Customer Reviews for

Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 2787 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1128)

4 Star

(837)

3 Star

(522)

2 Star

(163)

1 Star

(137)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

WICKED LOVELY READ

Aislinn has always been told by her Grandmother Don't stare at invisible fairies, Don't speak to invisible fairies, Don't attract the attention of invisible fairies. Aislinn has always followed the rules that her Grandmother has told her, but now the rules are not worki...
Aislinn has always been told by her Grandmother Don't stare at invisible fairies, Don't speak to invisible fairies, Don't attract the attention of invisible fairies. Aislinn has always followed the rules that her Grandmother has told her, but now the rules are not working for her. The fairies are following Aislinn, even making themselves visible to Aislinn and now one is talking to her. Aislinn knows that steel is painful to the fairies and that is where her best friend Seth lives in a railroad car. Seth's place is a safe place for Aislinn, but now the faries are following her to Seth's place and waiting outside watching her. Aislinn always see's a fairy with a wolf and she is following her everywhere. And Keenan is a fairy that makes himself visible to Aislinn and tries to talk to her and Aislinn is scared and doesn't want anything to do with him. Keenan is the Summer King who is seeking his Summer Queen and he thinks that Aislinn is the queen. Keenan's mother is the Winter Queen is has limited Keenan's powers and he needs his Summer Queen to regain his full power. The Winter Queen doesn't want Keenan to find his Summer Queen and will do anything to keep him from finding her. When Aislinn is with Seth, she feels that she wants more than friendship with Seth, and she thinks Seth does too. Keenan doesn't give up trying to get Aislinn to talk to him and then go out with him. After Aislinn and Seth decide to try and find out what the fairies want, she decides to go out with Keenan, after which she learns that she is the Summer Queen that he is looking for, but she doesn't want to be.
Melissa Marr has written an excellent book, that draws you in and keeps you reading, unable to put it down.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Not what it could have been...

I like to read fantasy for fun on the side and, after reading the description of this book, I thought it seemed right up my ally. After reading the first chapter I decided I would buy it at my next trip to the bookstore and I even found myself intrigued, thinking about ...
I like to read fantasy for fun on the side and, after reading the description of this book, I thought it seemed right up my ally. After reading the first chapter I decided I would buy it at my next trip to the bookstore and I even found myself intrigued, thinking about how the story would play out for Aislinn in the time before I got to purchase it.
When I finally got the book I started reading right away. I wasn't finding myself getting really into the book or attatched to the characters. I decided to read on, figuring maybe I just wasn't used to this series, and as sometimes happens, I just needed to warm up and get used to the book.
Unfortunately, that never really happened. The story itself has potential, some of the characters are interesting (though they could definitely be developed more)...so I guess I have to chalk it up to Marr's style of writing, or lackthereof? It never pulled me in.
I was definitely curious as to what would happen and I read the book in practically no time, waiting for myself to become submerged in Marr's faery world...but then I finished the book, and it never happened.
The basic story outline isn't bad, and I think that Marr did an okay job of creating a basic world, it just needs major polishing and better writing technique...it's really just that Marr apparantly doesn't yet posess the magic it takes to pull you in, which really is what every story teller needs. That's the feeling people are truly seeking when they pick up a book, to be able to lose themselves in another world.
Wicked Lovely wasn't capable of doing that, at least not for me.

posted by ThatWhichWeCallaRose on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 837 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    ENTHRALLING!!!

    I was absolutely enthralled with this book. An amazing tale of the fae and a human girl that can see them.<BR/>Aislinn can see the fae, has been able to see them her entire life. Her grandmother who has raised her, has tried to teach her the rules that would keep her safe from them. But when two fae start following Ash, the drama gets intense.<BR/>This story is very well written,the struggle between winter and summer protrayed here as a battle of wills between the Summer King(Keenan) and the Winter Queen(Beira).<BR/>Throughout, Ash must face her fear of the fae, make hard choices, decide to entrust someone that she cares about with her secret, stand up for herself and what she feels is best for her life and accept her destiny!<BR/>I loved every bit of it, literally could not put it down. I was not disappoonted. I can't wait to read future works by this author.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazingly written

    Aishlinn is almost 18 and ready to go off on her own. But when Keenan arrives, she feels closed in and scared but yet drawn to him. When her grandmother starts acting weird Aishlinn finds out that she is keeping a secret that will change her life. Will she go to Keenan even when she knows the truth or will she run away? I recommend this book to mostly girls because it's romantic and I give it a 4 out of 5 star rating, only because it is confusing in the begging.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Hate Relationship

    I was really excited about reading this book. I liked the storyline; however, Aislinn just got on my nerves. I hated the fact that she was a whinny scared individual. I mean whenever she came across a problem that seemed too difficult for her to understand, she ran away from it. I hate that!!! I mean, she's supposed to be the heroine in the story but all I saw was a pathetic girl that didn't deserve to be Summer Queen. In addition, I don't understand why she chose Seth over Keenan. I don't see anything special about him. Seth might have been there when Aislinn needed support, but I think it just added to her weakness. So, the story was great but hated the ending.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I'd been waiting to read Wicked Lovely, and it was exactly as I thought it'd be. It's very odd the way the book is set up, however. Since an ending is revealed in the beginning, you assume there's something important that happens after the ending. So the only reason I read the book was to speed things up to the ending and see what happened afterward. I didn't read the story to see what happened, I just read it to get through it. Wicked Lovely was a good book, though. It reminded me of the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer, only a bit darker with more character viewpoints. I recommend this to high-schoolers, and as a warning, there are to 'f-words' in here as well as quite a bit of talk about sex.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting story

    For those people who want a feeling of enchantment, this book is for you! It has faeries and love. I feel sorry for seth now and later on in fragile eternity. He's always in the corner. Keenan is too pushy, don't like him very much. Good book though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Liked over all but....

    Reviewers stated that wicked lovely was riveting, charming, breathtaking, dark, highly addictive and would keep you on the edge of your seat. I enjoyed reading this book and plan to read the rest of the series. With that being said I have to say I disagree with the reviewers comments. The book by no means kept me on the edge of my seat, at some points it kept me on the edge of sleep. I found some plot points to predictable for me to be completely engrossed in the story. If you are looking for a fun comfortable book to read, this is it. I tend to read into the story thus figuring out major plot points beforehand. I just wanted to put my two cents in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth It

    I originally picked up this book for one reason = faeries.
    I was hooked into the subject due to Holly Black's Tithe and I couldn't help but indulge further on the subject. This book is different, though, as originally I found myself disliking the main character, but after a few chapters, I fell in love with the concept no matter how cliche it may have been. It's no newberry honor, but it was just a really good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not Bad!

    I wasn't totally blown away by the story, but I was enthralled throughout the book by the characters. In fact, I found a lot of good similarities between these characters and those in Twilight...overall it was a great read, and I will definitely be seeking out the second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    loved ittt

    thought the characters were really mature for teens but still was a great read..totaly get the second book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wicked Lovely

    Wicked Lovely is an enjoyable read for people interested in the fantasy genre. The story line is creative enough and the characters are, for the most part, likable, but a little flat sometimes. This one is good to share with your friends! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    Fairies

    I bought this book when it firtst came out because of the cover and ended up not being disappointed with it. I could not put it down. I think it is for about age 15 and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Surprised.

    I really believed this book would not be as great as the readers have made it out to be. After all, the book was about fairies, but Melissa has changed my perspective on that subject entirely. She has truly blown me away. Just started reading yesterday, and here I am finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Do You Like Twilight?

    I f You did then You are in for a treat, I mean they are not the vampires we love, but something new ...... FAERIES!!! they same story betwenn the mortal lover and the immortal one and who she must choose...but in this book it is not the immortal one she yearns for. A different twist but it was good. The beginning is a little strange so bear with me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    GREAT FANTASY

    Wicked Lovely, For a beginner in the field writing paranormal fantasy, I cast my favorable vote towards Melissa Marr without hesitation. Once I started this amazing story I became hooked. However a bit slow at first, the momentum picked up midway with a sound foundation giving way to a well written, masterful fantasy of faeries mixed with romance and fun. I recommend this book with five stars, and look forward to reading more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Simply, interesting...

    I don't normally read books about fairys and such, but I decided to try one. Seeing that this is the only one I have read I thought it to be good. I'm not going to say that it was amazing but, it wasn't bad either it was simply good. I do recomend it for people who are into it. It was slow at first but I thought when you got into the main part of the book and put all the pieces together everything started to make sense. Over all, i do plan on reading another one like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Lovely

    THe cover of the book caught my eyes while looking for a new book to read at the library. At first I wasn't sure if I would like it. I finished the book in 2days. I couldn't put it down. I loved this book. I think there should be another one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    struggle agaunst a wicked queen ... good and evil ... it has a wicked twist from reality ... a happy ending ... what more do you want ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Wow, Good book lol

    Okay, So I read this book in four days. It was awesome. I like couldnt put it down :D I recomend it :'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    Good Book

    It was a pretty amazing book. I just finished it. Through all the comflict all the characters were still happy in the end. I really like all the references and small exserps from old mythology books at the beginning of each chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    Couldn't get enough!

    This book was AMAZING! it wasnt just a silly faery tale for once! With a great understanding of the teenage mind, Marr accomplished blending suspense, faery tales, and love into one GREAT novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 837 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42