Customer Reviews for

Wicked Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SANDFORD'S PREY

Very, very good, but then all the PREY books are.

posted by pabenham on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

e book rip off

This book is available in paperback at a price of $8.99 but the e-book price remains at 14.99-the same as the newest releases. This is a total rip-off for those of us with nook. I feel that the publishers and authors are greedy. It certainly does not cost more to downlo...
This book is available in paperback at a price of $8.99 but the e-book price remains at 14.99-the same as the newest releases. This is a total rip-off for those of us with nook. I feel that the publishers and authors are greedy. It certainly does not cost more to download an e-book as opposed to publishing a paperback.

posted by pat54 on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SANDFORD'S PREY

    Very, very good, but then all the PREY books are.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sandford Does It Again

    So this is the 19th Prey novel, and I'd be lying if I didn't admit they're beginning to feel a bit stale. It's always a worry to me when, a la the now execrable Scarpetta novels, the plots start becoming too centered around the protagonist and his or her family. Sandford's decision to make 14-year-old Letty, Davenport's precocious ward, a main character and engage her in things that strain credibility for even the pluckiest teen, well, it's setting off alarm bells in my mind. So I wish that Sandford would return to the really promising new Virgil Flowers series which was so successful in its first two outings.

    But, that said, even when Sandford's Davenport starts feeling a little creaky, he still turns out a hell of a fun read. There are few greater pleasures for me than reading Sandford's bantering cops. Or his ever-cynical assessments of human nature, especially humans of the political profession.

    So bottom line, this book was very well worth the time and money. But I see signs in it that the Davenport franchise needs a rest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great mystery read - Lucas Davenport is great1

    These are fun books - and Sandford never misses when he's creating a situation to test his protagonist's strengths. If there's a new Lucas Davenport book, I'm there on the first day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    Riveting and Exciting Read

    I like John Sandford's books very much so always look forward to the next in the series. I always feels as if I am actually in Minnesota while I am reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Love john sanford

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 1, 2011

    ?

    ?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging

    I really like the Lucas Davenport stories. This one has a more in-depth portrayal of his ward/daughter Letty and develops her well as a character! Hopefully we will be seeing more of her in future Dandford books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Preys on your fondess for the Davenport series.

    This book will keep the Davenport fans coming back for more. One of the top 3 in the series. Sandford has put horsepower into the dialogue that makes for a fast and sporty read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    a good read, enjoyable and understandable

    I think it took me all of two and a half days/nights. I will continue to buy the author's books as long as they are well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Another page turner

    Sandford did a good job integrating current events (the Republican Convention) into this book. As a former St. Paul area resident, I felt like I was right back there, in some of the old neighborhoods that he mentioned. This book did a good job developing Letty's character. She'd been living with Lucas and Weather for a while, but this book lets the reader get a chance to really get to know her better. He also did a good job tying the two different adversaries together in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Wicked Prey

    Being a John Sanford fan since "Rules of Prey" I am still amazed at how fresh Davenport and his supporting cast have remained throughout the years. Only a few authors - Michael Connelly comes to mind - can pull this off on a regular basis.
    If anyone is new to the "Prey" series I strongly suggest starting at the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    Better than the last Prey book

    I have read most of the Prey books and feel that the earlier books were better than the last books. To me his best recent book was Heat Lightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4