Customer Reviews for

Wicked: A New Musical [Original Broadway Cast Recording]

Average Rating 5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic music and lyrics - great performances!

    I loved this show! The music and lyrics are amazing! Idina totally deserved her Tony award! Everyone should watch this show in light of our current political situation too!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What More Could Be Said

    I grew up loving Wizard of Oz... but Wicked blows Oz out of this world! I saw the show in London and fell in love with the music, the characters, everything! I still get the goose bumbs when listening to the music. Defying Gravity is one the most moving performances/songs--it'll leave you breathless.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful music!

    This CD has a stunning array of musical numbers from musical. The music is amazing, and it paints a picture by itself. I have seen the play several times, and I listen to the music quite frequently. The singers have amazing voices that really bring out the characters and make the story seem more real. Anyone who is a fan of Wicked, Kristin Chenoweth, or any of the other singers should definitely buy this product. This music is a personal favorite of mine, and it has songs that are uplifting and songs that are sad. Most of the songs on here are beautiful and perfect to listen to even if you haven't seen the show.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thought Provoking, Clever, and Thoroughly Entertaining!

    My sister fell in love with the musical "Wicked" after seeing it performed in San Diego, so I purchased the Cast Recording as a Christmas gift. I don't think she's stopped listening to it since then! The music is positively addictive, and the performances are exceptional. Kristin Chenoweth's performance of "Popular" is both hilarious and amazing. I was quite impressed by how clever the lyrics are, and the music is incredible.

    It's difficult to understand the storyline just from the songs, but that's only to be expected with a musical. The liner notes are filled with pictures from the production, along with the lyrics. I highly recommend this CD!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I absolutely love this album. I listen to it almost every day. I

    I absolutely love this album. I listen to it almost every day. I wish I had seen the actual show but this is close to it. Idina and Kristen are simply wonderful! An unbelievably addictive CD. And it was very nice to hear Joel Grey's unique voice. I'm in love with this CD and now I'm reading the book. You gotta get this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Close your eyes..."

    Close your eyes, lean back and you are...over the rainbow- all the way to that magical place we call Broadway!!! Nothing beats a great recording of the original cast ! Brava!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it. One of the greatest musicals. wish all could hear it. literally"melts; the heaart/

    Wicked should be in everyone's automobile, home, computer. Recommended to young and old. lessons to be learned. Good music to hear. Inspirations for the soul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic broadway CD to sing along with any time!

    This CD is great; you feel like you are there, watching the show, while listening to it. The artists are beyond talented and protray their emotions and characters very well through the songs. There are songs on here that everyone can identify with in real life (Defying Gravity, especially) at some point. I am going to see the musical for the first time this summer, and ordered this CD to listen to the songs in advance. It was a great purchase and has made me even more excited to see it live!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!

    This is a fabulous recording! My daughter and I love it! She especially likes "Dancing Through Life" played on the way to ballet class! :) I wish I had seen this cast on Bway! <sigh> It's no wonder Ms. Menzel won a Tony for her performance! Kudos to the whole cast and crew!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    I loved Wicked the book, so I thought I'd check out the soundtrack and I am so glad I did. It is a great CD; it has amazing vocals. I really enjoy this CD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful For Any Broadway Lover!

    This is a great CD capturing the original Wicked cast! If you see the touring cast, they almost fallow it to a T! Great sound quality, beauitful voices, this music just makes me want to jump up and dance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Music

    PERFECT, Better than I expected, Very happy i purchased this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WONDERFUL!!!

    What else can I say it was simply wonderful. Wicked was the first musical to hold my attention from beginning to end and the soundtrack is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wicked CD is incredible!

    I saw the show and ordered the CD. Even though it was different performers, the CD is outstanding and even more than I had hoped for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    Read the Book too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Idina Menzel is a goddess!

    This show and this album changed my life! I especially love "Defying Gravity."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Glass half full or half empty?

    I've listened to this cd almost addictively, and I remain an admirer of many things about it, including the performances - it's really more a show about Kristin Chenoweth and Idina Mentzel than about Glinda and Elphaba - the wit of the lyrics, the overall shape and meaning of the show. But the more I listen to any single cut, the less radiant it seems, and that's an experience that's the direct opposite of the experience I like to have, and have with shows of a higher musical and literary quality. I love the show, but I'm not sure how well it'll stand up to the judgment of history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A masterpiece that shouldn't be missed!

    I love this album. The music is fantastic and I can't wait to see the actual musical on stage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    If you can't see it this is the next best thing.

    After reading the book I was pleasently surprised to find that this went along with my ideas of how it should be. To bad this isn't out on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great soundtrack

    This is one of the best soundtracks I've listened to - great sound quality

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10