BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wicked Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SANDFORD'S PREY

Very, very good, but then all the PREY books are.

posted by pabenham on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

e book rip off

This book is available in paperback at a price of $8.99 but the e-book price remains at 14.99-the same as the newest releases. This is a total rip-off for those of us with nook. I feel that the publishers and authors are greedy. It certainly does not cost more to downlo...
This book is available in paperback at a price of $8.99 but the e-book price remains at 14.99-the same as the newest releases. This is a total rip-off for those of us with nook. I feel that the publishers and authors are greedy. It certainly does not cost more to download an e-book as opposed to publishing a paperback.

posted by pat54 on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    e book rip off

    This book is available in paperback at a price of $8.99 but the e-book price remains at 14.99-the same as the newest releases. This is a total rip-off for those of us with nook. I feel that the publishers and authors are greedy. It certainly does not cost more to download an e-book as opposed to publishing a paperback.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I do think they're getting better with age!

    I've been a fan of John Sandford's Prey series for many years, and I wasn't disappointed in this, his 19th installment. For those unfamiliar, the Prey series (Each title being some sort of prey; Chosen Prey, Rules of Prey, etc.) are centered upon Lucas Davenport, formerly of Minneapolis PD and now heading up the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA). He's a tough, smart, and financially independent cop who doesn't mind both getting his hands dirty, and occasionally doing dirty deeds to get his perp off the streets and save some lives.

    Wicked Prey spins up as the 2008 Republican Convention is unfolding and takes off with a steady and building energy. The story is a little bit predictable, but Sandford manages to throw in enough subtle twists and turns to keep even a die-hard fan guessing a little.

    One of the best things about a series this long written by an author this good is that the characters really do grow and evolve. Davenport started out several steps to the left on the evolutionary scale; maybe around the Neanderthal level. He's now more settled, a little calmer, and isn't nailing the hottest chick in the book anymore. Instead, he's a married man with a 14 year old ward and a baby to be worried about. And worry he must; Letty, his daughter, is as smart as him, dynamically independent, and has a teenager's lack of foresight and fear.

    Admittedly, this isn't a breakthrough literary work, but it is an exciting and interesting read. I do have a couple small nits to pick, though I did thoroughly enjoy the book. First is that Sandford has been progressively using more and more run-on sentences, substituting "and" for punctuation. It makes it difficult to read certain passages, and seems like a laziness problem. On page 81 a single sentence went 16 lines and contained 17 "and"s, taking up more than half the page. That is ONE LONG SENTENCE! (And yes, I HAD to count it as I just couldn't believe it)

    The other thing I had issue with is the positioning of the characters politically. I've been in and around law enforcement for 30 years and can tell you that, out side of chiefs and others with political aspirations, the vast majority of cops are very politically conservative, and tend to be mostly Republicans or Libertarians with a conservative leaning. That Davenport and most of his guys are Democrats has been long established in the series, but this time around it kept popping up like a bad penny! I personally don't care about their politics, it's the story I was there for; what I didn't care for was the Republican bashing for the sake of bashing Republicans.

    That aside, Wicked Prey is a good read, though I strongly recommend starting much earlier in the series if you want to fully understand the whole "Prey Universe". Just don't start with the first book, Rules of Prey, or it might turn you off to Davenport before you get to know him well enough.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wicked Prey - Not so wicked

    The title Wicked Prey is not the correct title for this book. The stories (there are 2 going on at the same time) sort of intertwined with eachother but really had no holding value to the reader. The title leads you to believe that the story should be about stalking or evil but really its just dull and boring. The characters were not likeable or even dislikeable. I was very disappointed with it. I could not recommend this book to any friends as we trade books all the time. I kept saying that the title has nothing to do with the book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SANDFORD'S PREY

    Very, very good, but then all the PREY books are.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Prey novel

    If you liked Sandfords earlier Prey novels, you'll like this one. Personally I think Sandford just keeps phoning 'em in. This is his 19th Prey novel and he still is showing contempt for his readers with characters with improbable names like 'Capslock' and with contrived plot lines. Here we have a 14-year old pursuing a stalker on her 10-speed.
    The novel is derivative; 'killer gang' meme was better handled in one of Parker's early Stone novels. Still a better book than much of what passes for detective fiction these days, but I wish Sandford took his craft more seriously.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    What a fun read!

    What a fun read! Lucas in action at a fast-paced frenzy & at his undeniable best sorting out obscure, subtle & complex details. I also loved Letty's parallel storyline. Although not his natural child, she couldn't be more like him ... fearless & smart. I can't wait to see what J.S. has in store for Lucas, his family & even Del w/his new mid-like baby.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sandford Does It Again

    So this is the 19th Prey novel, and I'd be lying if I didn't admit they're beginning to feel a bit stale. It's always a worry to me when, a la the now execrable Scarpetta novels, the plots start becoming too centered around the protagonist and his or her family. Sandford's decision to make 14-year-old Letty, Davenport's precocious ward, a main character and engage her in things that strain credibility for even the pluckiest teen, well, it's setting off alarm bells in my mind. So I wish that Sandford would return to the really promising new Virgil Flowers series which was so successful in its first two outings.

    But, that said, even when Sandford's Davenport starts feeling a little creaky, he still turns out a hell of a fun read. There are few greater pleasures for me than reading Sandford's bantering cops. Or his ever-cynical assessments of human nature, especially humans of the political profession.

    So bottom line, this book was very well worth the time and money. But I see signs in it that the Davenport franchise needs a rest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great mystery read - Lucas Davenport is great1

    These are fun books - and Sandford never misses when he's creating a situation to test his protagonist's strengths. If there's a new Lucas Davenport book, I'm there on the first day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Great read!

    I am a Sandford fan and have read almost all the Prey books. "Wicked" is up to Sandford's caliber. Having more than one story line going at one time keeps the reader on her(his)toes. I can also recommend the Virgil Flowers series by Sandford. My message to Sandford: "Keep 'em coming!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not to Crazy about this one

    Disappointing for Sanford didnt really like the whole political theme of the book it wasnt as suspenseful as his books usually are.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No comment...

    I sure wish B&N would respect my privacy and not request this information.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    Riveting and Exciting Read

    I like John Sandford's books very much so always look forward to the next in the series. I always feels as if I am actually in Minnesota while I am reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    highly recommended

    I would strongly suggest that Sandford's Prey series be read sequentially. They are all carefully thought out and researched. Mr. Sandford is especially good at imagery and occasionally slips in things one might not notice at first - like the character "Del Capslock" (two computer keyboard keys) and the firm "Bosendorfer and Beckstein" (two high end European concert grand pianos).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Love john sanford

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Awesome

    You will not be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read by Sanford

    I absolutely loved this book, as i do all the Prey Novels. Could not put it down! On to the next one......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Wow! I am now enthralled with the author & have already read Storm Prey. I am hooked. Fast paced, believable characters and a page turner. Keeps you wanting more. Another author to add to your list !!!!!!

    Excellent crime book. Loved loved loved it. Will read all his others !!!! Can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    ?

    ?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Another Excellent "Prey" Book from JS

    I have been an avid reader of the "prey" series for years and years. Sandford's "can't put it down" writing style is captivating, and Lucas Davenport and his family are an interesting-yet-complicated bunch. "Wicked Prey" is another excellent installment, and does not disappoint!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Not up to his usual

    The "prey" series had been one of my favorites, always fast paced and fun quick reads, until now. Couldnt connect with most of the characters. Not the fast paced suspense reads of past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11