Customer Reviews for

Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night (Immortals after Dark Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 740 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(507)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

When Kresley Cole writes a romantic fantasy reders know it is going to be great

In 1827 Mariah of the Three Bridges is murdered in the shadow of the full moon. Her last sight is watching her beloved Bowen MacRieve of the Lykae Clan howl at the full moon in rage.--------------- In 2007 Bowen remains angry, frustrated and acrimonious as he has ove...
In 1827 Mariah of the Three Bridges is murdered in the shadow of the full moon. Her last sight is watching her beloved Bowen MacRieve of the Lykae Clan howl at the full moon in rage.--------------- In 2007 Bowen remains angry, frustrated and acrimonious as he has over the past nine score and he has become a bit of a hermit. When offered a chance to participate in the treacherous and grueling Talisman┬┐s Hie, he immediately accepts. Bowen believes the risk is nothing only his life but the prize is everything as winning enables him to go back to 1827 and correct the pivotal tragedy that has shaped his life since--------- Mariketa the Awaited leader of the House of Witches has strong reasons to win the contest hosted every two and a half centuries by the Goddess of Impossibilities Riora. Though the Witch is prepared for any contingency, the revolting acrid Lykae fools her and ensnares Mari in a deadly cave Mari in turn casts a death spell on Bowen. He realizes he must save her to save himself if he is save Mariah. However, he is confused as he reacts to Riora as if she is his soulmate, not Mariah.---------------------- When Kresley Cole writes a romantic fantasy, there is NO REST FOR THE WICKED or readers as fans finish her exhilarating complex tales in one wonderful sitting. WICKED DEEDS ON A WINTER┬┐S NIGHT may be the best entry in the Cole Lore as the lead couple is deadly rivals who over the course of the competition turn from enemy combatants into beloved enemies. Readers will relish this powerful entry as the mythos of the sentient races not human entertainingly expands leaving the audience with a HUNGER LIKE NO OTHER for the next saga.---------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

could have been better

this book started out good but lost steam when the characters so quickly changed their personalities. Right when it should have been reaching a climactic point, the characters changed in a way that wasn´t consistant with their character in the beginning. It ruine...
this book started out good but lost steam when the characters so quickly changed their personalities. Right when it should have been reaching a climactic point, the characters changed in a way that wasn´t consistant with their character in the beginning. It ruined it and made it seem ridiculous.

posted by 1084381 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 746 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    When Kresley Cole writes a romantic fantasy reders know it is going to be great

    In 1827 Mariah of the Three Bridges is murdered in the shadow of the full moon. Her last sight is watching her beloved Bowen MacRieve of the Lykae Clan howl at the full moon in rage.--------------- In 2007 Bowen remains angry, frustrated and acrimonious as he has over the past nine score and he has become a bit of a hermit. When offered a chance to participate in the treacherous and grueling Talisman¿s Hie, he immediately accepts. Bowen believes the risk is nothing only his life but the prize is everything as winning enables him to go back to 1827 and correct the pivotal tragedy that has shaped his life since--------- Mariketa the Awaited leader of the House of Witches has strong reasons to win the contest hosted every two and a half centuries by the Goddess of Impossibilities Riora. Though the Witch is prepared for any contingency, the revolting acrid Lykae fools her and ensnares Mari in a deadly cave Mari in turn casts a death spell on Bowen. He realizes he must save her to save himself if he is save Mariah. However, he is confused as he reacts to Riora as if she is his soulmate, not Mariah.---------------------- When Kresley Cole writes a romantic fantasy, there is NO REST FOR THE WICKED or readers as fans finish her exhilarating complex tales in one wonderful sitting. WICKED DEEDS ON A WINTER¿S NIGHT may be the best entry in the Cole Lore as the lead couple is deadly rivals who over the course of the competition turn from enemy combatants into beloved enemies. Readers will relish this powerful entry as the mythos of the sentient races not human entertainingly expands leaving the audience with a HUNGER LIKE NO OTHER for the next saga.---------- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read in one day!!!

    I am loving this series. Kresley Cole takes the paranormal romance up a notch. Each addition to her series places the reader with new species in Lore, while keeping it modern. Anyone that has read my previous reviews knows I am partial to shapeshifters, and Bowen was right up my alley!! I also love that Mari is strong and holds her own against this strong force of a man. This book was so easy to read and hard to put down. The sexual tension between Mari and Bowen was HOT, HOT, HOT!! A MUST READ!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book!

    I read this book first in the series and I could not put it down! the characters are funny and interesting. Mari's character is strong, not pathetic around Bowen, that's what I liked the most about her. This book made me laugh so many times that people kept on looking at me like I was crazy. If you like books with romance and action, i highly recommend this book. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOw Wow WOW!!

    Wanted to read about Bowe since the first book. Thank you so much for the chance! I completely inhaled the McCarrick brother series and this one is also about a rugged Scot! I so love them.. There is so much suspense in this book and a lot that you just are tryin to think through while you read. But it's an amazin read! I haven't been able to put any of these books down an this one was no exception! O an the sex scenes are way more steamy than any of her other books, no comparison! The witch Mari is a very loveable character. Its sad what she has had to go through her whole life. I wanted to understand her more from the time we met her in the sec book bc she was wearin that cloak. And now you get to learn and understand so much about both of them. I loved this book and would def recommend it to anyone who has read the first 2.... that's a must!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    could have been better

    this book started out good but lost steam when the characters so quickly changed their personalities. Right when it should have been reaching a climactic point, the characters changed in a way that wasn´t consistant with their character in the beginning. It ruined it and made it seem ridiculous.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    Truly Amazing!

    I have read all of Kresley Cole's books however this book I have read at least three times. I have never read a more sexual/sensual book. You absolutely get caught up in the characters and you can completely loose yourself in the story each time you read it. You do not walk away feeling the author could have done more. Kresley Cole has done an incredible job with all of her books but this one won my heart. Whether you are at a good point in your life or having a tough time with your life if you read this book trust me when I say "you will feel like you can handle anything" after reading it. I always walked away with a warm feeling and for the time it took me to read the book all my problems did not seem to exist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Best Plot of the Series

    This book's a roller coaster of excitement, great character development, and one of the best plots I've read in what I'd classify as a 'true' paranormal romance in a long time. 'Wicked Deeds' opens with a tie-in to the second book in the 'Immortals After Dark' series, 'No Rest for the Wicked'. The Hie, a legendary contest for immortal warriors, is still in full swing, and we glimpse the goings-on of a few competitors met in the previous novel. Witch-hating Bowen, a Lykae (werewolf) male, lost his only predestined mate centuries ago. Denying himself the pleasures of women ever since, he stays faithful to his lost Mariah until mortal, beautiful witch Mariketa crosses his path during the very contest that could win him back Mariah. But when he fails to win the challenge and thus loses his mate a second time, it seems that Fate has given him a chance for happiness again -- his Instinct roars that Mariketa too is his. But this is nearly impossible by all the supernatural Lore's beliefs -- or is it? As they trek across Central America, young Mariketa's powers grow every step of the way -- as does the pair's attraction and bond. But Fate alone cannot keep wolf and witch together, it seems, when the rest of the world -- and even their own personalities seem set to rip through their tenuous hold on one another. This book moves quite a bit slower than the other two by Cole I've read thus far, but it's definitely worth it. The plot's complex and twisted, and by the end of the book, you're wholly satisfied with the plot. There are a few scenes that felt a bit extraneous -- either that or a bit rushed -- but aside from this, it's quite good. The characters, especially Mariketa, are more realistic than I'd have expected. She's unsure of herself and has faults enough to shatter her attractive form and pretty face she's jealous and possessive, and a bit unforgiving, tempermental at times. But who's perfect? She's more likable to readers this way. More world-building -- awesome world-building. More characters I want to see explored, more history revealed. Give it to me! I certainly liked 'Wicked Deeds' as much as 'No Rest', though for different reasons. It doesn't quite have the same ever-blasting scorching sex or multitude of locales, but it still kept my attention very well, which is saying something about the writing. All in all, I heartily pass this to anyone with a very glowing recommendation. Beautiful, Cole. You've written an exceptional and touching novel, something I would rarely say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    EEEEEEE!!!! Bowen is so tough and I love Mariketa, don't mess wi

    EEEEEEE!!!! Bowen is so tough and I love Mariketa, don't mess with her!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    As soon as I started this book I could not put it down. I love this whole story. These two have to be my favorite characters so far. This book introduces you to new characters that I started to look forward to reading about. This has to be my favorite book of the series so far. I want to re-read it over & over again. I also liked this book because Mariketa was mentioned to have curves which was refreshing. She is still fit but curvy so that was a bit different. If you love paranormal, romance & intense sexual encounters I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Midnightur

    PARTY TIME KITTIES!!!!!!!! RRRRRRRRIIIIIIIICCCCCCOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    PARTYFUR

    WEEEEEEEE PARTY PARTY PARTY *fires party cannon at all your faces weeeee*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Blackclaw

    *pads in lays in his nest on the very middle where it is warm and sleeps(its like -10 at me house and one day it was -50 wind chill)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Junglespeed

    /•\ The Co-Deputy padded tiredly along the Den's Edging, his auds perked. He looked lightly irritated, and nestled down into a soft nest, hidden by crippling shadows. /•\

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Snakeshadow

    The small black tom silently slunk in unnoti ced. His bright emerald gaze scanning the den and nests. Every inch of the den itself with a measured critical gaze. His gaze landed on Squirrelflight and he just watched a moment motionless before getting to his paws and turned to exit the den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Squirrelflight is leaving forever

    Say bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Rosestar

    She touched her nose to Squirrelflight's cold pelt,"Go well my dear friend, go well," she and Blackclaw drag her body to camp.
    <p>
    ~Rosestar~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Great read

    Great read, love me some Bowen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Another hit

    Ms. Burton has another series hit. Sexy small town cop with relationship baggage meets vet Dr. with similar issues. Hot, funny at times and mystery. Enjoyed it. Looking forward to many more. (260pgs)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Awesome

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Steamy!!

    Defenetly better than the last one. Werewolfs are the best lovers of all the Lore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 746 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38