Customer Reviews for

Wicked Becomes You

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Burned not Once but Twice

    She’s been burned not once but twice by London’s so-called gentlemen. . .Gwen Maudsley is pretty enough to be popular, and plenty wealthy, too. But what she’s best known and loved for is being so very, very nice. When a cad jilts her at the altar—again—the scandal has her outraged friends calling for blood. Only Gwen has a different plan. If nice no longer works for her, then it’s time to learn to be naughty. Happily, she knows the perfect tutor—Alexander Ramsey, her late brother’s best friend and a notorious rogue.

    So why won’t a confirmed scoundrel let her be as bad as she wants to be? Unbeknownst to Gwen, Alex’s aloof demeanor veils his deepest unspoken desire. He has no wish to see her change, nor to tempt himself with her presence when his own secrets make any future between them impossible. But on a wild romp from Paris to the Riviera, their friendship gives way to something hotter, darker, and altogether more dangerous. With Alex’s past and Gwen’s newly unleashed wildness on a collision course, Gwen must convince Alex that his wickedest intentions are exactly what she needs.

    Gwen considers herself to be a friend to ALL in London's society. She obeys every rule, smiles at insults, charms all those around her, doesn't go cycling because it requires split skirts, refrains from singing in company, declines wicked parlor games, and even "refuses every second glass of wine!" (pg. 44) No matter who jilts her at the alter (twice!), she passionate about bouncing back because she doesn't want anyone's pity. Yet, she's sick of ALWAYS being cheerful and having her friends "campaign to save Gwen from Eternal Humiliation" (pg. 69) and so she decides to break some rules and finally live on the wicked side. She gets some help from a old family friend, Alex, who happens to be a notorious rake and together they get wild in Paris and quite naughty in Monte Carlo. But, can Gwen keep up the charade when she starts developing feelings toward her partner in crime?

    I was blown away with how much I enjoyed Duran's writing style. I got sucked into the story that I finished half the book upon my first time reading Wicked Becomes You. The plot was very refreshing and the reader can easily understand Gwen's innocent personality as well as her new passion to explore the unknown. The visual writing was superb and the settings really come to life (ex: "Smartly dressed ladies hopped fearlessly from omnibuses, and servants shuffled past with their various charges -- nannies escorting little boys in velvet knickerbockers and cuffs of Belgian lace; maids dragged by tonsured poodles, which lunged at the olive peddlers and made the girls selling fresh carnations shriek and jump away.") (pg. 104) Good Stuff! It was also a joy to read how the two main characters bullied each other into silly dares or to reveal shocking truths. Unfortunately, the ending kind of went flat for me and really put a damper on the whole tale, but it won't stop me from checking out more of Duran's work.

    Likes: There were parts of the story that had me laughing out loud, which is always a great thing from a book!

    Dislikes: I felt like both characters kind of lost a bit of their spark (ie. what made them both uniquely fascinating) in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Eh...

    I'd read a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not quite as wicked as I wanted it to be....but still good

    The first few chapters of Wicked Becomes You are mesmerizing, and I think that the very first line of the book is one of the best I've read in a long time (see below). I was enchanted by Gwen, and was rooting for her to discover who she really was. At first she surprises herself and everyone else by her daring, and I found her first few attempts to break free of societal restraints completely charming. I couldn't wait to see what she would do next, especially in her pursuit of Alex. However, about halfway into the story the focus on the story shifted it's focus to a man Alex believes has swindled property that belonged to Alex's brother and is a mysterious and dangerous business rival of his.

    I felt that this part of the story was distracting, and unfortunately didn't feel that it added anything significant to the plot. Instead of scheming to infiltrate the home of his rival to do some reconnaissance, then a hasty flight to the Riviera to escape when there true identities are revealed, I wish the author would have focused on how Gwen re-entered the London "ton" after shedding her persona. I wanted to know how "wicked" she would be when faced with the world in which she lived on a daily basis. Would the pressure for perfection outweigh her need for rebellion? I don't think it would have, but I dearly would have loved to see Gwen return to London and interact and reveal her true self to her friends and acquaintances. And it's possible that if the author would have written an epilogue that I would have felt that Gwen's journey was more complete, than I felt it was on the final page. I craved those few scenes where she no longer smiled and pretended ignorance while being insulted, to show her core of strength and sense of worth not for how much money she had, but for the kind and beautiful person that she was.

    There were also a few other things that didn't quite work for me.almost but not quite. Alex has been a wanderer for most of his adult life, partly to make his fortune as a younger son, partly to run away from his attraction to Gwen, but also because it's in his blood. At the end of the story Alex decides to give up this life in order to give Gwen the life he feels she wants in England. I almost wish that Alex would have proposed to give Gwen the "world".to show her the things she wanted to discover and explore, obviously not forever.but occasionally. To show that she is the perfect match for him.a compromise of sorts. To have him abandon what he so obviously loves, no matter how much he loves Gwen felt almost as if he was giving up a part of himself.

    Overall, I did enjoy Wicked Becomes You, especially at the beginning of Gwen's self discovery, but the last half of the book wasn't as beguiling and lost some of its magic for me, as the focus drifted from Alex and Gwen, to the mystery surrounding his brother and his business rival. This was my first book by Meredith Duran, and while it didn't live up to the potential I thought it had at the beginning, I liked it enough that I will definitely be seeking out several of her previous releases.

    Overall: 4.00 stars
    Sensuality level: 3.00 (A few love scenes, that are pretty much the same heat level you get from many historical romances published today)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wildly Wicked and Passionate

    Alex hides a painful secret and he's determine to protect it even if it costs him the heart of the woman he loves. Gwen, her wealth making her wildly popular, wants nothing more than to be loved. Unfortunately this is difficult even for this sweet and always respectable girl. Left standing alone at the altar not once, but twice, Gwen comes to the decision that she must make some changes if she's ever going to make herself happy. Unbeknownst to her, Alex loves her exactly like she is and refuses to help her change from her sweet and pure image to one a bit darker. As we all know, however, you can't stop love and eventually the friendship between Alex and Gwen turns into something dark and passionate. Will Gwen find what she's truly looking for in Alex or will the secret he keeps destroy their budding romance and the friendship both held so dear?

    Having never read any of Meredith Duran's book before, I can't really compare WICKED BECOMES YOU to her others. What I can do is tell you that I am a brand new fan of Ms. Duran. I found this book to be an excellent read, drawing me in from literally the first line.

    Sometimes you come across a book and immediately know whether you're going to love it or hate it. I'm not saying this initial reaction is always correct, but it does influence how one will perceive the rest of the story. In the case of WICKED BECOMES YOU, I had barely read the first paragraph when I knew that this was going to be an incredibly difficult book to set down and I was right. Ms. Duran's writing lends an air of mystery to the book. She gives us the story in pieces, a bit here and a bit there. Leading us along with a carrot on a string instead of just throwing it at our heads. Figuratively of course.

    On the subject of romantic tension, I must say that Ms. Duran is superb. Teasing us with blood pumping scenes and then easing off, Ms. Duran practically has us begging for it. The fantastic chemistry between Gwen and Alex only serves to make the romance that much sweeter and the passion that much hotter.

    My favorite aspect of WICKED BECOMES YOU would definitely be the characters. I thought Gwen was a wonderfully sweet girl and her attempt at being naughty was actually kind of heartbreaking and exciting. This is a girl who would turn heads when walking into a room and Ms. Duran did a fantastic job of conveying that through her words. Alex also would turn heads, but perhaps from a different crowd. Both characters were robust and finely developed, really becoming the focal point of the story instead of just a vehicle for the romance.

    Fair warning time: This book has adult themes and adult scenes.

    WICKED BECOMES YOU was an excellent book (with a gorgeous cover) and one that I recommend to any lovers of Historical Romance. I have one special bookshelf for my favorite books and I've already done some rearranging to created a spot for this book. I can easily see myself pulling this down anytime I need a passionate tale; this has a high reread value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Fantastic! Wonderful Historical Romance

    WICKED BECOMES YOU by Meredith Duran is a delightful Historical Romance set in 1886 England. It is well written. The plot is wonderful. It has sensuality, secrets,finding ones true self, mystery, danger, and family. The characters are charming, witty, strong, daring and complex. This is a wonderful story of love and romance. I would highly recommend this book. It is a quick read. It is fast paced and a page turner from beginning to end. This book was received for review and details can be found at Pocket Books Romance and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Woman Who Becomes Strong

    I decided to read this book because it looked like it was a story where a woman bound by convention and society breaks free to find out her true strength. This book did not disappoint. Upon her second jilting, Gwen decides to throw out her family's wishes to marry for title and find out what she truly wants out of life. The only way she knew to do this is to become utterly "wicked" for a woman of those times so she could finally be free to act how she wants. Alex, her brother's best friend, knows that this undertaking will have consequences that she may not recover and so tries to steer her away from her own destruction while finding himself more intrigued than he had ever had been in the past. He had always admired her quick wit even if it was mostly hidden by convention. This new Gwen shows him a part of himself he never thought existed. As she grows in spirit and self, so does Alex. That was the surprising part in this book. Not that he found it within himself to love her fully since romance books are full of those aspects, but he also grew as a human being. Finding that he was not at all as sure of himself as he pretended.

    This book was a short fast read with a couple of good steamy bits. However, this book is more on the heavy side of romance and not erotica. I give this book 3 1/2 stars and recommend it to anyone wanting a light read with a bit of fun in the romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Gwen is a sweet girl that everyone loves. When she left once again standing at the alter alone, she decides she's done playing ms. nice girl and will instead be a bad girl. Alexander decides to help Gwen with her personality transformation. The problem is Alexander is smitten with Gwen and doesn't want her to change anything about herself. The two become extremely close and in the end they both end up learning very important lessons from each other.

    Wow. I thought that the plot sounded good which is why I agreed to read this book but I ended up loving it more than I thought I would. Any romance lover should read this book because the writing is breath-taking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining late Victorian romance

    In 1890 Gwen Maudsley has everything going for her except a husband. Wealthy, she is a nice person and very pretty; yet she has been jilted on two occasions by gentlemen. She has decided being sweet does not work amongst the males of the Ton.

    Gwen chooses her late brother Richard's best friend Alexander Ramsey to teach her how to be sinfully wicked. Alex has known Gwen all his life and has loved her from afar. However, he also believes he is unworthy of her. Reluctantly, he agrees though he fears once they start he will not be able to let go of the woman he loves who deserves better than someone like him. They cross the Channel to Paris and beyond, but his past and their attraction collide.

    This is an entertaining late Victorian romance starring two people who share the tragic death of her brother four years earlier and a feeling that they are undeserving of love. Although the plot is thin, readers will root for the lead couple as each must face their own demons if they want to embrace their love for one another.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3