Customer Reviews for

Wicked Burn

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wicked Burn by Beth Kery

I ended up staying up WAY past my bedtime to finish "Wicked Burn" by Beth Kery. It was worth every yawn I suffered through today! I just intended to read a few chapters, but the author sucked me in with her wickedly hot love scenes and emotional story.

Niall ...
I ended up staying up WAY past my bedtime to finish "Wicked Burn" by Beth Kery. It was worth every yawn I suffered through today! I just intended to read a few chapters, but the author sucked me in with her wickedly hot love scenes and emotional story.

Niall has been existing, but not living, for the last several years. The violent death of her child changed her world in almost every way. It's taken all her strength to just get through each day...and the nightmares don't help. When she's saved by her sexy neighbor from an overly amorous date, the sparks fly and the next thing Niall knows they're burning up the sheets. But Niall is keeping some pretty harsh secrets, and as the sex becomes a relationship, she's terrified of what her lover might do when he finds out.

Vic is a successful writer. He doesn't have a problem getting women...temporarily and on his terms. He's noticed his sexy neighbor even though she's not his type, but on her, even her pearls turn him on. And when the attraction explodes into the hottest affair he's ever had, Vic slowly realizes this might be what he'd given up on finding. Of course, the one thing Vic can't stand is a liar or a cheat.

A whole bunch of the hottest monogamous sex you'll read interspersed with a poignant story that may bring a few tears. Sure, the hero and heroine jump into bed, but there's actually a plot advancing reason for it. And at times I was frustrated with the heroine, but I can't begin to imagine the horrors she's faced and the lack of support she received from her family. And there were times I didn't like Vic too much either, but again, 'screw me once, to hell with you...screw me twice, to hell with me!' could pretty much be his motto. I don't want to give too much away, but I think fans of emotional erotica will definitely enjoy this one.

posted by jjmachshev on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good summer read

Enjoyable story. A good one to read after 50 Shades

posted by Bunnypoop on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wicked Burn by Beth Kery

    I ended up staying up WAY past my bedtime to finish "Wicked Burn" by Beth Kery. It was worth every yawn I suffered through today! I just intended to read a few chapters, but the author sucked me in with her wickedly hot love scenes and emotional story.<BR/><BR/>Niall has been existing, but not living, for the last several years. The violent death of her child changed her world in almost every way. It's taken all her strength to just get through each day...and the nightmares don't help. When she's saved by her sexy neighbor from an overly amorous date, the sparks fly and the next thing Niall knows they're burning up the sheets. But Niall is keeping some pretty harsh secrets, and as the sex becomes a relationship, she's terrified of what her lover might do when he finds out.<BR/><BR/>Vic is a successful writer. He doesn't have a problem getting women...temporarily and on his terms. He's noticed his sexy neighbor even though she's not his type, but on her, even her pearls turn him on. And when the attraction explodes into the hottest affair he's ever had, Vic slowly realizes this might be what he'd given up on finding. Of course, the one thing Vic can't stand is a liar or a cheat. <BR/><BR/>A whole bunch of the hottest monogamous sex you'll read interspersed with a poignant story that may bring a few tears. Sure, the hero and heroine jump into bed, but there's actually a plot advancing reason for it. And at times I was frustrated with the heroine, but I can't begin to imagine the horrors she's faced and the lack of support she received from her family. And there were times I didn't like Vic too much either, but again, 'screw me once, to hell with you...screw me twice, to hell with me!' could pretty much be his motto. I don't want to give too much away, but I think fans of emotional erotica will definitely enjoy this one.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    Irresistible romance

    Vic Savian is a man who recognizes what he wants when he sees it. When he finds his sexy neighbor Niall Chandler being harassed by an aggressive date, Vic knows exactly what he wants. He wants Niall in his arms and in his bed. Vic takes a chance and finds himself richly rewarded for his efforts.<BR/><BR/>Niall Chandler is not the impulsive type, so she surprises herself by sleeping with her gorgeous neighbor the first night they meet. She cannot believe that she had such a mind-blowing, passionate tryst with a man whose last name she doesn¿t even know. For three years, Niall has been going through life in a daze. Vic reawakens not only her passion, but also her very soul with his powerful, uninhibited, sensual touches. She experiences things with Vic that she has never felt before. Is there a future for two people whose explosive passion erupts each time they touch? Will Niall and Vic allow themselves to explore possibilities beyond the boundaries of the bedroom? <BR/> <BR/>WICKED BURN is Beth Kery¿s first novel from Berkley Sensation. It is a passionate, soul-stirring novel about two people who have both been hurt in the past. Vic Savian and Niall Chandler each possess scars from past relationships, making it hard for either to trust easily. Vic is the epitome of an Alpha male; he is a take-charge, no-holds-barred, virile man who takes what he wants with passion. Niall has been through hell for the past few years, yet her strength continues to hold her together when everything around her seems to be falling apart. Both characters have such amazing depth and intriguing personalities that I fell in love with them immediately. <BR/><BR/>Beth Kery¿s writing is filled with so much emotion that it instantly pulls the reader into the heart of the story. She brings her characters to life with her descriptive prose and realistic dialogue. I experienced each passionate high and heart-wrenching low that Vic and Niall went through in their complex, sensual journey. I laughed with these people and cried with them. I held my breath as they came together in some of the sexiest love scenes I have read this year. One particular love scene involving a string of pearls is so erotic that I will never look at a pearl necklace the same way ever again. Pick up a copy of this unforgettable, sensually irresistible romance and find out why Ms. Kery is one of today¿s rising stars of romance.<BR/><BR/>Review courtesy of RomanceJunkies.com

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Jrsygrl

    I really enjoyed reading this one. Kept me on the edge of my seat. Great read!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A good summer read

    Enjoyable story. A good one to read after 50 Shades

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Hot, Hot, Hot!

    This was a great book. Very real, and relateable. Highly recommend!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    loved it!!!

    The writing is great and I enjoy how it xomes from both charcters in the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Great book

    I loved 50 shades and this book is recommended if you are looking for a similar read.



    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Enjoyed IT!

    Great characters and story line. The sex was hot! I couldn't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wickedly hot!!

    I am so happy that I found this book it was hot, sexy, and so heartfelt! Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a poignant contemporary romance

    In Chicago with so many traumas in her life, no one blames Niall Chandler for hiding from the world. She has had no time to grieve the death of her child or cope with her husband locked away in an institution.<BR/><BR/>Divorced playwright Vic Savian meets Niall when he intercedes in her rejection of the unwanted advances of Evan Forrester; Vic had seen her twice before and was already attracted to her. She is ready to come out of her shell at least physically; their tryst is heaven in Vic¿s mind. However when she prevents his entering her heart and soul, Vic initially thought that was fine but soon realizes that is hell as she gets inside his gut with her nightmarish cries that scream out for hugs. Vic is in love, but her demons make a relationship beyond sex seemingly impossible and then there are the two family intrusions.<BR/><BR/>This is a poignant contemporary romance starring two scarred lovers who have demons from past relationships. With so much baggage neither feels at first ready for anything more than sex, but soon mindful of the Spinners¿ tune And Then Came You makes each reconsider their failed history when it comes to loved ones. Vic soon wants to change the dynamics. Beth Kery provides a deep angst laden tale filled with real characters wanting much more out of life but lessons learned have led to settling for much less.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Good love story

    Omg sex in this book amazing dragged sum parts but really good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Its at simivi

    Second to last result.)) She takes her there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Cedarkit

    Take me there

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    HOT READ!

    Was missing a good read after the Fifty Shades and Cross
    Fire series Great story, hot sex scenes was difficult to put down! I am trying to decide which will be my next read from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    One of BK's best

    Strong characters, good story and hot. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    What fun!

    Well worth loseing some sleep over!
    Loved the writing ~ how it was written the both the character's voices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    No second book?

    Their is so much more to write with these characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Sexy!

    This book was loaded with sex which I loved. It did have a good story and all that but was still hot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Disapointed

    Really bad book. Couldn't finish it.

    LOVETOREAD???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Good Story

    Niall meets Vic on accident one evening and sleeps with him but they fall in love with each other immediately. Niall holds out on a secret that eventually breaks them apart all due to a misunderstanding but they soon make amends and continue their lust for one another.

    Good sex if you have a good imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4