Customer Reviews for

Wicked Game (WVMP Radio Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vampire radio!

    I picked this up as a bargain book just because I loved the concept -- a vampire radio station! Ciara is far from the typical vampire novel girl. Her background is sketchy and she really needs the job at the radio station. Each vampire is so unique and their story so enjoyable that I found this hard to put down. There is a great mystery to the story as well. It is not 'just another vampire story'. Unique concept, unique characters and a unique writing style make it a great read for anyone into the paranormal fiction genre. My only warning is please note it is an adult book, not teen. There are some pretty graphic scenes (both sexual and violence).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Time of Your Life - Is it the Time of Your Afterlife?

    The time of your life can set the tone of your undeath. But that's the last thing on Ciara's mind as she applies for an internship at the radio station WMMP. She doesn't expect the station has something to hide, because she's desperate to hide her own past. But the DJ's of the station have history darker than grifter religious parents and a skill with con artistry that have led Ciara astray. They maybe the immortal vampires who found a way to survive in the modern world - but they have a difficult secret as well that binds them as tightly as Ciara's past. Six ageless beings with a thirst for blood have come to a halt, each frozen in their own time period at the moment of their death. But the triumph of their home, WMMP is that the station celebrates these periods by their music. That victory is short lived because now the very thing that is their sanctuary maybe up for sale. But the staid are about to be rocked by the unexpected in Ciara who always finds an angle and this one will shock even her- why not tell the truth for a change. So WVMP, the Lifeblood of Rock and Roll is born...

    Jeri takes the tropes for vampirism and turns them around. Lots of interesting ideas, snappy dialog and characters that you want to follow. Perfect for a late night read or a guilty pleasure at the beach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rock & Roll Vampires!

    Rock and roll. Vampires. Sexy DJs. What's not to love about this book?

    Ciara wants to go straight after growing up in a family of grifters, and has a chance at a "real job" as a marketing intern for an independent radio station. Little does she know what she's getting into...as the DJs are all vampires, stuck in the past. The radio station gives them the opportunity to survive, by blending their past realities with acceptable doses of the present.

    Thought that this was a great start to an interesting series, and loved how Jeri included a playlist at the beginning of the book. The DJs are all intriguing, either in spite of or because of being stuck in a past era. The humans are also very relatable. Especially enjoyed Franklin, the marketing director who has his own unique salesmanship methods.

    This was a well written book with a good plot that stood on it's own and didn't get bogged down in details. The characters were all believable, and most of them were likable. Lots of good music thrown into the mix as well, some of which I had to look up online. Gave this one a solid 4/5 rating, as I really enjoyed everything about the book! Looking forward to reading the rest of the series, as I can't wait to see what happens next at WVMP!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The only thing I didn't like about this book is that it ended!

    I have to tell you that this book satisfies on EVERY level! I have been SERIOUSLY obsessed with the vampire genre since reading the Twilight series in June... read the series THREE times, and have since been trying to find another author/plot that offers the same level of satisfaction. Ms. Smith-Ready has hit the nail on the head! She offers a new twist to the genre and keeps true to the "all vampires aren't bad" theme... in fact HERS are darned good ;) I cannot WAIT for the next installment of this series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    A fun, interesting read!

    A fun, interesting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny

    It was funny. Well it was to me any way but i have a really weird sense of hummor...so yeah. Even if it wasnt funny it still has a few twists and the writing was good was well. Over all i liked it and will be reading the next book, Bad to the Bone. *-*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique Outlook on Vampires

    It's hard to find a really good book, let alone a really good vampire series. Most vampire book are all the same basic setup just different scenarios, not the case in Wicked Game. The vampires in this series are forever stuck in the era in which they died. Could you imagine forever being stuck in the 80's? blah! Ciara finds a job at the local radio station only to find out that the DJ's are anything but human. Why are they so knowledgeable about the music they play? Because they lived through that time. Vampires. She cooks up a scheme to announce to the public that "Hey our radio station has vampires as DJ's" as an marketing tool to generate more business, the public loves this and the station is booming, until Gideon, an older vampire, causes trouble. Although the public doesn't actually believe that the DJ's are vampires, Gideon still doesn't like that Ciara has brought attention to their DJ's. Another Plus is the love interest Shane, he's a younger vampire and Ciara has hope that she can get him out of his 90's era and into the now. The only thing i found i didn't like was that the vampires aren't able to learn new things, to be up to date i guess and supposedly only live around 80 years. A very different outlook on vampires. I really enjoyed this book though and would recommend it to anyone who loves vampires!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Wicked Game

    Vampires isn't particularly my thing, so this was not a favorite!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LAME ATTEMPT

    NOT A GREAT READ. WOULD DO IF YOU ARE IN DIRE SITUATION OTHERWISE DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Passable

    Based on writing style I'd assume this book targeted young readers (early- to mid-teens) but with sexual content I don't feel is quite appropriate to that age group. So I must conclude the author was actually targeting adult readers and, therefore, the writing's a bit weak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    That was totally Wicked!!

    I'm a big vampire fan (in literature, anyway), so I was excited when I found this one. It sounded unlike any other vampire book I'd ever read before. And it was. It was fairly fast paced, with several unexpected twists, and complete orginality.
    While some of my fellow vamp geeks found the Radio Station theme to be a little cheesey, I was amused and endeared by it. Anouther problem my f.v.g.'s had was the total lack of clich-ness of today's vamp books. (Sexy vampire, sexy vampire, she can't resist him because he's a sexy vampire.)Don't expect to find any mystical obsessions, perfect ideals, or otherwise in this book. DO expect to find a sweet love story, kick butt save-the-day routines, and a super suprise ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hellah COOL!

    What a SUPERB premise for a book! Excellent music and excellent vamps and humans.
    I swear, I could not read this book fast enough. I knew I needed to go to bed and actually sleep. Kept saying, "One more page, oh, one more chapter." Tired as could be the next day, but well worth it. I can't wait to read more of this series and see what happens to Ciara and Shane and the rest of WVMP, the Lifeblood of Rock'n'Roll gang. I added a few tunes to the mp3 player and my 'Tunes for the Funeral and Wake' list I keep going as a word doc. You can never be too ready for it to be a party at any time.

    I know I will read more of Jeri's series of which she has two and a stand alone (fantasticfiction.co.uk list)

    Five bloody rockin' good beans.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    rock on, WVMP!

    i never, ever thought anyone would combine my two biggest loves : music and vampires. but JSR did it, and BRILIANTLY. i was hooked from the moment i opened the book and saw the playlist on the first page, to the very ending. the story is incredibly engaging and engrossing, and keeps you wildly involved at every single juncture. it's defintely not one of those "work your way through" books, it's a one-sitting read for sure.

    the premise? trying-to-reform-herself Ciara Griffn interviews for a summertime marketing internship at the local radio station. what she doesn't know is that all the DJ's are vampires, each stuck in their own "time", IE : the time period they died in. along with getting used to this idea, she's also got the mega-conglomerate Skywave breathing down her neck to buy out the station and turn it into one of their drudge outlets of crappiness, thus displacing the vampires, who consider the station their only link to the "current" world and their home. It also doesn't help that one of the vampires, Shane, is devilishly attractive, and Ciara is drawn to him from the start.

    action packed, witty, snarky, and with a cast of characters that are immediately loveable (and hateable in some cases) from start to finish, "Wicked Game" is a must-read for anyone with a deep seeded love in music, a deep seeded love in vampires, and especially for anyone who loves BOTH as much as i do. JSR's plays on the vampire mythos are interesting (especially what happens to a vampire once you stake them!). Overall, i give the book five stars out of a possible five, and am anxiously awaiting it's sequel (s)! (Bad to the Bone comes out May 16th!)

    (review by Jennzah, http://ohkamikaze.net)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Original, Off-beat Concept on Vampires

    I regret waiting so long to read this book. It was fantastic! Ciara Griffin is a con artist who has taken her first honest job at a local radio station. Little does she know, the station is run by vampires who are on the verge of losing their radio station/crypt. For the first time in her life, she actually cares about a cause other than herself, and sets about to try and save the station. Being a con artist/thief, Ciara is use to stealing/duping others out of their possessions. Little does she know, the jokes on her this time, because her heart is about to be stolen. This was a creative story full off-the-wall humor with a side of action. I highly recommend this book and looked forward to the sequel Bad to the Bone May 2009.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book

    I can't wait for her next book! I read this in one sitting and loved it. Yes, it's a vampire story, but there's just enough of a twist in these vampires to keep it interesting. And Ciara is such a cool heroine. She's a good girl with bad roots and finding out about her past is half the fun. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    COULDENT BRING MYSELF TO PUT IT DOWN!!!

    THIS IS THE FIRST BOOK IN YEARS THAT HAS TRULLY DRAWN ME IN FROM CHAPTER ONE!!! I READ THIS BOOK IN 3 DAYS...BECAUSE I COULDENT BARE TO PUT IT DOWN! THE PEOPLE, THE SETTINGS, AND THE FEELINGS I GOT WHEN READING THIS BOOK ACTUALLY PUT ME IN THE BOOK! I WOULD TELL ANYONE WHO LOVES A GOOD FANTASY BOOK THAT THEY NEED TO READ THIS! AND MAKE SURE IF U DO THAT U ARE PREPARED... WITH A BIG GLASS OF SOMETHING TO DRINK, SNACKS, GOOD LIGHTING, A WARM BLANKET, AND NO REASON TO LEAVE! BECAUSE IF U DO HAVE TO LEAVE, U WILL FIND URSELF RUSHING TO GET BACK WANTING TO KNOW WHATS NEXT! <BR/><BR/>I JUST HOPE HER OTHER BOOKS ARE AS HARD TO PUT DOWN AS THIS ONE WAS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Rock Music & Vampires!

    Rock Music & Vampires, two of my favorite things! Former con artist Ciara takes a job at a rock radio station WVMP. She's hired as a marketing intern. She's there to help the station, so it doesn't get bought by big corp Skywave. The DJ's are vampires that are stuck in their era. It's the music and radio station, that is the staple to their world. To survive and Not Fade Away. I found Jeri's vampire mythology very intriguing. Not only are they stuck in the era/year they died in but alot of them seem to have Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, which I find very interesting. I don't think I have ever read about vampires like these ones. Another thing I found cool about this book is that each chapter is named for a rock song. Such songs as It's Only Rock N' Roll(But I like it), Everybody Wants to Rule the World, Come As You Are. The book was fast, fun and sexy. I highly recommend it. So far it's one of my favorite book of 2008.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a brilliant vampire thriller

    Con artist Ciara Griffin has decided to leave behind the life of a cheat and become legal and morally above board. To accomplish her objective, Ciara obtains work at small radio station WWMP where no one cares about your résumé, your past, and your lack of conventional morality as long as you accept the stinky pay.--------------- However, she soon learns a fascinating sidebar about her new place of work all the night DJs are vampires who are expert musicologists on the era of their respective conversion. However, a huge conglomerate tries to buy the station with plans to change the format. Ciara worries about her night friends losing their link to humanity, especially she is concerned about grunge rocker hunk Shane who she desires. Trying to save her pals by saving the station, Ciara tells everyone listening that the night DJs are bloodsuckers knowing no one would believe her. She was thinking about human disbelief on the subject, something she is familiar with Ciara failed to consider an ancient vampire might object to her exposure in daylight scheme.--------------------- WICKED GAME is a brilliant vampire thriller in which readers will believe in magic of the supernatural as Jeri Smith-Ready makes everyone seem genuine. The concept of vampires stuck in a time warp is ingenious leading to quite a variety in music. Fans will enjoy this fun tale even if ¿It¿s Only Rock and Roll¿, blood dining, the infamous Griffin curse that rivals Greek mythology and sex, but we like it.---------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4