BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wicked Intentions (Maiden Lane Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is a terrific Georgian amateur sleuth romantic suspense

In 1737 someone is murdering people in London's dark alleys. The homicides are so gruesome rumors spread that the Ghost of St. Giles is the culprit.

When his mistress becomes a victim, Lord Lazarus Huntington vows to find the killer. To make his investigation succe...
In 1737 someone is murdering people in London's dark alleys. The homicides are so gruesome rumors spread that the Ghost of St. Giles is the culprit.

When his mistress becomes a victim, Lord Lazarus Huntington vows to find the killer. To make his investigation succeed, Lazarus needs help so hr asks Widow Temperance, whom he just meets over a baby rescue. Lord Lazarus Huntington needs Temperance's St. Giles' insider knowledge due to her owning the Home for Unfortunate Infants and Foundling Children to assist him. She agrees on the condition he find her a patron to fund her home. They investigate in seemingly every nook and cranny of St. Giles but the psychopath seems several steps ahead of them leaving behind grisly corpses for the pair to "admire" the work. As the amateur sleuths fall in love while chasing a predator, they find the Ghost of St. Giles seems to be there when they most need it.

This is a terrific Georgian amateur sleuth romantic suspense starring a refreshing heroine and an avenging hedonist. The story line is a fast-paced cat and mouse thriller with the romantic subplot enhancing the overall tension as Temperance becomes the cheese. Historical romantic suspense fans will relish this action-packed tale as a serial killer stalks London while also being the matchmaking catalyst between the lead couple pursuing after this deadly predator.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good beginning to a great series!!!

I loved all the characters and it was a good lead in to a great series! I have enjoyed all the Maiden Lane books. The only problem I had with this story was the fact that the main hero was planning to coerce the widow into an affair and use her. Of course he fell in lov...
I loved all the characters and it was a good lead in to a great series! I have enjoyed all the Maiden Lane books. The only problem I had with this story was the fact that the main hero was planning to coerce the widow into an affair and use her. Of course he fell in love with her so that made up for it.

posted by HollyReadsRomance on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Such an engaging story.

    What a great story. There was so much going on I didn't want to put it down.

    There's the story of Lord Caire and Temperance. There's the story going on with the foundling house and all the orphans. There's the story of the murder. There's the story of the ghost of St. Giles. There's the story behind Temperance's family. So much going on, and yet it all flowed together so seamlessly that I didn't really realize how much was going on until I finished the book.

    I really liked Temperance. She was willing to do what it took to keep the foundling house and her brother, from falling into ruins. Which is where Lore Caire comes into the story. Both Temperance and Lord Caire have so much "baggage" that their relationship seems is destined to never happen. Temperance's secret has haunted her for the last 9 years, and watching her unwrap that past, through Lord Caire's urging and help, was so engrossing.

    This was beautifully written. Like I said there is so much going on. It would seem that with all the different stories going on within the main story that it would get confusing, but it was all weaved together so well that I didn't really notice it. The story is also fast-paced, there were very few lulls in the story. So not only didn't I want to put it down, but it moves so fast that I didn't really get a chance to put it down. I was able to finish the entire book in only three sittings.

    There were a few things that weren't fully "tied up" in the end, but given that this is the first in the Maiden Lane Series I'm sure that was done on purpose. The loose ends really built up so much anticipation that I can't wait to get the next in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Good Read

    Good plot and characters. Good flow to the story. Keep you interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book.  Both the hero and heroine are engag

    I really enjoyed this book.  Both the hero and heroine are engaging making you want to know more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Well th the...er..physical romance in this book was very satisfy

    Well th the...er..physical romance in this book was very satisfying.




    In other words, they were HOT. Sometimes you read some sex scenes and you wonder if the writer trolled a dictionary looking for every flowery description they could find and threw it all on the page. And you wonder if you are reading a sex scene, or a gardening handbook. Just too much...and too...what's the word...TAME. I like my sex scenes realistic, and gritty. If you are trying to tell me these two people have an uncontrollable animal passion for each others...I better well feel it. I say this book delivered on that score.




    But anyway...enough about that...




    The plot. And there was one. The story starts of right in the middle of the drama. Temperance runs a home with her brother that houses and looks after destitute children. And one night coming back from picking up a new baby for the home, they come across Lord Caire leaning over a dead body. They haul tail away from the scene. But unknown to Temperance, he follows her home and to her surprise enlists her to help him find the killer of his prostitute mistress in exchange for helping her find a new Patron for their home for children. Thus begins their relationship that from the beginning sets sparks flying all around them...and their loins afire apparently. The mystery around who was killing these prostitutes I thought was kept interesting. It was a nice tasty snack to the underlying romance storyline, it added some extra, action and drama, and was ended not too predictably once the killer was revealed. 




    But what I liked the most were the glimpses we got of the other characters in the world of Maiden Lane. Winter the older, long suffering brother; Silence the youngest sister and Asa the mysterious. And of course, The Ghost of St Giles, who was like some vigilante running about saving people in St Giles in a harlequin mask and costume. I have my suspicions about who it is of course. All of these characters were very interesting and I got the distinct impression that their stories will be fleshed out in future books. I like that the threads from this first book will be continued through the next, it adds a richness to the world created, almost adds a realness to it. 




    This book only lost points because I thought it kind of dropped the ball with Lord Caire's back story. Why was he the way he was, so emotionally stunted? What happened to him in his past that made touch painful to him? And are we to believe love cured him of this problem. This are not that neat. After finishing the book, I realized we never really learned what drove him, other than the need to find this killer. Something was hinted at that happened when he was young, but it was dropped. I would like to know this story. What about his father? Why does he refuse to speak of him? My hope is that, like in this book, how we got glimpse of other people’s point of view and stories...that maybe more of his is coming.




    Overall. Book was worth the read and the characters and world grabbed me enough that I was almost tempted to get the next book right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Historical Romance is my favorite genre (Jane Austen forever!) a

    Historical Romance is my favorite genre (Jane Austen forever!) and don’t know what took me so long to find Elizabeth Hoyt and her Maiden Lane series because they have all been a delight to read. I enjoyed the WICKED INTENTIONS so much I immediately bumped the rest of the series to the top of my TBR list.

    I really liked how she developed the romance between Lord Caire and Temperance, a true case of opposites attracting. Per the synopsis description, Lazarus Huntington, Lord Caire is infamous for his wild, sensual needs, whereas Widowed Temperance Dews, who knows St. Giles like the back of her hand, has spent a lifetime caring for its inhabitants at the foundling home her family established. A degenerate and a do-gooder, yet they were a perfect match and I enjoyed their time together in the book very much. Their story begins as Lord Caire rescues Temperance from the dangerous situation she gets herself into when she is out at night in St. Giles trying to save an infant. Lord Caire was there looking for the killer of his mistress and decides he has an opportunity to use Temperance’s status in the St. Giles community, so he blackmails her into helping him. He believes her to be well-liked and trusted so he hopes the St. Giles residents would open up to her where they had shut him down. At first he wanted her not so much as a guide, although that was the term continually used, but as a liaison, and then I think after their first outing it was indeed just an excuse to indulge his fascination with her. And indulge he did, her seduction and his enchantment kept me eagerly turning the pages for more.

    Lord Caire’s character was especially delicious and cleverly written; I looked forward to each scene with him in it. This is probably a good place to point out that EH’s writing style is definitely more erotic than most historical novels I've read. He really was an unrepentant bad boy who owned his reputation and his behavior. Frankly, I loved his dirty talk and was right there with Temperance in how she reacted to it. I really loved their romance. I felt they saw right through each other right away which enabled them to be comfortable with each other in an odd way. I suppose I felt sorry for both of them being shut off emotionally and repressed in each their own way and felt that common ground unconsciously fed their intense attraction.

    There was also a side story about Temperance’s sister Silence and her husband, William, which I really liked. As a matter of fact, Silence was one of my favorite characters. I was glad to see she gets her own story in a later book in the Maiden Lane series. And of course, the mystery of the murderer and the Ghost of St. Giles were great plot devices, but for me it was all about the romance and redemption between Lord Caire and Temperance.

    My one and only minor complaint being there were several points and characters brought into play that were either not fully developed or not fully explained. I found that frustrating and this vagueness took a little away from my overall opinion, but then I am known to be a bit impatient and am hoping this was deliberate to promote the series continuity and to contain the mystery portion of each book. Even with this I would rate this book 4.5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Elizabeth Hoyt

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Wicked Intentio

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt
    Book One of the Maiden Lane series
    Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
    Publication Date: August 1, 2010
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: Publisher - won a giveaway

    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    A man controlled by his desires...

    Infamous for his wild, sensual needs, Lazarus Huntington, Lord Caire, is searching for a savage killer in St. Giles, London's most notorious slum. Widowed Temperance Dews knows St. Giles like the back of her hand— she's spent a lifetime caring for its inhabitants at the foundling home her family established. Now that home is at risk.

    A woman haunted by her past...

    Caire makes a simple offer—in return for Temperance's help navigating the perilous alleys of St. Giles, he will introduce her to London's high society so that she can find a benefactor for the home. But Temperance may not be the innocent she seems, and what begins as cold calculation soon falls prey to a passion that neither can control—one that may well destroy them both.

    A bargain neither could refuse.


    What I Liked:

    You all remember when I requested an eARC Lord of Darkness, the fifth Maiden Lane book? I read that one and LOVED it, but I hadn't read any of the previous four books. Almost immediately after, I entered and won a giveaway for all five books! So my reviews will be out of order for the series, going from book five to books one through four.

    Needless to say, you do NOT have to read this series in order! While many characters overlap between books, and it's a tad bit of a shame that I read the NEWEST book in the series and then decided to read the previous ones, nothing is needed for each new book. You can read them individually, or as a series. I LOVE THAT about this series. They're all companions, and yet, they're are part of a series.

    So. The book. I really, really liked this book. Like Lord of Darkness, Hoyt creates an intriguing plot, a unique set of characters, and NO insta-love, or quick lusty romance. While I love a chemistry-filled romance book, I love it when an author can create a book that is chemistry-filled, but not necessarily from the start, and when the author can allow the characters to fall for each other, chemistry and all.

    Caire and Temperance are AMAZING together, and apart. Caire is so strange, but he's so ruined inside! I love his brash, uncaring nature, because really, he is just a sweet man who wants everyone else to feel the same hurt that he does. I just wanted to give him a hug the WHOLE TIME! And run my hands through his hair. I have a thing for long-ish (like, shoulder-length), silvery-blond hair, on males. Yay, Caire!

    Temperance, despite my dislike for her name, is an amazing lady. I admire her strength with so many children, her love for her siblings, and her selfless nature towards everyone, but especially towards Caire. She is unflinchingly brave, courageous, and still vulnerable. Hoyt does such an amazing job with indirect characterization of both Temperance and Caire, as well as many of the secondary characters.

    I love that BOTH protagonists have a background story. Many times, in historical fiction or historical romance books, one character has a past that haunts them, but not both. I love that Hoyt's characters all have that extra level of depth.

    The plot of this story - oh, let me tell you. Usually, with historical romance books, it's generally the same, right? Man + woman + obstacle = happy ending. Well, this book, and this series as a whole, is different. There are "happy endings", which is nice, and obviously, there is romance. But so much action happens between Point A and Point B! And, a lot of that action involves secondary characters of one book who become primary characters of another book (like Silence, who appears in Book Three, and Godric, who appears in Book Five). I love how the secondary plot weaves the series together, and yet, you can pick apart the series to read each book individually.

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!


    What I Did Not Like:

    There were some... strange parts to this book. Book Five (Lord of Darkness) did not have the same odd scenes. It wasn't an inhibitor, but I didn't really feel comfortable reading them. Luckily, there were only two or three scenes with the, ah, weird scenes. Trust me, you'll know what I'm talking about if you read this particular book. 

    But the scenes didn't bother me too much! 


    Would I Recommend It:

    YES! To all adult, historical fiction, and/or historical romance book lovers, you will LOVE the originality and  superb writing of this book (and series). For mature readers only though!


    Rating:

    4 stars. I loved this book so much, but it feels like a four-star one to me. An excellent start to the series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Wha

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    What starts off as a mystery also blooms into a wicked romance that will entice romance readers for more! ~ Under the Covers

    This is the second time I'm reading this book and it's just as great as the first time I read it. WICKED INTENTIONS kicks off the Maiden Lane series with Lazarus Huntington, Lord Caire (sexy name!) and Temperance Dews. There's a killer in St. Giles and Lazarus is hoping to stop him, but he requires the help of Temperance to navigate the streets. What starts off as a mystery also blooms into a wicked romance that will entice romance readers for more!

    What's so great about this series is the mixture of mystery and romance. Hoyt expertly weaves together a story that balances both sides well while also introducing the inhabitants of the foundling home. This creates a sense of family and unity, a core that I think readers will enjoy and would like to return to again and again. Outside of that, there is mystery and intrigue and Hoyt simply takes readers on a journey that they won't forget.

    I've read all the books in the series up to book 5, LORD OF DARKNESS and can say that the first three books don't necessarily have to be read in order. Though Hoyt does spend considerable amount of time setting up the next book in the story, it doesn't take away from the book if you don't. Though books 4-6 start the Ghost of St. Giles arc, I would suggest reading those ones in order. Whatever you choose, be prepared to want to read all the books because they are exquisitely written and have plenty of passion and action to sate any reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    highly entertaining

    I enjoyed this novel as it portrays the seamier side of London and not just the Aristocratic Set. Romance period novels usually only deal with the upper classes and it was refreshing to get a glimpse of how the rest of London existed in that period.The Characters were well fleshed out and interesting as well. Am looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Hoyt is Wickedly Good

    Elizabeth Hoyt is a fantastic writer who really delves into the characters she creates. The heroines of her books are always multi-faceted, and I appreciate her willingness to pen female leads who are not always virtuous virgins. The plot was intriguing and I felt myself carried away into this series with ease.

    And the carriage scene is quite steamy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling

    My first story by Elizabeth Hoyt. This novel innovatively weaves multiple stories into one. At the risk of giving away spoilers about the reinvention of the rich and the pauper; I sense a cliffhanger? Lord Caire, Lazarus Huntington, is the only surviving child of Lady Caire. Lazarus, psychologically detached from his emotions is in the slums of London searching for the murderer of his long-term mistress. Unfamiliar with the territories of St. Giles he seeks help from Temperance Dews. A beer brewer's daughter and respected resident within the community. She agrees to his proposition in exchange for help with finding a benefactor for the family owned orphanage. With the children fed, bathed and nestled into cozy beds she and Lord Caire walk the foggy streets of St. Giles. She believes the search will be simple and straightforward but, little does she know! The reader is lured into suspense with dangerous encounters at every turn. This page turner leaves you with sinful visualizations (the secret things London society men do but never tell)and the sensation of invading Temperance Dews private thoughts (awaken desires coiled within her body). Among the chaos can the mentally wounded find love? The story is almost believable if not for the caricature qualities. Otherwise, Hoyt's arousing plots and descriptions poised like painted canvases pushes limits making the Maiden Lane Series deserving of a spot on your reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    Great book again from Elizabeth Hoyt

    Read it in one setting - only stopping to eat! Have a pretty good idea who the mystery hero is, and guess we will have to see next time around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3