved the soundtrack. The book however, is very diffrent. It is not meant for children or for those who do not...may i say...enjoy reading very deeply in someone's love life. i myself was slightly repulsed by CERTAIN parts of the book, and felt deep sorrow and pity for poor Tibbet. Other than that, i thought wicked was pretty good. not the best, but good none the less.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Loved it

    This book is very different from the popular musical of the same name, so if you saw the musical and decided to try the book, don't be surprised if you find it very different. That said, I loved this book and thought it was a fascinating look at religion, politics, and social issues. It is a pretty deep and complex book however, so unless you are a very advanced reader, I would not suggest picking up this book until at least high school. While the musical deals mainly with the themes of friendship, staying true to yourself, and that apperances aren't all that matter, the book delves deeper into religious ideas, totalitariamism, and as well as class issues and predjudice. In other words, Gregory Mcguire has created a world quite like our own. An extermely interesting study of complex characters, I would recomend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    I love it !!!!!!

    I love the song popular it was a great book i read it every night!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Amazizing

    Wicked, tells the tale of the wicked witch of the west. This book is amazing, it is very deep and political. This book would defiantly be difficult for anyone under a high school level. This book is one of my favorites and i had the chance to see the musical on Broadway and it was even better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    wonderful!

    i absolutely loved the book and the musical!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Wickedly Awesome

    The book Wicked is the before book to the Wizard of Oz. Wicked starts off by telling the back ground info about the original characters, and then movies on to the story of the Wicked Witch, Elphaba. This book takes the term evil and gives it a whole new look. It changed the way I felt about the charters. Gregory Maquire tells us that evil is more of a stereo- type then a trait and given that chance no one is evil. In this book you follow the life of one girl and find that even heartless old women can fall in love. The story gives you a lot of back ground story about the Wicked Witch of the West and how she grew up. You find that as her story goes on its hard to hate her, and that the characters you thought where good are really not. You find out that Glenda the ¿good Witch and Elphaba were best friends and why they hate each other now. In this story you will find a tale of romance, friendship, and under it all a true fairy tale. A must read, a page turner from start to finish, I would definitely recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    Outstanding book! A must read!

    Almost all of my friends have either read the book, saw the movie, saw it on stage and they love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    Love but not cheesy Romance

    An amazing book!!! I couldn't stop reading it!!! Wasn't into the political part, but the rest was interesting. She loved someone, and so called 'heartless' woman loved a man. Simply amamzing. Leaves you thinking, and shows you that everyone has a heart, even the 'Wicked Witch of the West' A story of love, passion, and courage. I loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    A new look on an old classic

    I loved reading Wicked. Gregory Macgure was able to change the viewpoint of an old, classic tale and turn the 'the witch' into a human with emotions and reasons behind actions. I believe he was able to represents 'evil' in a much more realistic sense, and show that it is a point of view. good and bad sides do not exist in real life. It was a fantastic idea, and a superlative read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    Wickedly Wicked

    This book is a MUST read! It starts off rather hard to follow but I absolutley loved it, I couldn't put it down.I definitely recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    Life Changing For GOOD!

    Awesome Musical should be seen by all postively has the heart, brains, and courage to find home!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Enthralling

    After having seen the broadway musical rendition of Wicked, I never thought the book could measure up. I was obviously wrong. This book was amazing! It was filled with all genres; fantasy, politics, murder, mystery, and suspense. It will keep you reading for hours. The magnificent detail almost makes you feel like you have been transported into the magical world of OZ. The way the Tin Man, the Scarecrow, the Lion, and Dorothy are weaved into the story without being the main focus is clever. After reading this book you will never look at the Wizard of OZ, or the Wicked Witch of the West the same way.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    To all

    Kiss your hand three time and then post this on three other locations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Divergentlover

    Dont know if I will like. Write back to my. To tell me sau to... Divergentlover please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Love it!!

    Wicked is My FAVORITE show ever I was soooo happy when I got the music for this show!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could Not Put Down!

    This is a must read for those who love "villians" Elphaba's story was compelling! I've recommended this to friends and family and they loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6